Standing Room

saintkellerm

Standing Room

Anyone has tips for Standing Room - do you have to get their early? How do you mind a standing room place? Last year was on Level 2 Ponsford close to Baldock it was heartbreaking to see him cry. It looks like a couple of other sainters there too. Any help would be great!! Thx

#1GILL

This is my first GF and I have SR also, tips would be helpful.

We are thinking of getting there around 11ish. Is this early enough?

saintkellerm

Yeah i'm not too sure what time to get there....i'm in M16 - hopefully there is heaps of saints supporters nearby so we can help each other.

saint3d

I haven't done standing room at the GF before but I would expect to have to get there earlier than 11 to get the best spots.

Whatever time you get there make friends with the other Saints supporters as they arrive so by the time you have to ask them to mind your spot they'll be happy to. It's not like you'll struggle for conversation topics!

Tom_Aus

Got there 9:30am last year and got the last spots on the front tier. I wouldn't be leaving it as late as 11. Get there earlier and meet with people so each can save eachothers spot

saint64

Got there not long before the opening bounce last year and had a great time with the Saints supporters around me. Was hard up against a metal mesh fence though which obscured my view to one end.

You can go anywhere in standing room.
So find a nice spot.
Bring a cushion and bags and Saturday's Age because they are all useful to reserve your spot - not to mention sit on or read!
You will be able to sit down till well after noon.
Get with a few friends - or make them.
Then you can take it in turns to go for a walk - get a passout and take in the atmosphere.
The view is pretty good as you are above the seats in front.
There are also lots of TV screens if you miss something.
Most of the people there are SC members so they are OK people - or at least they were last year - I guess this year there will be Collingwood neanderthals.
It is very different to the old standing room from the 70s and 80s which was a bit "rough".
It is a long day but will be well worth it.
And after the siren it should be possible to move down and claim seats vacated by the swill.

LaUrEnCe

Enrico_Misso wrote:You can go anywhere in standing room.
So find a nice spot.
Bring a cushion and bags and Saturday's Age because they are all useful to reserve your spot - not to mention sit on or read!
You will be able to sit down till well after noon.
Get with a few friends - or make them.
Then you can take it in turns to go for a walk - get a passout and take in the atmosphere.
The view is pretty good as you are above the seats in front.
There are also lots of TV screens if you miss something.
Most of the people there are SC members so they are OK people - or at least they were last year - I guess this year there will be Collingwood neanderthals.
It is very different to the old standing room from the 70s and 80s which was a bit "rough".
It is a long day but will be well worth it.
And after the siren it should be possible to move down and claim seats vacated by the swill.
Thanks for the info.
Cushion will be handy..ha

StNoodles

Have a bad back (HTFU I hear) so not keen on getting there too early and standing around for 4 hours before the game event starts.

Will get there a couple of hours early and hope for the best.

Celtic Sainter

We had standing room tickets for last years GF. It was actually a good laugh as my mate was having a bit of banter with the Cats fans who were in there.

We had my mate's little boy with us and from memory we got there around 10.30-10.45am and found a good spot so that he could get to the front and see the game. There were only Saints fans in there when we arrived, but it gradually got a 50/50 split of Saints and Cats.

For the first 2-3 hours you could sit on the steps, so you don't need to stand up for the whole time. It was only as it got busier you had to stand up so people could get their spot.

Took a couple of sandwiches, bottle of water, a newspaper and a radio and then watched the place fill up over over the space of a few hours.

It was a long day, but well worth it and we will probably do the same on Saturday.

