Old Saints theme lyrics

Here's the words of the old Saints theme, sung to the tune of "I do like to be beside the seaside" Maybe fun to sing at your grand final bbq...

Oh I do like to be beside the seaside,
Oh I do like to be beside the sea.
And down at the junction there's a football ground
And there St Kilda can be found.
So let's give a cheer for old St Kilda,
For next year's premiers they will be;
Though it's not yet in the bag there's a chance of winning the flag
Beside the seaside, beside the sea
Last edited by Furphy on Wed 22 Sep 2010 11:37am, edited 1 time in total.

change next to this.......................

rrrooooeee

nice song

rrrooooeee

i recon the new song is bettercarn the saints

Maguire#31

Anyone got the lyrics for the 'Fightback Song?' that they used at Moorrabin?

Justin Koschitzke --> The Next Matty Maguire!
georgie girl

We used to have a group of guys sing it behind us at Etihad (Bay 36). Sounded great.

Anyone have the words for the Saints song that they tried to bring in around the 70's - new verses for our song.....

something like ....
We're Saints we're mean and we're all mighty keen
we're after wins like you've never seen
and we're loyal to our mate cos we're the Saints!

widereceiver

The fourth line was actually
'n' that's where the Saints all hang around

or at least that's what everyone sang when I was at the Junction Oval.

"Winning's not everything, it's the ONLY thing!" Vince Lombardi.
Sam Gilbert #1 booster - always on the attack!!!
Win more for Winmar

georgie girl wrote:We used to have a group of guys sing it behind us at Etihad (Bay 36). Sounded great.

Anyone have the words for the Saints song that they tried to bring in around the 70's - new verses for our song.....

something like ....
From my memory it went a little like this:

We’re Saints we’re proud and we got a lot of fight,
We’re on the move and you’ll feel our might,
We hit em nice and hard, make em drop their guard,
And we’re loyal to our mates, coz we’re the Saints,

Oh when the Saints etc

We’re Saints we’re mean and we’re all mighty keen,
We’re chasing wins like you’ve never seen,
Let’s get em on the run, we’re not out here for fun,

Oh when the Saints etc

hellorocky

widereceiver wrote:The fourth line was actually

You're probably right, found this other version, I like it better;

"Oh I do love to be beside the seaside
Oh I do love to be beside the sea
Down at the Junction there's a football ground
And that's where the Saints all hang around
So let's give 3 cheers for ol' St Kilda
For this year the premiers they may be
Though it's not yet in the bag
We've got hopes of winning the flag
Beside the seaside, beside the sea".

InkerSaint

Dr Spaceman wrote:From my memory it went a little like this:

Oh when the Saints etc

How does the tune go? I'll learn it for Saturday and do a one-man rendition if it comes down to it.

I've always felt a little disappointed that our fanbase doesn't seem to have as many chants as some of our opposition.

"... You want to pose a threat to the opposition in as many ways as you can, both defensively and offensively. We've got a responsibility to explore all those possibilities - and we will."
Maguire#31

I reckon that is pretty close, if not exactly it.
As a young kid I absolutely loved it, I was shattered when they stopped using it.

Just like I was heart broken when the CARRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRNNNNNNNNNNNNN

SAINTERRRRRRRS! Guy stopped doing it. There were thrashing in the day that I got through purely on that guy!

georgie girl wrote:We used to have a group of guys sing it behind us at Etihad (Bay 36). Sounded great.

something like ....

Oh when the Saints etc

mcadam05

I posted it on you tube last yr :)

HSVKing

InkerSaint wrote:

Oh when the Saints etc

How does the tune go? I'll learn it for Saturday and do a one-man rendition if it comes down to it.

I've always felt a little disappointed that our fanbase doesn't seem to have as many chants as some of our opposition.
I've got a cassette tape somewhere with this song on it.

If only I knew where!!!

They walk amongst us...

HSVKing

Furphy wrote:
widereceiver wrote:The fourth line was actually

You're probably right, found this other version, I like it better;

"Oh I do love to be beside the seaside
Oh I do love to be beside the sea
Down at the Junction there's a football ground
And that's where the Saints all hang around
So let's give 3 cheers for ol' St Kilda
For this year the premiers they may be
Though it's not yet in the bag
We've got hopes of winning the flag
Beside the seaside, beside the sea".
This is the version I am aware of (and is sung after Saints MCG victories at the Cricketers Arms)

They walk amongst us...

InkerSaint wrote:

Oh when the Saints etc

Bit hard to hum on the keyboard InkerSaint :wink:

My understanding is that it was an original piece so it's not to the tune of a known song

Okay then, DA DUM, DA DUM, DA DA DA DA DA DA DUM, :D

Actually, that's not bad! :shock:

something like ....

Oh when the Saints etc

It was sung by Doug Parkinson. Does anyone remember the song from the Lindsay Fox era?
"Oh when the Saints go marching in, you will see a flag unfirl, we're on top down at Moorabbin when the Saints go marching in"

InkerSaint

Well we obviously need some new ones.

Riewoldt is a diver
Kosi is a spud
Milney is a yapper
So how come your team got flogged?

Our style of footy is boring
The entire backline is clogged
We have no leg speed to speak of

Err... how am I going?

"... You want to pose a threat to the opposition in as many ways as you can, both defensively and offensively. We've got a responsibility to explore all those possibilities - and we will."
HSVKing

InkerSaint wrote:Well we obviously need some new ones.

Riewoldt is a diver
Kosi is a spud
Milney is a yapper

Our style of footy is boring
The entire backline is clogged
We have no leg speed to speak of

Err... how am I going?
HAHA

Everyone at work is wondering what I'm laughing at :lol:

They walk amongst us...

georgie girl

On another bit of history...
For those of you like me, who just can't get enough of reading about the Saints at the moment, another bit of nostalgia you might be interested in is the book, "Saturday Afternnon Fever" by Matthew Hardy. A footy fan's memoir of life on the outer looking in.

Although it's about his life growing up in the 70s, he was an avid Saints fan who idolised Barks. Talks about the 'animal enclosure' at Moorabbin and many other wonderful Saint memories!

HSVKing

georgie girl wrote:On another bit of history...
For those of you like me, who just can't get enough of reading about the Saints at the moment, another bit of nostalgia you might be interested in is the book, "Saturday Afternnon Fever" by Matthew Hardy. A footy fan's memoir of life on the outer looking in.

Although it's about his life growing up in the 70s, he was an avid Saints fan who idolised Barks. Talks about the 'animal enclosure' at Moorabbin and many other wonderful Saint memories!
My edition has been read a number of times!

Currently have the other half reading it (who knew nothing about AFL before meeting me) and is loving it.

They walk amongst us...

The Boss does a nice slow version of OWTS, the AFL should of had him as the prematch entertainment :)

We are all traveling in the footsteps
Of those who've gone before
Today the fans stand united
Desiring to win one more

You get the general idea :wink:

We actually sing this song at my church, I've always loved it.

Maguire#31

Thats a bloody great read. CATOGGIO!

georgie girl wrote:On another bit of history...

Saint Pup

HSVKing wrote:
InkerSaint wrote:

Oh when the Saints etc

I've got a cassette tape somewhere with this song on it.

If only I knew where!!!
Would love to hear how that version of the song went. I think our song does need a few extra lines to it...

GET UP AND ABOUT SAINTERS!
I Love Peter Kiel

Love the 'seaside' song...really good for our new home in Seaford.

Saw some footage once of the Saints singing that in the evening after winning the '66 Premiership. Fantastic!

In honour of those who went before, in the dark and desperate years.