trade dal.....? this journo's a joke...

what a f*** wit....

"
Trading for AFL players and picks

Rod Nicholson | July 20, 2008 12:00am

TRADING for players and picks can be nothing more than a gamble, writes Rod Nicholson.

It has rich rewards if you get it right, but dire consequences if you get it wrong reports.

This is the year of a potential trading frenzy: a time for AFL clubs to get the key players they see as their future and to dispose of those not part of the plan.

It is an especially important year given that next year’s draft will be compromised by the generous concessions granted to the Gold Coast club.

AFL clubs are concentrating heavily on player movement, looking to shore up playing lists with trade deals.

One man’s trash is another man’s treasure. Or to interpret, one club’s off-cast is another club’s windfall.

The Sunday Herald Sun has put together a few guidelines to "selling" and "buying" and also listed the likely trade bait at season’s end.

The entire process is far more complex and risky than at first glance.

As with any trade, you must offer up reasonable quality if you hope to get anything in return. Conversely, if you want a player, you must be prepared to pay for him.

Therein lies most of the problems: clubs want a player for as little as possible, and don’t particularly like other clubs sniffing around players or draft picks they want to retain.

In past years, such demands have scuppered a trade. But this year, clubs will be more prepared to gamble because they may see limited draft opportunities next season.

A golden rule for clubs is to trade for footballers who can address their team’s deficiencies, to seek players to fill holes.

But sometimes it can bring a club undone. For instance, the Kangaroos were slaughtered by Port Adelaide’s Warren Tredrea in the 2005 elimination final.

Understandably, the Roos reacted by going out and trading for a key defender, in this case Hawthorn’s Jonathan Hay. The trade turned out to be a dismal failure.

Sometimes clubs can go for experienced players, in their late 20s, if they believe they can get them over the line to a premiership.

Fremantle, thinking it could push into flag contention with a couple of more experienced players than it had in 2006 – when the Dockers finished fourth – went out and traded for Magpie forward Chris Tarrant and Bombers defender Dean Solomon.

They added Bombers veteran Mark Johnson at the end of 2007.

The team has collapsed this season, and there are now two less young colts to throw into the rebuilding mix for next season.

Adelaide also went out of its way to secure Wayne Carey for the 2003 season, thinking he could make the difference between preliminary finalist and premier.

The club had finished top of the ladder in 2002, but failed to make the top four with Carey in its ranks, and a handful of games later he retired.

His 28 games had cost the Crows the No.2 draft pick, which North Melbourne used to snare Daniel Wells.

There is a thin line between who is a valuable and competitive trade commodity, and who is not.

And timing is vital.

A footballer might be a best-and-fairest winner one season, then within a couple of years be struggling to make the best 22 and have virtually no trade currency.

Consider some recent club champions who fall into that category: Carlton’s David Teague (2004), Essendon’s Jason Johnson (2005) and Melbourne’s Jeff White (2004).

Clubs can end with a player in decline, but still being paid handsomely. With virtually no prospect of solving the problem at the trade table.

Another issue that comes into play is salary-cap pressure, which can lead to some calculated, almost cruel decisions.

Essendon won the 2000 premiership, but because of salary-cap problems had to let go Blake Caracella to the Brisbane Lions (where he played in another premiership), Chris Heffernan to Melbourne and Justin Blumfield to Richmond.

Caracella had played 126 games, Blumfield 129 and Heffernan 97.

Their departure deprived Essendon of tremendous experience in its middle ranks.

So much so that then coach Kevin Sheedy declared "it cost us a chance of another premiership during our window of opportunity".

The fact the Players Association has insisted that all clubs must have full lists has blocked one option. In previous seasons clubs could go with one or two players fewer on their lists, but no longer.

"Not only did we lose three quality players, we strengthened the opposition," Sheedy said, "and because we had to let them go, because all the clubs knew of the salary-cap problem we faced, we didn’t get offered their market value."

There are two distinctive trade methods: one with obvious benefits and the other using blind faith.

Essendon traded Paul Salmon and knew what it would get in return – players they had seen in action – Sean Wellman from Adelaide and Paul Bernard from Hawthorn.

Yet they traded Damien Hardwick to Port Adelaide, and were given two draft choices – not knowing if they would get players they really wanted.

ADELAIDE

Untouchable

Nathan Bock: Young centre half-back.Andrew McLeod: Club great and still a key ball-getter.

Trading cards

Kurt Tippett: Brisbane Lions might target the ex-Queensland basketballer now ruckman/forward). Brent Reilly: A goal-sneak, who will be sought by Victorian clubs.

