Live site for Round 1??

Doesnt look like the Club has organised anything for this year officially...so does anyone have any ideas where we could gather to watch the Interstate games this year...starting with the Swannies game Sat week??

I guess the criteria are..

Not too far out in the burbs (central for as many people as possible)

A reasonable size space to watch the game thats not shared by a covers band or 500 pokies

Is footy-friendly enough to allow us to confirm in advance that they'll have a screen definately showing the game..and wont mind too much if we..umm..barrack ;)

..has Foxtel (well the place last year the Saints picked didnt lol)

any ideas anyone?

Maxstar22

Bump.

Just spoke to a lovely lady at the Rosstwon Hotel in Carnegie (my old stomping ground).

They will be telecasting the Syd game live there next weekend and would love to see a bunch of mad Saints fans come down to watch it.

So who is in?

PS - The Rosstown Hotel is on the Cnr of Koornang and Dandenong Rd in Carnegie.

mmmmm we might make the treck out... will chat to my entourage (wanted to say that in a sentence :) )

Maxstar22

Solar wrote:mmmmm we might make the treck out... will chat to my entourage (wanted to say that in a sentence :) )
Come on Solar, you know you want to :P

The Elgin Inn in Hawthorn is pretty good. Went there to watch the Swans game with a few people last year. They have a TAB there now too!

doesn't look to bad, for that area of melbourne, might move out of my comfort zone in the east ;)

n1ck wrote:The Elgin Inn in Hawthorn is pretty good. Went there to watch the Swans game with a few people last year. They have a TAB there now too!
we were there too, good pub, somehow they always put up with us noisy saints supporters. Went there grand final eve also :)

get fox at home
bout 17 bucks a week.........

Maxstar22

matrix wrote:get fox at home
I have Foxtel, we just thought it would be nice to watch it together.

But if someone has a better suggestion than the Rossy, I am up for that either. Don't mind making the trek to hang out with you lot 8-)

Maxstar22 wrote:

But if someone has a better suggestion than the Rossy, I am up for that either. Don't mind making the trek to hang out with you lot 8-)
I'm happy with either but the elgin is a great little pub and you'd love it, lots of old ss'ers go there :) I even know where to park :D

Maxstar22 wrote:

copy that :)
its good to get a group together i spose and have a few grogs

Maxstar22

Come on Matrix, make the trek over as well :lol:

We will shout you a few frothies :P

cant mate :(
did that last week
again
and the girl said we aint doing that again we're flying LOL
was gonna get over for the cats game at round 12, but im off for my first experience up in qld (theme parks!!!) at the end of May so im penny pinching like theres no tomorrow for the next 11 weeks
we tried to get the holiday moved back so we could go:
adel to melbs for the cats game, then fly out the next morning to the gold coast, but there was no flights to the GC on the sat and we wouldve had to hang in melbs for another day which meant saving more coin.
so im not going to be able to catch another live game until finals time.

Maxstar22

matrix wrote:cant mate :(
did that last week
again
was gonna get over for the cats game at round 12, but im off for my first experience up in qld (theme parks!!!) at the end of May so im penny pinching like theres no tomorrow for the next 11 weeks
adel to melbs for the cats game, then fly out the next morning to the gold coast, but there was no flights to the GC on the sat and we wouldve had to hang in melbs for another day which meant saving more coin.
Ah bugger mate. Would have been good to see you again :lol:

I will def save you a spot at the pub come Sept :wink:

I have also put in my annual leave for GF week, so we can catch up then as well 8-)

yeah me too
i booked the 24th of september off already at work much to the humor of my work mates.

did that last week
again
what theme parks you going to go to? :) you'll have a ball!!!

all of them
except the white water world one
also doing the aussie zoo and patting the tiger swim with dolphin thing at seaworld.
stuff it, if ya gonna go, do it properly i say
ill prob start a thread over in general asking if anyone has any handy tips or places of interest that are worth seeing up there as well.
the girl is afraid of heights and stuff and reckons she aint doing rides

but she also shate her pants when we went up to the skydeck last week in melbs and wouldnt go within three metres of the windows

20 mins later i had her resting her head on the window with no hands looking 285 meters down at melb below lol

no rides :roll:
as if!

Maxstar22

Solar wrote:
did that last week
again
what theme parks you going to go to? :) you'll have a ball!!!
I can't believe you are going away during the footy :o
Have a blast mate.

Now back on topic - so we are going to the Elgin??

have talked to the others and I'm up for either...off to geelong so will leave that in your wonderful hands :) keep me in ouch...

goodbye internet and civilisation! geelong here I come

Isn't it on Channel 10 live ?

Enrico_Misso wrote:Isn't it on Channel 10 live ?
Yes, also on Channel 1 and 12 live!

GRAMophone

Solar wrote:have talked to the others and I'm up for either...off to geelong so will leave that in your wonderful hands :) keep me in ouch...

goodbye internet and civilisation! geelong here I come
Brace yourself if you're going to Geelong :roll:

Most of them have still got their goofy Geelong flags attched to their cars :roll: :roll:

HOPELESSLY DEVOTED

Yep its on Ch 10 but doesnt mean we cant gather somewhere and make some collective racket in the name of all things Saints :-)

Liam_G

Maxstar22 wrote:Just spoke to a lovely lady at the Rosstwon Hotel in Carnegie
It's only a minutes walk from Carnegie station also, on the Cranbounre/Pakenham lines, and 1 stop from Caulfield for those coming up on the Frankston line.

I've watched a game or two at the Rosstown, it's my local. Not a bad venue.

Maxstar22

Liam_G wrote:
Maxstar22 wrote:Just spoke to a lovely lady at the Rosstwon Hotel in Carnegie
It's only a minutes walk from Carnegie station also, on the Cranbounre/Pakenham lines, and 1 stop from Caulfield for those coming up on the Frankston line.

I've watched a game or two at the Rosstown, it's my local. Not a bad venue.
Yeh it isn't too bad. Although it was much better in the old days before they did it up and put all the bloody pokies in it.

So are we Elgin or Rossy?? Votes please :lol: