Ross Lyon is the New CEO!

Finna

Ross Lyon is the New CEO!

A Master CEO is able to create a vision and then assemble a team of people who are aligned to that vision. They will then give them the correct systems and training for their role and guide them toward that vision as a collective unit.

Successful Leaders know that it is more important for a team member to be aligned with their vision than it is each persons specific set of skills and learned knowledge within that team for this can be taught to a large degree

When there is a break down in the organisation the Master CEO identifies this breakdown and then creates a system and brings in a person (if one is needed) to apply that system. Most people can be trained to carry out a system but it is very difficult to instil totality.

This is what great leaders look for in their people.....Totality

If you bring in people wanting to be the best they can be and they are aligned with the outcome then they will do what ever needs to be done to achieve that outcome.

In Our Football Club Clint Jones is a perfect example of this. If you watch this man play football you can see he believes in the cause. Lyon and his team identified this in him very early and while everyone was trying to work out why Jones was still on the list Lyon knew that he had an individual who was willing to carry out the systems and the vision 110% and he is able to play a role that we need in the side.

He was overlooked by many coaches and recruiters who could not see his true value. A very rare and desired quality of total commitment.

He is a Key - a very important piece in the Saints puzzle. There will always be a key role - in any form - for someone with 110% commitment in this team.

Lyon doesnt mess around nor do the players in the team. This is serious business and you're either in or your not. Every time I look at Roo he is so unbelievably committed to the cause. Roo is Lyon's key weapon and Ross knows how to help Roo achieve what he wants - A Flag.

If you look at the Roo and Lyon relationship it is very businesslike - they are running a type of Joint Venture together. They both want to win a premiership and they know that they can help each other to do that. They both have a lot to bring to the table and have a very united, crystal clear vision of what they are setting out to do.

Roo is very involved in the running of the team and provides incredible leadership by example to the rest of the team. They are both guiding this ship - assembling the team they need to win that flag and creating the perfect system or game plan to do it.

Lyon has helped Roo grow from a boy to a real man - Helping him to Realise He Is A Truly Amazing Leader.

Just watch him this year. He is going to New levels!

They are talking about Brown.....let them talk.

We know how incredible this man is. It’s better if the media and opposition supporters dont get it. Let them live in their illusionary worlds - we Know the Truth, we are shown it every week..

If you detach and look without emotion at the Lovett and Ball situations they are actually very instructive of what is happening in Our club and the current mindset of the group of people collectively involved in the Club.

They weren't prepared to sacrifice and do whatever it takes to win that flag.

To Go That Extra Step.

We made gutsy moves with both players - moves that I believe were made based on the players willingness (or lack of) to play their role on and off the field. I believe these experiences have strengthened the resolve of Our group.

One of Lyon's great strengths is his ability to be able to 'see things' within the football side of the St Kilda FC. He understands the principal of Leverage incredibly well. Rather than do everything himself he focuses on his strengths and brings in the best people he can find for the different roles (from health practitioners, coaches and players) to do the things that he knows is required to win a flag. Lets face it he’s been involved in premiership teams - none of us have.

He's seen it on many occasions (a premiership) but he's never been at the front.

He is a very astute man - he has watched a lot of football from the inside at many different clubs with many different coaches. He has developed systems - ways of winning a premiership based on his experience and what he has observed.

The reason Luke Ball has been seen as such a villian within the playing group is because he put himself before the chosen team outcome - a premiership. Milne (team player), Dal Santo (Committed), Montagna (Believing in Self) , Goddard (Finally Letting Go) and Roo (I Am Elite) to name a few - these guys were given challenges and they took them by the balls and said "f*** Yeah......I'm In!".

Even Schneider - he has learnt some big lessons over summer and seems a man possesed with intent this year

Ball didnt like his challenge to improve so he took his bat and ball and ran off to Collingwood. Thats fine I dont have a problem with that but it demonstrates to us a very clear story.

Especially now and it will get even more obvious.

Within the playing group the Luke Ball saga was having a much greater effect than many people would know. The timing was interesting given we only won 3 of our last 6 games.

There is a group of new players who are fully committed to the vision who are not yet as good as ball was when he was at his best and may not ever be but they are aligned with the team vision and are willing to adhere to the systems and structures within that vision. They will do whatever it takes - they are willing to pay the price.

Guys like Jones, McQualter, Geary, Gwilt and Dawson you can see it in their eyes. They want it they believe they can have it. The coach, captain and leadership group love these guys for these reasons and help them to believe in themselves and place trust in them.

So many players have gone to the next level under Ross Lyon,,,,

Ross Lyon is an incredible CEO. They said Grant Thomas was the Manager. Well Ross is the CEO - he doesnt try to do it himself he brings in the right people on and off the field to fill gaps and fulfil systems.

This year we may not win 22 games but I beleive that we are in a much better position to win the flag. There doesnt seem to be anyone whose not in for the ride and if they appear they will disappear real fast (see Lovett). It will be an interesting year. One that gets me very excited.

