This was the Sweetest Victory!

Carlton is only one of 16 teams, but they have been the most successful VFL/AFL team over the distance. So, a win of this stature, our 12th this year and our 12th in a row against them, is especially sweet.

The never say die attitude of this current group is as good as I have ever seen from any team. There were plenty of mistakes and our backline was just too big, but yet again they found a way to win. A fantastic victory.

Re: This was the Sweetest Victory!

perfectionist wrote:Carlton is only one of 16 teams, but they have been the most successful VFL/AFL team over the distance. So, a win of this stature, our 12th this year and our 12th in a row against them, is especially sweet.

The never say die attitude of this current group is as good as I have ever seen from any team. There were plenty of mistakes and our backline was just too big, but yet again they found a way to win. A fantastic victory.
For a home and away game this is about as good as it gets.

The former rich purchasers of Aussies best talent got the leveler of the salary cap and couldnt handle it. So they cheated and copped a long lull in their history that they hate.

Any time this lot lose to the Saints I am ecstatic. I am not a fan of the Bumbers but I hope they cream The cheaters too and have them fighting for 9th position again this year.

YOU F#CKN BEAUTY!!!!!!!

That was one of the hardest games for the heart that I've had to sit through for a long long time.

Big release of pressure to win that!!!

Schillaci

Great win for all of the above reasons.
Hate the scum. Love the Saints.

goodie

Suspect my voice will be completely gone tomorrow. I may have gone slightly nuts when Houlihan choked, and completely berserk when Zac kicked the sealer

spent a whole game behind a guy who bitched his way through the game about the umpires...

then spent a whole train trip home hearing about the umps....

They are bad losers......

mick13

It was beautful. :D

My legs were shaking towards the end, and Im not sure it was cos of the cold!

Despite most of the lucky breaks going their way they were calling it a "moral victory".

mick13

Enrico_Misso wrote:Despite most of the lucky breaks going their way they were calling it a "moral victory".
Let them have their moral victories.

We'll take the 4 points. :)

mick13 wrote:
Enrico_Misso wrote:Despite most of the lucky breaks going their way they were calling it a "moral victory".
Let them have their moral victories.

We'll take the 4 points. :)
You bet your a$%e we will take the 4 points. They can talk it up anyway they want, WE WON. We have the 4 points, we have 12 wins in a row and they STILL have not beaten us since 2001.........

4 points tonight, 12 wins and 16 day break. GO SAINTS!!!!!!!!

Raven

I've already got no voice left.

Such a sweet, sweet victory after hearing such arrogance on talk-back radio all week from supporters. So many people giving me hell at work all week, I'm looking forward to work on Monday now.

I think we as supporters are glad of a week off as much as the players, just to get our breath back, especially after stressful games like that.

yaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaawn. :roll: :D

murph_u_ripper wrote:
kalsaint wrote:
perfectionist wrote:Carlton is only one of 16 teams, but they have been the most successful VFL/AFL team over the distance. So, a win of this stature, our 12th this year and our 12th in a row against them, is especially sweet.

The former rich purchasers of Aussies best talent got the leveler of the salary cap and couldnt handle it. So they cheated and copped a long lull in their history that they hate.

Any time this lot lose to the Saints I am ecstatic. I am not a fan of the Bumbers but I hope they cream The cheaters too and have them fighting for 9th position again this year.

All i can say to this poster is....the sainters with their 'tragic' history of one flag by one point should not comment about the most successful club in the land till they have rectified the problems in their own back yard.

We , the mighty carlton footy club never 'cheated' as you put it. We simply refused to play by the rules of mediocrity- that is stoop to the level of clubs such as yours and be 'middle of the road' by stupid salary cap enforcements.

Will you win the premiership this year? History would say no way. I actually think you are a bit slow in the midfield and rely alot on Roo, whom of which will be safely held by either Scarlett of Lake, depending on who makes the Preliminary final to play against you.

Watch out for the blues, saints supporters... because U KNOW WE'RE COMMING, and had Houlihan kicked straight tonight, or Fev not missed those goals, you'd have been defeated.
I really wonder about people who come onto anothers clubs board. They must have the worst life in the world. I suggest you grab $150 and go get a root.

murph_u_ripper wrote:
kalsaint wrote:

All i can say to this poster is....the sainters with their 'tragic' history of one flag by one point should not comment about the most successful club in the land till they have rectified the problems in their own back yard.

We , the mighty carlton footy club never 'cheated' as you put it. We simply refused to play by the rules of mediocrity- that is stoop to the level of clubs such as yours and be 'middle of the road' by stupid salary cap enforcements.

