Someone explain Blake's Thought Process

Sam23

Someone explain Blake's Thought Process

30 seconds left.

Takes a mark.

5 points up.

We have been chipping the ball around since the 23 minute mark.

He plays on, kicks a slow ball to Milne, Milne is out numbered.

Turns the ball over IN THE MIDDLE OF THE GROUND.

Cardinal sin turning it over in the middle of the ground. Let alone with 30 seconds left and your up by 5 points.

Surely, you take the mark.

Turn around.

Fake a cramp.

Kick it long down the line.

Game over.

Seriously, it's only one play but that is the play that cost us and hurt the most.

Just don't understand the thought process.

I'm pro Blake - but this was a monumental stuff up and cost us the game that we had won.
Last edited by Sam23 on Fri 25 Mar 2011 11:35pm, edited 1 time in total.

Goddard.

Re: Someone explain Blake's Thought Process

Sam23 wrote:I'm pro Blake - but this was a monumental stuff up.
You're not wrong.

welcome to saints footy..... :lol: :lol:

wasaintsfan

isnt the rule if theres nothing on anywhere... go to a contest on the boundry... not to a 3 on 1 in the middle of the corridor :P

He thought he suddenly could skillfully chip a pass for the first time in his career??

Oh well many s*** decisions contributed to that loss. Also the fact we couldn't get out of a jog by the early part of the last quarter.

Sam23

savatage wrote:He thought he suddenly could skillfully chip a pass for the first time in his career??

Oh well many s*** decisions contributed to that loss. Also the fact we couldn't get out of a jog by the early part of the last quarter.
Irregardless of how many mistakes we made.

We had the game won.

If Blake doesn't play on. And goes long down the line to a contest. We win the game.

Bank the 4 points and we forget about the whole debacle.

Goddard.

Question is rather, why is Blake playing so far upfield for most of this game?

He was CHF for half the game. Why?

What good does that do? Seriously, is he magically going to turn into a CHF at this in his career?

Stanley, Gilbert, Heyne, Lynch, even Walsh would have been more useful - at least getting some game time into one of 'em.

Richter wrote:Question is rather, why is Blake playing so far upfield for most of this game?

He was CHF for half the game. Why?

What good does that do? Seriously, is he magically going to turn into a CHF at this in his career?

Stanley, Gilbert, Heyne, Lynch, even Walsh would have been more useful - at least getting some game time into one of 'em.
Yeah, if he's going to have to play as a ruck/half forward, don't pick him. Love the Blake, but 187 games have shown me that he is a defender. Play Archer/Stanley/Walsh instead

Brain-fade extodinairre.

We need another genuine tall in the side. Blake isn't the answer there & this would've also allowed Mac to push forward & act as a target inside the F50.

savatage wrote:We need another genuine tall in the side. Blake isn't the answer there & this would've also allowed Mac to push forward & act as a target inside the F50.
And to think we drafted Armitage instead of Jack Riewoldt!

Which ****brain was responsible for that premiership costing decision?

One monumental stuff up after another!

The space cadet marks the ball 5 points up about a minute on the clock to go

1. Plays on

2. centres the ball

3. misses a target surrounded by opposition players

UN F***** BELIEVABLE

Three things you don't do and he does them all

Jack Riewoldt should be a St kilda player, but for some incompetent ****

I was praying we would get Jack, suppose in truth that's what we got

FAIR DINKUM

The club is run by idiots

savatage wrote:We need another genuine tall in the side. Blake isn't the answer there & this would've also allowed Mac to push forward & act as a target inside the F50.

The space cadet marks the ball 5 points up about a minute on the clock to go

1. Plays on

2. centres the ball

3. misses a target surrounded by opposition players

UN F***** BELIEVABLE

Three things you don't do and he does them all

FAIR DINKUM

Fair dinkum we had Gehrig, Roo, Kosi, Milne and Hamill. We didn't need another forward!

You could talk about good and bad draft selections all night.

dcstkfc wrote: Fair dinkum we had Gehrig, Roo, Kosi, Milne and Hamill. We didn't need another forward!
ARE YOU SERIOUS?

Gehrig was redrafted after retirement and should have stayed retired

Hamill was retired

Kosi was Kosi and still is Kosi

That leaves Riewoldt and Milne

say it again

WHO WAS THE INCOMPETENT ****BRAIN RESPONSIBLE FOR DRAFTING ARMITAGE INSTEAD OF JACK RIEWOLDT, FAIR DINKUM

Probably already cost us a premiership or two

johnc19690

Dont forget overlooked Chris Judd for Luke Ball. We 'd have 5 premierships by now if we had have picked him up...