I associate with some very successful people and they all have certain traits. I see many of these same traits in Ross Lyon.

Ross learnt a lot from last years grand final and so did the players. They realised how good you have to be - all the time - to win a premiership - Geelong learnt this in 2008.

Lyon has identified our weakness from last year and has done his best to remedy then through recruitment, training and adjustments to game plan (systems and strategy).

Things seem to have improved.

We are in good hands...... 

We will get better......

We have a Mission......

GO SAINTS 2010

Oh When The Saints Go Marching In.......

Can you expand on that?

Re: Ross Lyon is the New CEO!

Finna wrote:Ross Lyon is an incredible CEO. They said Grant Thomas was the Manager. Well Ross is the CEO - he doesnt try to do it himself he brings in the right people on and off the field to fill gaps and fulfil systems.
I don't think GT liked to do it himself either... he liked to call the shots though just like Ross Lyon does. The difference is that Lyon does it a hell of a lot better

Sorry Finna - I didn't mean to offend.

Totally agree with your post.

Great coaches distill the best bits of other people's game plans that will work best for their circumstances and then motivate their players to execute.

Landmark coaches invent new strategies and tactics that give them a competitive advantage and then sell that vision to their players.

Lyon I believe is a landmark coach who will/is changing the shape of the game.
He leads - others will follow.

Milan Faletic

Good on you, Finna. Love your passion. :wink:

Beej

Enrico_Misso wrote:Can you expand on that?

Milan Faletic

Enrico_Misso wrote:Sorry Finna - I didn't mean to offend.

Totally agree with your post.

Great coaches distill the best bits of other people's game plans that will work best for their circumstances and then motivate their players to execute.

Landmark coaches invent new strategies and tactics that give them a competitive advantage and then sell that vision to their players.

Lyon I believe is a landmark coach who will/is changing the shape of the game.
He leads - others will follow.
I just want one premiership in my lifetime....the rest is incidental

Re: Ross Lyon is the New CEO!

Finna wrote:
Within the playing group the Luke Ball saga was having a much greater effect than many people would know. The timing was interesting given we only won 3 of our last 6 games.

There is a group of new players who are fully committed to the vision who are not yet as good as ball was when he was at his best and may not ever be but they are aligned with the team vision and are willing to adhere to the systems and structures within that vision. They will do whatever it takes - they are willing to pay the price.

Guys like Jones, McQualter, Geary, Gwilt and Dawson you can see it in their eyes. They want it they believe they can have it. The coach, captain and leadership group love these guys for these reasons and help them to believe in themselves and place trust in them.
Is this your observation or does it come from within the group?

Finna

Enrico_Misso wrote:
Sorry Finna - I didn't mean to offend.
No offence taken. I am very passionate and have a lot to say on the matter. :wink:

Finna

Moccha wrote:
Observations from a place very few people get to see.

I was pumping up Ross Lyon all through 2007, telling people, don't worry, we are finally on the right track and the amount of absolute crap I used to hear such as, we should never have sacked Grant, Lyon has no idea, Lyon's a Sydney clone, a dinosaur, Lyon's a clown, Lyon has no clue, Lyon's a Sydney spy, etc...etc...

Then again, I am a visionary and I realize many football supporters are absolute goofballs, but one need look no further than Robert Harvey who said after the 2007 season that Ross Lyon is the best coach he's ever had!

The whole 2007 result in finishing 9th was a direct result of what Ross Lyon inherited from the previous coach and football department!

It was never going to be turned around in a few months, Lyon himself said it would take a couple of years!

We actually have a coach who has invented a game plan the rest of the competition are now trying to copy!

I can still remember the Thomas flogs in 2007, the vacuous ones with NFI, the easily conned, seething and proclaiming the sky was falling in, wanting the snakeoil salesman exited back in!

We actually lost more quarters in 2006 than we won!

FAIR DINKUM, things were already going pear shaped and we were heading south!

We are very fortunate to have the coaches and football department we now have!

I posted about this as early as 2005, but mostly through 2006, that we need to sack Thomas and get a professional football department if we are to be a legitimate contender and was absolutely abused left, right and centre, accused of not being a loyal saint supporter and all manner of derogatory drivel was served up!

And for what, trying to bring some numbnuts up to speed and give them a fair dinkum clue!

Good post Finna, but don't be surprised if a few nuffies still enamored by the snakeoil have a go!

How obvious is it that we now have the right man?

I knew from day one, then again I'm a visionary, so that is to be expected!

As for some, they would not get the drum even with the Edinburgh Military Tattoo up them!

FAIR DINKUM

Will you ever recover from your issues regarding GT. Let it go. Move on.

Fearless

Lovely piece, Finna.

Fearless, Saints footy. That's what I like.

Interesting post. We are in great hands in every facet at St Kilda for the first time possibly ever. We will be a Premiership side and I for one am enjoying the journey.