Forget it

Graham Johncock, Simon Goodwin, Brett Burton.

Brisbane Lions

Untouchable

Luke Power: Future of the engine room.

Trading cards

Jonathan Brown: Comes out of contract and, with his 27th birthday approaching, his crash and bash style may begin to take its toll on his body.

Jed Adcock: From Maryborough, the 22-year-old midfielder is always on the Victorian teams’ radar.
Michael Rischitelli: Another young Victorian midfielder coming out of contract.

Forget it

Nigel Lappin, Simon Black.

Carlton

Untouchable

Chris Judd, Bryce Gibbs, Matthew Kruezer and Marc Murphy: All have about a decade ahead of them, and are the core of the club’s future.

Trading cards

Brendan Fevola: Expensive for Carlton, but a match-winner who will attract many clubs if new contract not signed.

Forget it

Nick Stevens.

Collingwood

Untouchable

Travis Cloke: A rarity – a gun centre half-forward with 10 years of football ahead.

Trading cards

Josh Fraser: At 26 the former No.1 draft pick still has currency, but the ruckman is reaching the point of no return.

Forget it

Anthony Rocca, Scott Burns.

Essendon

Untouchable

Matthew Lloyd and Dustin Fletcher: Club greats, and offer salary-cap relief by being on the veterans’ list.

Trading cards

Andrew Lovett: A quality speedster, the 25-year-old but could be up for grabs because of off-field dramas.

Forget it

Scott Lucas, Damien Peverill, Jason Johnson, Mal Michael.

Fremantle

Untouchable

Matthew Pavlich: Dockers’ one legitimate match-winner. Rhys Palmer: Not going to trade away another gifted youngster.

Trading cards

David Mundy: Word is the 23-year-old Victorian defender has attracted interested in his home state, notably from Hawthorn.

Robert Warnock: The 206cm ruckman. Only 21 and of interest to Melbourne.

Forget it

Jeff Farmer, Mark Johnson, Dean Solomon.

Geelong

Untouchable

Gary Ablett, Matthew Scarlett and Jimmy Bartel: Club greats and considered among the AFL’s elite. Joel Selwood: Arguably the best young player in the land.

Trading cards

Brent Prismall: Talented mid-fielder who can’t break into the Cats’ best 22, but is of considerable interest to other clubs.

Forget it

Tom Harley, Darren Milburn, Nathan Ablett.

Hawthorn

Untouchable

Lance Franklin and Jarryd Roughead: Gun young key forwards.

Luke Hodge: Midfielder and leader at 24.

Trading cards

Tim Boyle: The 24-year-old struggles to carve out a spot as a tall forward.

Mark Williams: Also slightly surplus to needs, but would be of interest to other clubs. Beau Dowler and Mitch Thorp: Neither first round draft pick has made an impact.

Forget it

Shane Crawford, Sam Mitchell, Trent Croad.

Melbourne

Untouchable

James McDonald: Spirit of the club.

Aaron Davey: Legitimately exciting younger player and one of the few marketable faces at a club looking to market itself.

Trading cards

Brad Miller: The 25-year-old’s height makes him a target for other clubs. Colin Sylvia: Because of his social issues.

Forget it

Cameron Bruce, Jeff White, Russell Robertson, Adem Yze.

North Melbourne

Untouchable

Hamish McIntosh, Brent Harvey.

Trading cards

Daniel Wells: At only 23, the dazzling midfielder is coming out of contract and will attract attention from the west.

Lachlan Hansen: The Roos’ No.3 draft pick in 2006 is believed to be very appealing as a tonic for the Carlton defence. Jesse Smith: A quality youngster, high on Hawthorn wish list.

Forget it

Shannon Grant, Adam Simpson.

Port Adelaide

Untouchable

Chad and Kane Cornes.

Trading cards

Troy Chaplin: The 22-year-old Victorian centre-half-back is a quality trade proposition.

Danyle Pearce: 2006 Rising Star with undoubted class, but looks as though he needs a fresh start, which would appeal to several clubs.

Forget it

Warren Tredrea.

Richmond

Untouchable

Matthew Richardson, Nathan Brown: Both quality forwards and immensely popular

Trading cards

Andrew Raines: Jordan McMahon seems to have taken his place in team, but Raines would still appeal elsewhere.

Richard Tambling: Improving, but still presents as an untapped, but expendable talent.

Forget it

Mark Coughlan, Kane Johnson.

|St Kilda

Untouchable

Nick Riewoldt: Key forward and competition’s youngest captain.

Justin Koschitzke and Brendon Goddard: Yet to hit their peak, but seem poised to.

