Did anyone think the jumpers looked the same?

Milan Faletic

Did anyone think the jumpers looked the same?

I want to make it clear that the Bulldogs deserved to win and good luck to them so this is not meant to be an excuse.

I just felt that it was difficult at times to distinguish the teams. Horizontal stripes both with dark shorts.

I thought it might have just been me but speaking to some others this morning, they brought up the same issue.

Did anyone else think the same?

Yep. My mate text me during the game this very thing. At the game I sometimes got confused, and actually reckon a couple of times both teams at different stages handballed to the opposition believing it was a team mate. Is it that hard for one club to wear white shorts?

Yes, it was particularly difficult when the play was going away (from a spectators point of view) so the players were showing their backs. St Kilda had an all black back with white numbers and the Bulldogs a dark blue back with white numbers.
Not very good under lights.

Sadly I have to confess that as the away team the problem was caused by St Kilda. :oops:
It was not an appropriate clash strip.

White shorts would have helped,does anyone from AFL check these things before hand,seems to happen too often

Very confusing and a serious clash.

The Dogs were the "home team" and had every right to wear their home strip but we should have ditched that pre season jumper and worn the clash just for 1 night, especially since the switch to Kooga has made the Dogs jumpers darker than ever

Why were the Doggies tghe "Home Team"?

So for all his ranting Dimwit clearly has either no clue or doesn't care yet again about clash guernseys.

kaos theory

YES.

Terrible arrangement. Couldn't tell them apart from level 3, unless they were up close.

borderbarry wrote:Why were the Doggies tghe "Home Team"?
im guessing overall they won their 3 games my a higher margin than us?
but it shouldnt matter, they should of been in the white shorts, even if they were the 'home team.' that NAB strip we were wearing included black shourt, no matter who we played or where we were always going to be in that top and black shorts.
last year for the prelim final we were the home team and were in white shorts.

"Another storied win in Robert Harvey's career. They say he is the embodiment of their motto of strength through loyalty, and on the day he became just the tenth man to play 350 league games the saints reward him with a seemingly impossible victory."

saintspremiers wrote:So for all his ranting Dimwit clearly has either no clue or doesn't care yet again about clash guernseys.
He was too busy counting his pay packet.

Counting all those one hundred dollar bills takes for ever.

Milan Faletic

Glad it wasn't just me. I actually reckon we handballed it straight to them on instinct a couple of times and I reckon they did the same.

We were having a lot of trouble distinguishing between the two teams and I think the players were to.

I was hoping the Saints would change into the white shorts at half time and if we had to pay a fine (on top of all our other financial issues) then pay it.

Very difficult. Especially when the players were on the other side of the ground!

avid

Yes we found it difficult all night (and we pride ourselves for seeing stuff from level 3).
I blame it entirely on our lame, and now stupid, "clash" guernsey. Exactly the same banded format with logo in the middle as the Bulldogs -- and theirs is obviously one of the more ugly ones going around.
Why did ANYONE think that design would be a good idea??

Saints7

agree it was hard at times.

We had a NAB Cup guernsey, the Dogs didnt, the AFL should have made the Dogggies use their alternate jumper with white shorts.

Avid - its our NAB jumper, not our Clash jumper. Im sure lots of people thought it would be a good idea - I did - I own one!

I really like our NAB jumper but have to agree, it was very hard on TV trying to distinguish who was who.

overitalready

my eyes are not the best, and on TV, I got confused at times - looking at the players' backs- and I just thought it was me, but now I see other ppl had problems too, even those at the Etihad Pool ! good idea, change into white shorts at 1/2 time, pay a fine, would have been better !!!

The AFl get all precious about every team (except Collingwood) having a clash strip..yet in one of their showcase games of the year (has to be for what they charged to get in!) they cant even make sure one of the Clubs wore white shorts???

GRAMophone

Yes definitely had trouble distinguishing each team on the far side of the ground on Saturday night.

Presume this would be the same for players in some scenarios.

HOPELESSLY DEVOTED

I thought the saints played really well until I looked at the scoreboard and realised that it was the Doggies doing all the scoring. :wink: :wink: :wink:

bozza1980

I'm in the minority here but from the nose bleed seats I didn't find it difficult differntiating the black from Royal blue.

Life is very short and there's no time for fussing and fighting my friends.

In short yes, the AFL are a joke on this issue and in 2010 it is a disgrace that it continues to hover over the game as a blight on our competition.

If Chelsea wear white in an FA Cup final, I'd be willing to wear a white uniform in a Grand Final- of any sort.

Milan Faletic

bozza1980 wrote:I'm in the minority here but from the nose bleed seats I didn't find it difficult differntiating the black from Royal blue.
I think I'm getting old Bozza! It's more when players are in and under and have to flick out the quick handball. It just seemed that when the players had their back to you, it was hard to pick the difference sometimes. Our old white clash jumpers would have been better as dcstkfc said.

I Love Peter Kiel

I found the jumpers confusing.

In honour of those who went before, in the dark and desperate years.
avid

Saints7 wrote:agree it was hard at times.

We had a NAB Cup guernsey, the Dogs didnt, the AFL should have made the Dogggies use their alternate jumper with white shorts.

Avid - its our NAB jumper, not our Clash jumper. Im sure lots of people thought it would be a good idea - I did - I own one!
Saints7 -- you're right! It's the nab guernsey, and I got carried away on another issue.
And I do regret insulting your taste in footy jumpers.
Thank you for your polite correction.
(I still hate the thing myself, and am seething that it didn't get binned on practical "clash" grounds alone.)
Cheers!