Was anyone at Harvey's first game

Against the Dogs at the Western Oval. Before my time, just like to know if anyone remembers it.
And when did people start to realise we had a very good player on our hands? 88, 89, 90, 91?

Re: Was anyone at Harvey's first game

dcstkfc wrote:Against the Dogs at the Western Oval. Before my time, just like to know if anyone remembers it.
And when did people start to realise we had a very good player on our hands? 88, 89, 90, 91?
Yes but not well.

Beaten fairly easily.....but I do remember saying to my mate who is the kid who kicked 2 goals appears to move alright....think thats right.

Cant remember his first game. Remember him being carried off with an ankle injury at VFL park in 1988.

Knew he was class in 1988. Know he is class in 2008.

And every single year in between.

There comes a point in every man's life when he has to say, "Enough is enough." For me, that time is now. I have been dealing with claims that I cheated and had an unfair advantage in <redacted>. Over the past three years, I have been subjected to a <redacted>investigation followed by <redacted> witch hunt. The toll this has taken on my family, and my work for <redacted>and on me leads me to where I am today – finished with this nonsense. (Oops just got a spontaneous errection <unredacted>)
Little Dozer
Location: Forward Pocket, Outer side, Linton Street end or bay 38 Waverley

You can see him in this clip from 1989...

first time i remember seeing him was late in 1988 at vfl park, waverley. obviously wasn't his first game. might have been his second.

he was picked alongside plugger in a forward pocket. brett bowie was chosen in the other pocket.

it was clear pretty much from the outset that he was something special. you could tell it just from the way he moved.

even then no-one could grab him. just had that uncanny gift of being able to wrong-foot an opponent.
Last edited by bigcarl on Thu 07 Aug 2008 12:50am, edited 3 times in total.

joffaboy wrote:Cant remember his first game. Remember him being carried off with an ankle injury at VFL park in 1988.

Knew he was class in 1988. Know he is class in 2008.

And every single year in between.
was that 1990 at Moorabbin??

bit vague

bit about the class not vague .... whole career

Johnny Favier

Yep, I was there.

We did get done like a dinner that day, but at the game I remember turning to my old man and saying "Gee this Brett Bowey's gonna be a good player Dad?"

Of course the rest is history and naturally my old man's never let me forget it! :oops:

(I think it was Bowey's first game too if my memory serves me correctly..)

You could tell even early on that Harves was gonna be something special...he just had that baulk and sidestep that you just can't coach into a player - he was a natural right from the word go. Bloody quick he was too....

Little Dozer

Some of the blokes we used to stand with at Moorabbin nicknamed him racehorse early on and then brownlow when it became obvious he was a star.

Yes...but do not really have clear recollection of it.

Johnny Favier wrote:Yep, I was there. We did get done like a dinner that day, but at the game I remember turning to my old man and saying "Gee this Brett Bowey's gonna be a good player Dad?"

i remember telling my dad that this kid was neil harvey's nephew and he looked like a natural.

"he runs funny," i remember him saying. i think he meant you couldn't grab him.

chook23 wrote:was that 1990 at Moorabbin??
i thought it was at moorabbin, too, unless there was more than one ankle injury.

the one i remember was relatively serious and he missed quite a few matches.

Simon Templar

I remember a pre-season game....escort cup or similar at VFL parl and I'm pretty sure it was anight game. He didn't start on the ground and as he and the 0ther reserve player ran the boundary line, warming up, I remember looking at him....there was nothing of him, tall and skinny he appeared, his clothes sort of hung off him. Gangly, still growing. I took a bit of interest because I thought he was such a fresh faced kid as well, I thought he might have been going to be pummeled out there.

Of course, they couldn't catch him, could they....as I learnt as time went by.

We've been very lucky.

Go you good things....!!!

Who was responsible for Harvey's recruitment?

Fortius Quo Fidelius Yo

Little Dozer wrote:You can see him in this clip from 1989...

What a fantastic moment! I was there and had never felt a crowd at Moorabbin erupt more than after that goal.

Quixote wrote:Who was responsible for Harvey's recruitment?
Wasn't he part of our first development squad set-up
(Maybe U/15)

Wayne Hughes have anything to do with development squad??

number7

I was 1 when he started. I'm 21 now and can't imagine St kilda without him. Is the heart and soul of my club.

Little Dozer

Sainternist wrote:
Little Dozer wrote:You can see him in this clip from 1989...

What a fantastic moment! I was there and had never felt a crowd at Moorabbin erupt more than after that goal.
Great day wasn't it. I was there with my Blue supporter uncle and cousins. Never forget it.

Out marked (from behind) one of our current assistant coaches none the less??!!

Fortius Quo Fidelius Yo
Jezza25

G'day,

Carlton supporter who saw Rob in 1989 at PP. He'd been playing seniors for 1 year and was not that well-known by opposition supporters.

In a fantastic game (20 goals each) Harvey was a revelation to this Blue. Had about 35 possies, never stopped running and seemed un-tackleable.

Walked away thinking "this guy will be a champion".

And, without doubt, he was (and is).

Congratulations on being a fabulous player (and seemingly a great bloke).

Not a troll
tweedaletomanning

Johnny Favier wrote:Yep, I was there.

We did get done like a dinner that day, but at the game I remember turning to my old man and saying "Gee this Brett Bowey's gonna be a good player Dad?"

Of course the rest is history and naturally my old man's never let me forget it! :oops:

(I think it was Bowey's first game too if my memory serves me correctly..)

You could tell even early on that Harves was gonna be something special...he just had that baulk and sidestep that you just can't coach into a player - he was a natural right from the word go. Bloody quick he was too....
yeah spot on....I also remember thinking that out of the two, brett bowey showed more promise...lucky i'm not a recruiter :oops:

I can pretty safely say that I was there.

Back in the eighties I did not miss a game in Melbourne. I cant particularly remember it though. Nothing specific.

All the freakin rotten performances from the mid eighties have pretty much blended into one long season of misery.

ThePunter

I attended his third and fourth game, both at Waverley, against Hawthorn and Essendon. But can't remember a thing about the games. I was eight.

so far no-one actually remembers it. inauspicious debut by the sounds of it.

Selhurst Saint

I was there and as usual we got towelled up.

I remember the day because we had two debutants, however I must say that Brett Bowey looked more likely on that first day.

Its hard to believe it has been 20 years of marvelling at the great man.

"...If there has been one recurring theme through this whole shocking mess, it has been the misguided, inflated egos and their ill-judged determination to cling to long-standing old boy friendships. The bad advice that has guided the selfish and culpable James Hird has not only punctuated this saga but symbolised it..."
Persuader

I remember his first game but it was a horrible game - I don't remember Harves doing anything noteworthy but by the end of the season we were calling him 'Brownlow'.

Founding member of the Jason Blake Appreciation Society