Trading cards

Nick Dal Santo: Seems to be treading water and would be on good money.

Stephen Milne: Spasmodic performer who is coming out of contract.

Xavier and Raphael Clarke: Have failed to seize the numerous chances offered them.

Forget it

Fraser Gehrig, Robert Harvey.

Sydney

Untouchable

Adam Goodes: Adds a touch of class to a hard-working outfit. Brett Kirk: The soul and guts of the club.

Trading cards

Barry Hall: Should any club want to take him on.

Forget it

Leo Barry, Nick Davis, Peter Everitt, Michael O’Loughlin.

West Coast

Untouchable

Dean Cox: About the only standout, must-keep player. Brad Ebert: Regarded internally as the best of the young crop.

Trading cards

Daniel Kerr: Will be a high priority trade target. Richmond is the talk of the town. Ashley Hansen: Premiership centre half-forward who could return to Victoria.

Forget it

David Wirrpanda, Adam Hunter.

Western Bulldogs

Untouchable

Adam Cooney, Robert Murphy, Ryan Griffen.

Trading cards

Lindsay Gilbee: All-Australian a couple of season’s ago and highly rated for his kicking. Peter Street: Not too many 211cm ruckman floating around.

Nathan Eagleton: Has the pace and skill to top off certain clubs’ midfields, but it would be a case of trade now or never at 29.

Forget it

Scott West, Brad Johnson, Jason Akermanis.

WHEN LOOKING FOR A PLAYER

1 Absolutely need that type in your line-up

2 Aged about 24 and coming to career peak

3 Longevity – must look to get 100-plus games from your new charge

4 Preferably look for a key position or tall player because they are hardest to snare

5 Ensure recruit doesn’t pressure your salary cap to the detriment of others

WHEN DISPOSING OF A PLAYER

1 Trade players who still have currency
but who are heading over the hill

2 Look at any player 27 or older whose best is behind him

3 Put up a player who is one of any number of similar types in your team (consider position, age, weight, height, number of games, potential)

4 Put a player on the market if he threatens your salary cap, or may threaten it, but who can be replaced by a similar player at less cost

5 Consider a player who has off-field issues that disrupt the club
Last edited by stinger on Sun 20 Jul 2008 6:02pm, edited 2 times in total.

I agree. Fancy having an opinion about a player that we dropped 3 weeks ago and the article was obviously written before last night. Yep lets call him a f***wit.

plugger66 wrote:I agree. Fancy having an opinion about a player that we dropped 3 weeks ago and the article was obviously written before last night. Yep lets call him a f***wit.
of course he's a f*** wit...........why would you trade dal or milne ffs......if you can't see that then you are about as clueless as i have always suspected......

these are the f*** wit's own criteria for keeping/disposing of a player......where do milne and dal fit in ffs..... :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: ...the clown is condemned by his own pen.... :evil: :evil: :evil:

"WHEN LOOKING FOR A PLAYER

1 Absolutely need that type in your line-up

2 Aged about 24 and coming to career peak

3 Longevity – must look to get 100-plus games from your new charge

4 Preferably look for a key position or tall player because they are hardest to snare

5 Ensure recruit doesn’t pressure your salary cap to the detriment of others

WHEN DISPOSING OF A PLAYER

1 Trade players who still have currency
but who are heading over the hill

2 Look at any player 27 or older whose best is behind him

3 Put up a player who is one of any number of similar types in your team (consider position, age, weight, height, number of games, potential)

4 Put a player on the market if he threatens your salary cap, or may threaten it, but who can be replaced by a similar player at less cost

5 Consider a player who has off-field issues that disrupt the club
Last edited by stinger on Sun 20 Jul 2008 6:07pm, edited 2 times in total.

If it's such crap stinger, why post it? Why not just brush it off as a waste of time, which it is? Rod Nicholson is just an average racing scribe with a 1970s moustache.

There's no need to highlight his writing :idea:

evertonfc wrote:If it's such crap stinger, why post it? Why not just brush it off as a waste of time, which it is? Rod Nicholson is just an average racing scribe with a 1970s moustache. There's no need to highlight his writing :)

didn't think you would get so personal..... :wink: :wink: :wink: :wink:

...though i would give the punters something to read on a wet cold dark saturday afternoon ffs.....but go ahead stick up for your dumb mate..... :wink: :wink: :wink: :lol: :lol: :lol:
Last edited by stinger on Sun 20 Jul 2008 6:00pm, edited 1 time in total.

He's just "tossing"up names to enhance his article.......

