Fighting

Fighting

Given the Saints will be sledged this year and probably get in some fights. It could me thinking which Saints players would be the best fighters.

Here is my view of the top 5. This is an outsiders view. So im sure someone has more info than me. I certainly remember that Steve powell was known for his boxing skills.

The criteria is General Brawling if a fight broke out.

1: M Gardner
2: B Goddard
3: L Hayes
4: S Baker
5: J Gwilt

You may laugh, but I think Dal will/needs to come out like an angry hellcat this year... I reckon Walsh would slot straight into the top 5 by the looks of him too!

I think it's going to be tougest for Dal this year, becoming elite won't silence anyone.

ralphsmith

Anyone think mcqualter would go ok? He's pretty stocky, has a solid core, looks like a boxer.

Also agree with goddard, has the aura of a fighter, as does Hayes.

linmarnic

Lenny for me.

Never give up

baker's the one they are scared of...mad as a cut snake....

Yup, I reckon Lenny is the one I'd least like running through me, and Bakes is the one I'd least like running at me.

lurker#134

I reckon Kosi could get mean when required.

based on video evidence; not Joey

lurker#134 wrote:I reckon Kosi could get mean when required.
certainly unpredictable. but also known for his friendly fire.

lurker#134 wrote:I reckon Kosi could get mean when required.
certainly unpredictable. but also known for his friendly fire.
He'd aim a thunderous roundhouse, do a full 360 swinging it and break his own nose before he so much as dented a wet paper bag.

"The inches we need are everywhere around us. They're in every break in the game. Every minute, every second. On this team we fight for that inch. On this team we tear ourselves and everyone around us to pieces for that inch. We claw with our fingernails for that inch. Because we know when we add up all those inches that's gonna make the f***in' difference between winning and losing! Between living and dying!'
RW&B

Lenny is a funny one. Allround nice guy and loved by everyone yet we all seem to agree he is not one to go toe to toe with.
I reckon Milney might be dangerous, would go straight for the sack-tap!

"I'm a better coach when Nick Riewoldt is in the side" - Ross Lyon 2007
saintjake

I think the skipper would go alright.
Just a big unit and you wouldnt expect it from him, but If anyone was to mess with his teammates, my god, i think he would go crazy.
also, if we could Bring fraser out of retirement, we would win any fight;)

i think Peake is fairly handy with the gloves in training .. so i hear

Walsh is an irishman so bareknuckle boxing is in his blood :)

#1GILL

In your standard footy brawl you would be wanting Roo, BJ, Gardy, Fisher, Zac and of course the flag flyer (Lenny)

In a pound-for-pound punch on, not many in the AFL would outdo Bakes.

On a side note, how good would a 10 round bout between Jake King and Baker be? Mouthwatering stuff!

#1GILL wrote:In your standard footy brawl you would be wanting Roo, BJ, Gardy, Fisher, Zac and of course the flag flyer (Lenny)

On a side note, how good would a 10 round bout between Jake King and Baker be? Mouthwatering stuff!
i reckon balyntyne and milne in a yap off ;)

st_Trav_ofWA wrote:
#1GILL wrote:In your standard footy brawl you would be wanting Roo, BJ, Gardy, Fisher, Zac and of course the flag flyer (Lenny)

i reckon balyntyne and milne in a yap off ;)
With subtitles of course :wink:

saintslegendLH

RW&B wrote:Lenny is a funny one. Allround nice guy and loved by everyone yet we all seem to agree he is not one to go toe to toe with.
haha agree with the milney comment, sneids and milney, the ultimate dirty fighting team. but also agree with lenny and i'd add kosi in with that too, had a player on my team, nicest guy and would never be violent but if one of his mates ever got touched on the field he would step straight in to protect them, i reckon thats what lenny and kosi would be like

#1GILL

saintslegendLH wrote:
RW&B wrote:Lenny is a funny one. Allround nice guy and loved by everyone yet we all seem to agree he is not one to go toe to toe with.
haha agree with the milney comment, sneids and milney, the ultimate dirty fighting team. but also agree with lenny and i'd add kosi in with that too, had a player on my team, nicest guy and would never be violent but if one of his mates ever got touched on the field he would step straight in to protect them, i reckon thats what lenny and kosi would be like
Lenny and BJ both have that ability to 'fly the flag' whenever there is an incident they don't like on the field.
If a Saints player gets cleaned up, the first to sort it out will be Lenny 9 times out of 10.

Maxstar22

Anyone got any vision of the Lenny bump on Chappy in the finals last year??

All I remember is yelling out "and stay down"....that was one serious bump.

As much as I love Bakes, I wouldn't want to meet an angry lil Bakes in the dark ally.

#1GILL

Maxstar22 wrote:Anyone got any vision of the Lenny bump on Chappy in the finals last year??

All I remember is yelling out "and stay down"....that was one serious bump.

As much as I love Bakes, I wouldn't want to meet an angry lil Bakes in the dark ally.

Off topic, but the way Lenny dives on the footy after the hit is freakish.

st_Trav_ofWA wrote:i think Peake is fairly handy with the gloves in training .. so i hear

Walsh is an irishman so bareknuckle boxing is in his blood :)

bit of racial stereotyping there mate....