1st quarter was sensational by Pies

Hate to say it but the 1st quarter was super team footy......

played like starving animals feeding on helpless prey....

Taken our foward press to another level....

hope we can get to that level against doogies and again next week

must admit a bit flat after watching that awesome display.........

asM.Thompson just said where did that super style of football come from!!
the next phase of footy.

Re: 1st quarter was sensational by Pies

chook23 wrote:asM.Thompson just said where did that super style of football come from!!
the next phase of footy.
Looked like St Kilda 2009.

#1GILL

degruch wrote:
chook23 wrote:asM.Thompson just said where did that super style of football come from!!
the next phase of footy.
No it didn't. It was beyond anything we have ever done.

degruch wrote:
the next phase of footy.
+ extra :cry:

#1GILL wrote:
degruch wrote:
the next phase of footy.
Yes it did.

EDIT: Except we did it for a whole season, not one quarter. We learnt our lesson.

degruch wrote:
#1GILL wrote:
degruch wrote:
the next phase of footy.
Yes it did.

EDIT: Except we did it for a whole season, not one quarter. We learnt our lesson.
:roll: :roll:

#1GILL

degruch wrote:
#1GILL wrote:
degruch wrote:
the next phase of footy.
Yes it did.

Are you being serious?

degruch wrote:
#1GILL wrote:
degruch wrote:
the next phase of footy.
Yes it did.

Forgotten who invented 'forward pressure' footy? Remember where we finished on the ladder last year? We broke nearly every record in the book for a H&A season...Pies may have replicated our best for a quarter, what does that prove? Not sure I get the point.

#1GILL wrote:
degruch wrote:
#1GILL wrote:
degruch wrote:
the next phase of footy.
Yes it did.

Are you being serious?
Obviously, you're not.

get a grip you guys. collingwood is a very good side, but let's not undersell ourselves.

if we make it past the bulldogs i'm sure our players will not be as intimidated as some of you seem to be. respectful, yes, but not crapping their pants.

we knocked off geelong and made them look beatable. the magpies capitalised on that tonight.

degruch wrote:
#1GILL wrote:
degruch wrote:
the next phase of footy.
Yes it did.

Forgotten who invented 'forward pressure' footy? Remember where we finished on the ladder last year? We broke nearly every record in the book for a H&A season...Pies may have replicated our best for a quarter, what does that prove? Not sure I get the point.
Surely you are kidding yourself.......denial.

Ist half.........double midfield depth with real pace
Last edited by chook23 on Sat 18 Sep 2010 12:28am, edited 1 time in total.

degruch wrote:
#1GILL wrote:
degruch wrote:
the next phase of footy.
Yes it did.

The trolls have started already? We haven't even made the GF yet.

Last year teams struggled to get it into there 50m line against us.

However against Collingwood this year,teams struggle to get it into there half of the ground! They are just rampant on teams in the back half and are getting so many inside 50's and scoring shots from turnovers it's ridiculous. I hate them as much as anyone,if not more,but they are playing at a level not seen before in my opinion,in terms of pressure

I hope Lyon has something up his sleeve(if we win tommorrow night of course),he moves into genius status if he can get us up.

The filth were good.

The cats were terrible.

degruch wrote:
#1GILL wrote:
degruch wrote:
the next phase of footy.
Yes it did.

an even more confusing statement.

(a given we have not made it yet)

degruch wrote:
#1GILL wrote:
degruch wrote:
the next phase of footy.
Yes it did.

an even more confusing statement.
Riiiight. Confusing for?

You've got a short memory mate. I present this 100% correct post from another thread, which is entirely relevant to yourself, and anyone else attempting to undersell our team:

Before our loss to them this year, they were well and truly our bitch.

We can shut em down. Play on our terms and smash em the other way.

How any of you could doubt what this side is capable of is beyond me.

We have to make it there first, which is half the battle.

If we do, everything you hear next week will be about the filth.

Fine by me. I will be glad to take it all away from them.

Harden the f*** up.

Thankyou BR, couldn't have said it better.

I am not underselling our team...

Just pointing out a fact how good Pies were.

#1GILL

chook23 wrote:I am not underselling our team...

Exactly the same as me.
I think we can win, but I am genuinely worried after tonight.

Their pressure tonight was unheard of.

Absolutely, they were good...MM obviously studied our style of play throughout 2009 very hard, and for patches (even matches) the Pies can replicate it, very well. Not doubting that, but we own their game, we are very good at it.

Comments like 'Surely you're kidding yourself...denial' in response to the above, what are you saying if you're not underselling the Saints?

degruch wrote:

Absolutely, they were good...MM obviously studied our style of play throughout 2009 very hard, and for patches (even matches) the Pies can replicate it, very well. Not doubting that, but we own their game, we are very good at it.

Comments like 'Surely you're kidding yourself...denial' in response to the above, what are you saying if you're not underselling the Saints?
my reference to denial was in relation to how good the Pies are.

degruch wrote:

my reference to denial was in relation to how good the Pies are.
The Pies have been beaten this season, even by us. They have a lousy finals record against us...there's not denial in suggesting they can't sustain their form, or that we can't do what they did tonight. Have some faith Chook.

Besides, given the way our club has been treated by the Pies this year, IF we get through, they won't know what the term 'animal' means until they've been ground into the turf by RW&B...I sincerely believe that.

What did Geelong do to ease the pressure?

Anything?
Or did they just allow Collingwood to play the game on their own terms?

Any team looks great if they have no pressure placed on them - Geelong looked like they didn't turn up.
Nobody seemed to want to do the 'hard stuff' out there.

If we get into the GF and play as weakly then we'll get smashed early too.
BUT, we have a history in important games over the last couple of years of 'turning up' to play.

Maybe our best isn't good enough to beat Collingwood?
I believe it is.
I believe we have a number of things that Geelong didn't have tonight
Not the least being potent tall forward weapons and a defensive structure that works as a team, from the forward line to the backline.

For more than half the game 2 weeks ago we made a fresh Geelong look just as bad as Collingwood did tonight.
Yes they came back, but I believe that had more to do with the changing conditions and our inability to kick the goals in the third quarter that we had the opportunity to do.

I'm not scared of Collingwood at all.
I think we have the team adn gameplan to once again make them fall at the last hurdle.

degruch wrote:Absolutely, they were good...MM obviously studied our style of play throughout 2009 very hard, and for patches (even matches) the Pies can replicate it, very well
Agree. Imitation is the most sincere form of flattery.

They respect us so much that they've tried not only to ape our style of play, but went out of their way to recruit a favourite son in Max and a traitor in Luke Ball.

They are a very good side as shown over 22 rounds, but over-rating them is as dangerous as under-rating them.
Last edited by bigcarl on Sat 18 Sep 2010 12:51am, edited 1 time in total.

When they turn the ball over they stream forward, every single last one of them...

If there was some way of forming some kind of intense pressure about 60-70 out from their goal, you could really hurt them the other way.

Excuse my ignorance about game plans and such, it's probably entirely impossible.

SainterK wrote:If there was some way of forming some kind of intense pressure about 60-70 out from their goal, you could really hurt them the other way.
i can think of someone who could do that.