Dal'sGal26

Tom_Aus wrote:Got there 9:30am last year and got the last spots on the front tier. I wouldn't be leaving it as late as 11. Get there earlier and meet with people so each can save eachothers spot
Do you know what time the gates opened last year? Just had a look on the website, mcc opens at 8am and all other gates open at 10.30am. There's 6 of us standing in M15, very different to last year as we had premium seats! We were gonna head in at 10.30am to get our spots but maybe we need to go earlier? Thank you in advance for any help and GOOO SAINTERS!!!!

i <3 the red, white and black

Sainter for LIFE!
Celtic Sainter

Dal'sGal26 wrote:
Tom_Aus wrote:Got there 9:30am last year and got the last spots on the front tier. I wouldn't be leaving it as late as 11. Get there earlier and meet with people so each can save eachothers spot
Do you know what time the gates opened last year? Just had a look on the website, mcc opens at 8am and all other gates open at 10.30am. There's 6 of us standing in M15, very different to last year as we had premium seats! We were gonna head in at 10.30am to get our spots but maybe we need to go earlier? Thank you in advance for any help and GOOO SAINTERS!!!!
If I recall correctly, the non-MCC gates opened at 8.30am last year. This year it's 10.30am.

Celtic Sainter

I haven't seen anyone in Saintsational or Big Footy make reference to standing room tickets in Bay M13?

Any fellow Sainters in this section?

Also, has anyone stood in M13 before and if so, is the view okay?

saint1974

Celtic Sainter wrote:I haven't seen anyone in Saintsational or Big Footy make reference to standing room tickets in Bay M13?

Any fellow Sainters in this section?

Also, has anyone stood in M13 before and if so, is the view okay?
We are M14 I to wondered is there anyone here too?

Celtic Sainter

saint1974 wrote:We are M14 I to wondered is there anyone here too?
In the sticky "GRAND FINAL - Where are you sitting/standing?" the map shows St Kilda fans standing in M9-M12 and M14-M16 but nothing for M13 :(

Not sure where the information came from, but if it's correct then it looks like you'll have at least 1 fellow Saint in M14 with you.

Any takers for M13?? Or am I going to be surrounded by Magpies?

saintkellerm

Thanks

Thanks for everyone's help and tips and glad to see some other sainters in M15...with me. Go the mighty Saints!!!

Saggsy

My mate and I are standing in M13, I believe that whole bay will be Saints. We're both 6' plus, so won't be getting there too early. I'm sure we'll be fine with viewing. Have heard good stories about Saints fans letting the vertically challenged closer to the front.

Celtic Sainter

Saggsy wrote:My mate and I are standing in M13, I believe that whole bay will be Saints. We're both 6' plus, so won't be getting there too early. I'm sure we'll be fine with viewing. Have heard good stories about Saints fans letting the vertically challenged closer to the front.
Thank funk for that. We have 4 people in that bay, so there will be at least 6 Sainters standing at M13. It would be the best atmosphere if the whole bay was full of St Kilda supporters, so here's hoping.

We were in a standing bay of 60/40 Saints to Cats last year. It was okay, and a bit of a laugh, but would have preferred to be in a Saints-only bay.

We have an 11 year old going on Saturday, so we'll be there for the gates opening to make sure he gets a spot where he can see.

missgez

Does anyone know what it would be like trying to find a spot closer to game time?

My BF has standing room and can't get there early... obviously not expecting to be near the front but he is 6ft so may be able to see from the back... or will he have no hope?

missgez wrote: but he is 6ft so may be able to see from the back... or will he have no hope?
Att that height he should be fine....or at least ok.

missgez

missgez wrote: but he is 6ft so may be able to see from the back... or will he have no hope?
Att that height he should be fine....or at least ok.
Thank you!

We're in M3, and from memory was there last year too. And from memory there was noone checking the tickets so roaming seemed a possibility. We got there only about 30mins before bounce and space was fine. I think with OH&S nowadays you can only have so many people into one bay. It's the same at Etihad too (but without the bays). Last year at the GF for us it was mostly Saints but some cats too - atmosphere was fine - everyone was sh*tting themselves. Helps if you're tall which I am but my other half isn't so she just went near the front of the bay, which most blokes let ladies do.
Anyone else in M3? We'll aim to rock up around 45 mins before bounce.
After a few beers of course.

Born in Moorabbin

Any Sainters in M10?

Allwewantisaflag