It is interesting that this year, despite us finishing runners up last year, that other club are trying to copy our way of playing and our zone rather than the cats. The buzz words are forward pressure and setting up full ground presses. Things we were doing very well last year.

I have noticed other clubs attempting this this year. Even North had a beleagured crack at the fwd press on Sat night. It probably tells us that we have the right game plan, now we have just have to execute it better than anyone. Hopefully b/c we are better drilled at it than the others this shouldn't be a problem as the year unfolds.

Finna wrote:Moccha wrote:
Observations from a place very few people get to see.
Interesting

What an amazing post! Thank you Finna for taking the time to post it.

The time for division is gone. It is time to GET BEHIND this team 100% regardless of what camp you come from (i.e. GT Fan or Lyon Fan). Follow this team and stop second guessing our coach. We need to stand united and let this great club know we are behind them.

Let's make some bloody noise on Saturday night!!!! I want to hear the crowd like it was during the St Kilda/Collingwood final where we drowned them out (and I was sitting in the members amongst predominantly Pies supporters and believe it or not, us feral Sainters out voiced them!!!!!!).

I would love to see us 50+ points up, the crowd with their scarves above their heads and all of us LOUDLY stamping our feet on the concrete. No singing or cheering needed, just the eerie sound of feet stamping on the ground and a see of red white and black scarves........the players will know what it means!

markinUSA

Good on ya Fiona.
I don't know if I've seen posts of yours before... but I really appreciated what you wrote.
Cheers, and GO SAINTS!

"Don't give up, never give up" - Robert Harvey.

The disappointing thing is, that the things that caused our downfall were all things that we'd all been aware of prior to the GF.

Sadly, as some may have expected, these problem areas surfaced on the day.

What's disappointing about it is, that we can 'rah rah rah' as much as we like about a R2 win over North, but we all have to wait until late September to see if anything has actually changed.

rodgerfox wrote:The disappointing thing is, that the things that caused our downfall were all things that we'd all been aware of prior to the GF.

What things?
That Roo would injure himself at the last training session prior to the GF?
That Melbourne would produce the worst rain/hail we'd seen in ages, heavily curtailing our aerial effectiveness?
That a number of players who had been very accurate previously inexplicably missed easy shots at goal?

Mr Magic wrote:What things?
That Melbourne would produce the worst rain/hail we'd seen in ages, heavily curtailing our aerial effectiveness?
That a number of players who had been very accurate previously inexplicably missed easy shots at goal?
Having heard this perspective from RF b4 i'll give this a go

- Relying on Roo to win games (no Roo = no St.Kilda)
- Dubious selections that suggest RL will pick players he likes despite form (Dempster)
- Slow reactive coaching when things aren't going to plan
- Problem with particular players consistently being unable to get into big games

rodgerfox wrote:The disappointing thing is, that the things that caused our downfall were all things that we'd all been aware of prior to the GF.

What's disappointing about it is, that we can 'rah rah rah' as much as we like about a R2 win over North, but we all have to wait until late September to see if anything has actually changed.
Instead of whinging and moaning like a petulent child, why not 'rah rah' with us and get behind the team for once? Put your unnatural love for GT behind you. He is in the past and Ross is the present.

There were not many deficiencies on GF day. Just missing that little bit of 'luck'. As magic wrote, weather, injuries and accuracy at goal cost us. Still think we peaked a year to early so this was the year I would have pencilled in a possible GF berth anyway.

skeptic wrote:

- Dubious selections that suggest RL will pick players he likes despite form (Dempster)
- Problem with particular players consistently being unable to get into big games
Suspect key defenders.

Coping with injury.

Reliance on Roo.

Mentally fragile players.

Players not handling the big stage.

We won't know until late September whether any of this has been addressed.

rodgerfox wrote:
skeptic wrote:

Suspect key defenders.

Coping with injury.

Reliance on Roo.

So what did Geelong do to address their 'issues' from the 2008 GF?
Wasn't it basicly the same team in 2009?

rodgerfox wrote:
skeptic wrote:

Suspect key defenders.

Coping with injury.

Reliance on Roo.

So what did Geelong do to address their 'issues' from the 2008 GF?
Wasn't it basicly the same team in 2009?
Not sure what Geelong have to do with this, but anyway....

They rested players later in the year as they felt they faded by the time they reached the GF in 08.

They kicked straight.

They moved quickly to negate key players (ie. Bartel to Hayes) rather than leaving a dud like Stokes on a guy like Hodge.

They got their selection right (ie. no Stokes).

But whilst we're on Geelong, none of the above was evident until GF Day. Thompson may have (infact would have) been considered a great underachiever as coach, as would have his team, unless they got a tick on GF day.

No one stood back in Rd2 last year and lauded him nor his team as having learnt lots from the loss the year before and wanted him knighted.

It wasn't until GF day that we saw they had infact got it right.

I don't know why we would be seen any differently.