Will you win the premiership this year? History would say no way. I actually think you are a bit slow in the midfield and rely alot on Roo, whom of which will be safely held by either Scarlett of Lake, depending on who makes the Preliminary final to play against you.

Watch out for the blues, saints supporters... because U KNOW WE'RE COMMING, and had Houlihan kicked straight tonight, or Fev not missed those goals, you'd have been defeated.
I think Carlton have come in their pants

saintly_safes

I watched the game with a fanatical Carlton supporter & even he admitted the better team won but was very pleased that they pushed us all the way

Owen

My best & oldest mate & myself have been watching Blues vs. Saints since the year dot ... and never seen a contest with both teams Top 4 ... we came away saying it was the best contest overall we've seen factoring in the position of the sides and the closeness of it ...

Top night .. great win ... will prob see em in the finals

what the blues supporter is saying is their forwards are chokers under pressure in front of goals and fevola and houlahan are gutless weaklivered players under pressure.

it good he can acknowledge this weakness from carlton and until they get some forwards who DONT melt under pressure they'll keep giving away 4 points like that.

ebay more players from other clubs thanks.

It goes like this;

The umpires were against them.... because they got so close it proves how good they are and that they are going places... because they got so close it proves how shyte we are, and that we are going nowhere... and besides, if this and that and this had happened they would've won.

What makes it sooo sweet is that they thought they were going to win, they were giving us the bird and giving each other high fives!

Even though they never managed to actually get in front after we kicked our first goal.

Eat it scum. :D

SaintAndrew

murph_u_ripper wrote:
... and if Carlton robbed a trophy shop they would be the most successful team in the universe.

You are a FREAKING genius! Someone should make you the President of the CFC.

i was introduced to a carlton supporter at the bar afterwards who reckons they will improve and beat us in the finals at the mcg.

i told him they will need to because i don't think they can play better than they did last night.

all the same i think we need to be better in some areas to win the premiership.

Carlton are cheats.

Their captain is a mercenary (of and didn't the Carlton fans enjoy hearing that from me all night :lol: :lol: ). One even asked me how many "rejects" we had in the Saints team. Went very quiet when I announced to all the Saints fans around me a Carlton supporter had just confirmed that Judd was a reject :D . What a tosser :D

Also get vey upset every time I thanked him for Goddard. :D

Their cancerous dead President should have spent his last days in jail.

Their current president is a dribbling moron.

Their fans are arrogant idiots.

Last night WAS the SWEETEST Victory in a long long time.

The faces of the Carlton morons behind me at fulltime was GOLD.

Especially when I smiled and said 12 in a row. :D

Oh what a beautiful morning....
Oh what a beautiful day....
I've got a wonderful feeling....
Everythings going my way.....

Eat s*** Cheating Carlton scumbags

There comes a point in every man's life when he has to say, "Enough is enough." For me, that time is now. I have been dealing with claims that I cheated and had an unfair advantage in <redacted>. Over the past three years, I have been subjected to a <redacted>investigation followed by <redacted> witch hunt. The toll this has taken on my family, and my work for <redacted>and on me leads me to where I am today – finished with this nonsense. (Oops just got a spontaneous errection <unredacted>)
The Craw

murph_u_ripper wrote:
I think you could do better with your time than wasting it on here.......Now, haven't you got a debt to pay off...you've got some bluebegging to do!

Not Craw, CRAW!

joffaboy wrote:Carlton are cheats.

Their captain is a mercenary (of and didn't the Carlton fans enjoy hearing that from me all night :lol: :lol: ). One even asked me how many "rejects" we had in the Saints team. Went very quiet when I announced to all the Saints fans around me a Carlton supporter had just confirmed that Judd was a reject :D . What a tosser :D

Also get vey upset every time I thanked him for Goddard. :D

Their cancerous dead President should have spent his last days in jail.

Their current president is a dribbling moron.

Their fans are arrogant idiots.

Last night WAS the SWEETEST Victory in a long long time.

The faces of the Carlton morons behind me at fulltime was GOLD.

Especially when I smiled and said 12 in a row. :D

Oh what a beautiful morning....
Oh what a beautiful day....
I've got a wonderful feeling....
Everythings going my way.....

Eat s*** Cheating Carlton scumbags
BAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAALLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 8-) :wink:

This is just so good, probably the one game I want to win more thna any other, even aainst eddiewood, but I am not sure if i prefer 9 points or 109 points.

I think it may be even better to beat them with a disputed goal and then listem them bleet about it

aussierules0k

Last edited by aussierules0k on Tue 23 Jun 2009 1:13am, edited 1 time in total.

5 prelims in 7 years. 40 wins from 49 games.
2009 and 2010 were 2 of the 5 best years ever by the St.Kilda FC.
Thanks for all your efforts Saints.