New rules have been posted above as an announcement.

They will be at the top of each forum as an announcement.

FANTASTIC

But are you going to enforce them?

They read ok. However the site needs some extra Mods.

(...and LOL..not advocating myself as that would cause a few heart attacks amongst some...)

I agree.

If this is serious, and I hope it is, then there are a handful of posters that either need to radically change their attitudes, or they need to be exited.

na exa

hasn't it been great lately ?

whats the prob bob ?

fair dink.

edit ...

seriously , whats the **** problem , besides too many whingers and dobbers ?
Last edited by na exa on Sun 09 May 2010 12:50pm, edited 1 time in total.

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

na exa wrote:hasn't it been great lately ?

whats the prob bob ?

fair dink.
With respect gaz, part of the reason for hte peace and love has been the fact that the footy is on and we are playing well. The real test of the harmony of this place was and always will be the General Forum in the off-season.

I agree though that a couple more mods needs to be appointed. Whilst Battye is now just concentrating on the technical side of the site (and dong a great job I might add) we only seem to have only one other mod actually doing anything. There are a couple in particular who rarely if ever post and dont seem to show themselves when things need sorting.

Its not just arguments. Theres housekeeping stuff too that it shouldnt be the job of just one mod to sort out.

Having said that, well done to the writers of the new "guidelines" They are less wordy and thats probably a good thing :-)

na exa

.... part of the reason for hte peace and love has been the fact that the footy is on and we are playing well.
crap.
The real test of the harmony of this place was and always will be the General Forum in the off-season
more crap.
I agree though that a couple more mods needs to be appointed.

crap more.
There are a couple in particular who rarely if ever post and dont seem to show themselves when things need sorting.
huh?

with respect.

Gaz, I personally think saint66au has got it spot on... The GF has always been more 'volatile' than the Fan Forum, and especially during the offseason when we havent got the footy to cheer on - and winning - it was always going to be harder to control.

And yes, we do need more mods.

na exa

thats the attitude why we ended up in the mess we did , imo.

so nothings changed, in reality!

when are you dudes going to understand that 'controlling something' is not a viable , workable or sensible approach to a live dynamic process ?

and i'd be looking at the 'fan forum' ....thats where 'your' problems ACTUALLY were.

the G1 scares you people .... thats whats 'wrong' with the G1.

fix your fan forum first , coz you've got no hope , when doing things back to front.

imo , and with respect.

Location: Kicked out of the Coffee Shop, Settlement Pub, Cranbourne

n1ck wrote:Gaz, I personally think saint66au has got it spot on... The GF has always been more 'volatile' than the Fan Forum, and especially during the offseason when we havent got the footy to cheer on - and winning - it was always going to be harder to control.

That's just escapism N1ck.

IMHFO its the blues that start in the fan forum that get taken further in the General Forum.

That's because you have to stick closer to the subject in the FF, and if you don't, it gets moved to the GF anyway.

When the subject matter is more open, you can let fly on a tangent if you see fit.

And as for 66's opinion, he lost all credibility when he threw up his hands, took his footy and walked away. If you can't stand the heat, don't stand in the kitchen door telling us how to cook.

The reason the forum has been at peace lately is because of the willingness of a few posters to let the innuendo and insults pass them by, in the hope that the review of rules and appointment of new mods would see some sensibility come to the forum.

The pronouncement of the new rules, presented as if it was the 11th commandment from the mount, will do little to change anything. I am incredibly disappointed that a golden opportunity to have some progression in the forum has once again been stymied by reactionary thinking.

If this is as far as the forum gets to progress, shame on you all.

Australia...... Live it like we stole it....... Because we did.

GrumpyOne wrote:
n1ck wrote:Gaz, I personally think saint66au has got it spot on... The GF has always been more 'volatile' than the Fan Forum, and especially during the offseason when we havent got the footy to cheer on - and winning - it was always going to be harder to control.

IMHFO its the blues that start in the fan forum that get taken further in the General Forum.

That's because you have to stick closer to the subject in the FF, and if you don't, it gets moved to the GF anyway.

When the subject matter is more open, you can let fly on a tangent if you see fit.

And as for 66's opinion, he lost all credibility when he threw up his hands, took his footy and walked away. If you can't stand the heat, don't stand in the kitchen door telling us how to cook.

The reason the forum has been at peace lately is because of the willingness of a few posters to let the innuendo and insults pass them by, in the hope that the review of rules and appointment of new mods would see some sensibility come to the forum.

The pronouncement of the new rules, presented as if it was the 11th commandment from the mount, will do little to change anything. I am incredibly disappointed that a golden opportunity to have some progression in the forum has once again been stymied by reactionary thinking.

Well bugger off then if you are so freaking dissapointed ...seriously..

I gave it a go Grumps..and I mostly reckon I did OK..a few of you disagree, so be it. All you do on the other hand is whinge grizzle and take sarcastic potshots at those who at least gave some time to try. What is your grand plan for this place then? Those new guidelines were written, AFAIK by SENsational, a poster who, like you, wasnt 100% happy with how things were, but totally unlike you, made a contribution to try and improve things. All we ever hear from you is how much better the place if we listened to you. Trouble is, all you do is whinge

"11th Commandment from the Mount"? They were posted for all to read. What did you want? A 6 month discussion period where people can argue over the wording of every single line?

Oh and I reaaallllly dont care what you think my credibility rating is around here either.

Face

Enrico_Misso wrote:FANTASTIC

But are you going to enforce them?
Good question.

