McEvoy

McEvoy

Thought the kid was sensational tonight. Took some grab,out thought Hudson a few times to earn free kicks, and used the ball well. Most importantly though, I saw him throwing his body around like big men should. Will be very interesting when Gardiner comes back - for mine I would play him before King - not that King is terrible, just that Macca seems to begetting better every week.

At this rate of improvement we could have a Dean Cox on our hands come late September 8-)

Re: McEvoy

Moods wrote:Thought the kid was sensational tonight. Took some grab,out thought Hudson a few times to earn free kicks, and used the ball well. Most importantly though, I saw him throwing his body around like big men should. Will be very interesting when Gardiner comes back - for mine I would play him before King - not that King is terrible, just that Macca seems to begetting better every week.

At this rate of improvement we could have a Dean Cox on our hands come late September 8-)

Agree with all you have said, accept that I dont think he is ready replace king just yet, especially in finals. But it is good to know we have a future, hopfully long term ruckman.

Think Ben has come a long way, however, believe the bigger, stronger body and experience of King will probably win King the spot come finals time.
As I said once before, none of the other top 4 sides have two good ruckman going into the Finals.
Geelong don't, Bulldogs don't nor Collingwood.

Just don't see Kingy win nearly as much ball around the ground, And if he does get the ball, it's rare he does anything mind blowing with it. THought Maccas positioning tonight was great. Kingy still ahead and better technically in the ruck work - a goal down at the cheer squad end from a boundary throw in came directly from McEvoys tap.

3rd generation saint wrote:Think Ben has come a long way, however, believe the bigger, stronger body and experience of King will probably win King the spot come finals time.
As I said once before, none of the other top 4 sides have two good ruckman going into the Finals.
Geelong don't, Bulldogs don't nor Collingwood.
Agree. And don't forget, Steven King has that all important GF experience. I hope it comes in handy.

hes pretty darn good.

looks like we will get 10 years of stanley/mcevoy ruck combo!

as for this year. he is certainly asking some questions of the selectors. im honestly not sure who would pick between him and king.

Beej

He was very impressive tonight.

King won't be a walk-up start if McEvoy continues to perform like this.

Winmar

He is pretty impressive. King will probably be a better bet in the finals, but it's great that BM has had the opportunity to get a few games under his belt.

The Sainter

Disappointed with King tonight. He hardly gets a touch around the ground now and is very poor in marking contests. Don't expect him to be dropped but big Macca is certainly improving with each game.

I reckon he did OK last week, but tonight he did better.

They all tell us what a great mark he is, but tonight I can see why.
Took a couple of rippers.
His confidence continues to grow.

Agree with much of the above, Big Mac is improving at a rate of knots, King is building to finals for mine, Mac should be very happy with the way he is going though.

TassieJones

had my doubts, but future gun imo. shows more each week. only glaring problem is he's very slow, but so are a lot of ruckmen.

as for him or king though... well I mean who would you want in finals, the big bodied, former AA, captain and premiership player with finals experience or a 19 year old, yet to full out who'd go in with less than 20 games experience.

pretty simple choice, McEvoy has shown enough to say he can hold down the ruck in years to come but not this year.

Dont get me wrong - I loved Macca's game - but we were smashed in the ruck contest - for those calling the Doggies ruck second rate they beat us 48-21. Macca only had 4 and Minson 26 (even Hudson had 19)

This is not meant as a critisism - but we have a massive upside when Gardi returns - the smashing will get bigger!

derby Street

He's coming along nicely around the ground - agree still a work in progress in the ruck. Does a few nice taps but has to get his hand on the ball a bit more. Will be a player.

how good are his bumps and tackles for a young ruck!!!! best game for the club and is improving week by week.

marksnsparks

I reckon our number 1 ruck combo in 2010 will be Grads and McEvoy.

Kingy is too immobile for today's footy. Big Ben is more in the MG mould which suits the demand the ruckmen do more than just tap the ball at stoppages.

claystreet

That pickup of Kings below the knees shows he still very very good all round player all be it on tram tracks. Big Mac showed a bit with his in and under and marking but still has a ways to go, but the experience he is getting is invaluable to him.

At the end of the day we cant play 3 ruckmen but Mac looked good roaming across half back and would be a good tall option forward if we have a big man go down.

Gurgman

The Big Mac just keeps getting beter week by week and although he may not be as good as King in the centre around the ground his marking tackles ect are well ahead of Kingy at present , he is going to give the selectors something to think about

The commentators on MMM said he's pretty good by foot.

I haven't seen much of him so can anyone else confirm this.

I can confirm this. A couple of great kicks into the fwd line. Looks to have good skills.

mick13

Yup, a couple nice Inside 50 passes in the game.

Looking very good.

Gawd, who'd have thought 2 years ago, that we'd have 2 season veterans in Gardi and King killing it. And two guns in Stanley and Macca coming through the ranks.

It's beautiful.

King uses his body well and is very physically in the heat of the packs, but he does not get around the ground and cannot take a mark, either contested on uncontested... His kicking is also very shoddy....

For mine, the last few weeks have seen BigMac overtake King... He was sensational last night, and will only get alot better...

MG is clearly our no.1 (and imo all australian), but McEvoy should stay as our no.2... King is great insurance...

Sobraz wrote:King uses his body well and is very physically in the heat of the packs, but he does not get around the ground and cannot take a mark, either contested on uncontested... His kicking is also very shoddy....

For mine, the last few weeks have seen BigMac overtake King... He was sensational last night, and will only get alot better...

MG is clearly our no.1 (and imo all australian), but McEvoy should stay as our no.2... King is great insurance...
For the same reason King came into the GF for Geelong 2 years ago is the reason we will stick with him in the finals. You cannot buy that experience. Next year for Ben I would think.

im convinced he will be great in the next few years
im convinced that king is still the better option at the moment
but there is still a few weeks left yet.....
8-)

Sobraz wrote:King uses his body well and is very physically in the heat of the packs, but he does not get around the ground and cannot take a mark, either contested on uncontested... His kicking is also very shoddy....

For the same reason King came into the GF for Geelong 2 years ago is the reason we will stick with him in the finals. You cannot buy that experience. Next year for Ben I would think.
yeh fair enough, and will probably be the case...

King has proven himself in finals, and was probs in the Cats top 3 in GF07... He still has a role to play, but Ben is really taking the next step, and its great to see...