Jack Riewoldt was considered a one-dimensional flanker who was too short for key position and too clumsy to be a medium forwad. He obviously had talent but many thought he'd never quite make it and was getting publicity because of his name. We had the ageing Gehrig and Hamill but also the young Riewoldt, Koschitzke, Watts, Murray, X Clarke, Sweeney, Raymond, Brooks and Pfitzner as forward options.

Midfielders such as Harvey (who was 'one more year' from 2003-2008), Thompson, Powell and Peckett were all approaching the end and it seems logical to get the best midfielder available.

Of course Jack has grown taller and developed into a gun key forward. Armitage has shown promise and hopefully will finally consolidate his spot this year. No point in whinging about it now.

johnc19690 wrote:Dont forget overlooked Chris Judd for Luke Ball. We 'd have 5 premierships by now if we had have picked him up...
I have not forgotten, believe me

Butters coached Judd and urged Thomas to select him but the buffoon insisted on taking Ball first

Judd and Jack Riewoldt there for the taking

not sure which idiot did not select Jack Riewoldt

obvious call

but Thomas ****up with Judd

should have listened to Butters

both should be at our club

Our forwardline is shyte, how good would Jack Riewoldt look in red white and black?

but unfortunately the club is run by idiots

mad saint guy wrote:No point in whinging about it now.
I was whinging about it then!

I'm getting real good at it by now

if only the club was not run by idiots

Westaway has to go

time for the board to do the right thing and resign enmasse

FAIR DINKUM

I guess it explains why Richmond have been such a powerhouse and we have struggled for the last few years.

Furtius Quo Rdelious

kosifantutti23 wrote:

FAIR DINKUM

I guess it explains why Richmond have been such a powerhouse and we have struggled for the last few years.
oh dear,

were you the one who drafted Armitage?

Perhaps he was spacing out or maybe he had his mind on his namesake's poetry, instead of the game?

If he does it again next week, it'll probably be because he has this poem on his mind.

Tiger, tiger, burning bright
In the forests of the night,
What immortal hand or eye
Could frame thy fearful symmetry?

In what distant deeps or skies
Burnt the fire of thine eyes?
On what wings dare he aspire?
What the hand dare seize the fire?

And what shoulder and what art
Could twist the sinews of thy heart?
And, when thy heart began to beat,
What dread hand and what dread feet?

What the hammer? What the chain?
In what furnace was thy brain?
What the anvil? What dread grasp
Dare its deadly terrors clasp?

When the stars threw down their spears,
And water'd heaven with their tears,
Did He smile His work to see?
Did He who made the lamb make thee?

Tiger, tiger, burning bright
In the forests of the night,
What immortal hand or eye
Dare frame thy fearful symmetry?

kosifantutti23 wrote:

FAIR DINKUM

oh dear,

No, I'm just one of the poor unfortunates who read your stream of drivel.

Furtius Quo Rdelious

kosifantutti23 wrote:

FAIR DINKUM

oh dear,

No, I'm just one of the poor unfortunates who read your stream of drivel.

[/quote]I guess it explains why Richmond have been such a powerhouse and we have struggled for the last few years.[/quote]

Now that is drivel unsurpassed, congratulations :wink:

Ha! Monumental...I yelled "there goes the game" as it left his foot. Never mind, it wasn't as bad as Roo's first shot at goal GF2...or his pie shop performance.

degruch wrote:Never mind, it wasn't as bad as Roo's first shot at goal GF2...or his pie shop performance.
Precisely. It was a Round 1 game. Better for these blunders to occur now and not in the more crucial stages of the season.

That certainly was a monumental stuff up by Blake, but as far as I'm concerned the thing that also cost us the game and was far more concerning is what occurred when Gilbert had the ball about 65m out, directly in front, a minute or so earlier.
He'd taken a mark, or gotten a free kick and was looking for an option and the 50 was pretty crowded, especially directly in front, but the Southern Stand pocket was virtually empty, except for Nick Dal Santo. He was just sort of wandering around there, about 35-40m out, on a 45degree angle and there was no-one near him for at least 20m in any direction and no one coming at him. Yet I don't think he even bothered to put his hand up to say to Gilbert "hey you might like to kick it to me, I'm inside 50 on my own, with no-one near me", but no, don't be silly, he didn't do that.
If we were fair dinkum about winning this game he would have been jumping around and screaming for Gilbert to kick the ball to him, but he just kind of wandered around there like he was waiting for a bus or something. I reckon it's the only time I've ever seen someone all alone in the forward 50, with the ball just 35m away, not demanding the ball. Gilbert may have even spotted him over there, but elected not to kick it to him, as Dal was showing no interest in getting the ball whatsoever. I could hardly believe my eyes.
This is the kind of negative "lets kick it long to a pack and try to save the match, rather than kick another goal and win it" kind of attitude that leads to coming second, not first.