This thread should provide a good test! :lol:

whats the prob bob ?

fair dink.
With respect gaz, part of the reason for hte peace and love has been the fact that the footy is on and we are playing well. The real test of the harmony of this place was and always will be the General Forum in the off-season.

I agree though that a couple more mods needs to be appointed. Whilst Battye is now just concentrating on the technical side of the site (and dong a great job I might add) we only seem to have only one other mod actually doing anything. There are a couple in particular who rarely if ever post and dont seem to show themselves when things need sorting.

Its not just arguments. Theres housekeeping stuff too that it shouldnt be the job of just one mod to sort out.

Having said that, well done to the writers of the new "guidelines" They are less wordy and thats probably a good thing :-)
With all due respect, I'm not sure you're the best person to be giving advice on good moderation.

Honestly....some of the blokes who are always in these arguments...how old are you? Middle age at least from what I can gather...but you carry on like 14 year old geeks fighting over a game of tetrus.

"He called me a name...wah wah wah"...grow up you flogs.

na exa

is this irony ?
is that above a discussion or an argument ?

jonesy wrote:Honestly....some of the blokes who are always in these arguments...how old are you? Middle age at least from what I can gather...but you carry on like 14 year old geeks fighting over a game of tetrus.

plus one.... :wink: :wink: :lol: :lol: :lol:

DJKCR

I should jump on the General forum more then. I spend a fair bit of time on here though rarely post but the last big bust ups I can remember on the Fan forum was Poochy and I think someone put up a pornographic picture on here. People are always going to argue on here. As they say opinions are like arseholes. Everyones got one. If people didn't get so carried away with their own self importance with said opinion I think there would be less dramas. Really we all go for the same team and I like to think we are all after the same thing for our team to be competitive and strong (flag or two wouldn't hurt). People just need to step back and take five before they fire things off at people on here and if someone does think differently than you, you don't need to ridicule them on a public forum because of it. Ha ha I was rambling there at the end :oops: . I may be totally off point but thats what I think. I should really go and read the rules :oops:

"I don't roll on Shabbas" Walter Sobchak
na exa

my question still stands .

whats the problem been lately ?

maybe even ...... one of the long list of whingers and end thread space fillers could put onto paper the 'problem' .... please.

na exa wrote:my question still stands .

whats the problem been lately ?

maybe even ...... one of the long list of whingers and end thread space fillers could put onto paper the 'problem' .... please.
I agree Gaz, the place has been pretty peaceful of late, however much as you and GO are rejoicing that its because myself and a cpl of other mods arent around to wave the big stick any more, I just dont think thats the primary reason.

You guys obviously do, so be it.

Does it really matter why?

I agree this place has been pretty good for the last month. I put it down to a fair bit of maturity and self control by the posters and yes, a bit of a let down after the whole 'episode' of earlier.

These guidelines are not reinventing the wheel. They in themselves are not the answer to anything.

They will only work if people respect others and post that way. Without respect, the place will descend into murkiness once again.

A couple of new Mods and the consistent implementation of the guidelines should see everyone on the right page and posting happily.

Location: Kicked out of the Coffee Shop, Settlement Pub, Cranbourne

saint66au wrote:I gave it a go Grumps..and I mostly reckon I did OK..a few of you disagree, so be it. All you do on the other hand is whinge grizzle and take sarcastic potshots at those who at least gave some time to try. What is your grand plan for this place then?
I have posted previously, more times than I care to remember, how I think the forum should progress. The usual reactionary troglodytes took me to task each time.

Happy to put my oar in the water and start rowing, but it's a bit difficult if you are not allowed to get close to the boat.

Unfortunately, I am in nobody's drinking club, so I don't get a chance.

Australia...... Live it like we stole it....... Because we did.
Saintsfan

GrumpyOne wrote:

Well bugger off then if you are so freaking dissapointed ...seriously..

I gave it a go Grumps..and I mostly reckon I did OK..a few of you disagree, so be it. All you do on the other hand is whinge grizzle and take sarcastic potshots at those who at least gave some time to try. What is your grand plan for this place then? Those new guidelines were written, AFAIK by SENsational, a poster who, like you, wasnt 100% happy with how things were, but totally unlike you, made a contribution to try and improve things. All we ever hear from you is how much better the place if we listened to you. Trouble is, all you do is whinge

"11th Commandment from the Mount"? They were posted for all to read. What did you want? A 6 month discussion period where people can argue over the wording of every single line?

Oh and I reaaallllly dont care what you think my credibility rating is around here either.
You have less credibility around here than me.

That is saying something sunshine.

Whinging occurs due to your little group and the preferential treatment you have to them. They were allowed to abuse and incite tension without punishment from the lords above.

That has now changed and this is a much better place.

So take your ball and exit out GT style.

The Saintsfan Cometh
Saintsfan

rodgerfox wrote:

whats the prob bob ?

fair dink.

With all due respect, I'm not sure you're the best person to be giving advice on good moderation.
Yet he does not see it at all. Ignorance.

The Saintsfan Cometh
Saintsfan

na exa wrote:
.... part of the reason for hte peace and love has been the fact that the footy is on and we are playing well.
crap.
The real test of the harmony of this place was and always will be the General Forum in the off-season
more crap.
I agree though that a couple more mods needs to be appointed.

crap more.
There are a couple in particular who rarely if ever post and dont seem to show themselves when things need sorting.
huh?

with respect.
This just needs to be quoted because Gaz is telling it like it is.

The Saintsfan Cometh