Interesting read but it's really all hypothetical......

apparantly Hawthorn is getting about 15 players

stinger wrote:didn't think you would get so personal.....
Never met the bloke, but to my untrained eye, he and most other Sunday Herald Sun writers are just b-graders who aren't fit to tie the bootlaces of Sheahan, Robinson and Stevens - blokes who actually understand the game.

Ralph is doing his best to make the jump over; he needs a bit of work but I think he might get there in time.
...though i would give the punters something to read on a wet cold dark saturday afternoon ffs.....but go ahead stick up for your dumb mate....
Well, it's a Sunday to start with, and to think that your weekends need to be filled with journo-bagging suggests to me you need to take up golf. Greg is showing it's never too late ;)

plugger66 wrote:I agree. Fancy having an opinion about a player that we dropped 3 weeks ago and the article was obviously written before last night. Yep lets call him a f***wit.
of course he's a f*** wit...........why would you trade dal or milne ffs......if you can't see that then you are about as clueless as i have always suspected......

these are the f*** wit's own criteria for keeping/disposing of a player......where do milne and dal fit in ffs..... :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: ...the clown is condemned by his own pen.... :evil: :evil: :evil:
My point is who cares. If you have ever read my posts and with the crap I write I dont blame you if you havent I have always stuck up for Milney and Dal. Just pointing out he can write what he like.

evertonfc wrote:
stinger wrote:didn't think you would get so personal.....
Never met the bloke, but to my untrained eye, he and most other Sunday Herald Sun writers are just b-graders who aren't fit to tie the bootlaces of Sheahan, Robinson and Stevens - blokes who actually understand the game.

Ralph is doing his best to make the jump over; he needs a bit of work but I think he might get there in time.
...though i would give the punters something to read on a wet cold dark saturday afternoon ffs.....but go ahead stick up for your dumb mate....
Well, it's a Sunday to start with, and to think that your weekends need to be filled with journo-bagging suggests to me you need to take up golf. Greg is showing it's never too late ;)

oops ...got my days wrong.......anyway i hate golf....absolutely detest it....and the same goes for norman.....

plugger66 wrote:Just pointing out he can write what he like.
It's interesting, isn't it.

Opinion articles are exactly that - opinions.

I'm no Nicholson fan, but I respect his right to an opinion. On this occaision, I choose to reject his view, but he might be right. I might be wrong.

I appreciate he's at least throwing some ideas into the mix. I know I've had a crack at him in the above post, but even then, I don't think he's a bad human being for having an opinion.

If I don't agree with them, I'll just do what I did on the 10th at the Commonwealth the other day. Laugh, turn my back, and hit a seven-iron to three feet. And just as none of those guys will remember my shot, I won't remember their opinion ;)

and just who were you playing golf with on the commonwealth...name dropper.... :wink: :wink: :wink: :lol:

Trade Gilbert for Scarlett.

well if you are going to write articles for newspapers and include your own opinions...at least be intelligent about it......which of the five criteria as stated above does dal fit into..... :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll:

stinger wrote:well if you are going to write articles for newspapers and include your own opinions...at least be intelligent about it......which of the five criteria as stated above does dal fit into..... :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll:
3 and 4 for dal.

stinger wrote:well if you are going to write articles for newspapers and include your own opinions...at least be intelligent about it......which of the five criteria as stated above does dal fit into..... :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll:
3 and 4 for dal.

yeah....joke joyce....we have heaps of players like dal.....and he can easily be replaced..... :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll:

3 and 4 for dal.

yeah....joke joyce....we have heaps of players like dal.....and he can easily be replaced..... :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll:
We plenty of midfielders. Remember this guy was dropped 3 weeks ago.

bobmurray wrote:He's just "tossing"up names to enhance his article.......

Interesting read but it's really all hypothetical......
exactly! it is all thrown up just to provoke thought..

milne & dal, wont be leaving

ralphysaints35 wrote:milne & dal, wont be leaving
As B4E would say fair dinkum.

Since when was an individual player bigger than the club?

Wasn't Lockett untouchable?

WayneJudson42 wrote:Since when was an individual player bigger than the club?

Wasn't Lockett untouchable?

no.......we sold him for sfa and a used box of condoms.......

Make no mistake.

Four weeks ago, Dal was tradebait.

Absolutely.

Dal santo is good enough to win a brownlow

whether he does so or not is another matter.

people are cooing about Cooney, when Dal Santo was a shade younger than cooney, he came 3rd or 4th in the brownlow.

since then, he's has been consistent, Saturday night was a step up from his normal consistent form.

10 games like that a year and he'll be a contender, 15 and he's a shoe in.

Kosi aint untouchable.

He should be traded.