It's settled, we play the Swans in wk 1, but where?

Essendon blew any chance they had today of overtaking us on the ladder, so we will either finish 6th and host Sydney or 7th and play in Sydney (assuming Sydney beat the Lions). Carlton can't change their position on the ladder at all. So, which team has more to play for next week?

Sydney would need to win by about 15 more goals than us to make up the percentage gap. Not impossible, but unlikely. And as in 2008, we will be "batting second."

The other twist is with Collingwood, Geelong and Carlton already securing "home" finals,
if we beat Caaarlton and secure 6th then we also secure a home final.

But four Victorian teams can't all play a final at the MCG in the same weekend.
So most likely it will be our game that gets "moved" to Docklands.

Unfortunately I suspect Coll and Geel will get the evening games, so we would be Sat arvo or Sunday at Jihad.

Enrico_Misso wrote:The other twist is with Collingwood, Geelong and Carlton already securing "home" finals,

Unfortunately I suspect Coll and Geel will get the evening games, so we would be Sat arvo or Sunday at Jihad.
We cant be Sunday and I reckon that we would play Saturday night. They like to play night games at Etihad.

If we'd rather play Carlton in the first week we only need to lose by 196 points next week to drop below the Bombers.

If Sydney loses by more than 110 points, they will drop below the bombers.

Furtius Quo Rdelious

Enrico_Misso wrote:The other twist is with Collingwood, Geelong and Carlton already securing "home" finals,

We cant be Sunday and I reckon that we would play Saturday night. They like to play night games at Etihad.
Why can't we play Sunday?

The games that are Fri and Sat night are the best rating games, ie. Geel Vs Coll and Ess Vs Carlton.

Why can't we play Sunday?

The games that are Fri and Sat night are the best rating games, ie. Geel Vs Coll and Ess Vs Carlton.
Because we will play at Etihad if we win this week.

Liam_G

saintspremiers wrote:Why can't we play Sunday?

Because the assumptions (and rightly so) are being made that if St Kilda host the final, it will be at Etihad Stadium. Ever tried to play two games at the MCG on the same day? Hence why the Etihad Stadium game (our game) will be on Saturday and NOT on Sunday. The AFL will schedule if for Saturday night if this occurs, as a night game at Etihad is less likely to be affected by weather (roof!) than a night game at the MCG. Book it in, if St Kilda win the right to host a final, it will be Saturday night at Etihad Stadium.

word from the commentators and their surmising was
If in Sydney- def ANZ and maybe daytime
If in Melbourne Etihad Sat night

there was an article just a week or so ago about suggested plans from the AFL but can't find the link yet..

Semi-related question

If we should win the first final..I assume we'll play the loser of one of the two Top 4 games

Anyone know which one?

saint66au wrote:Semi-related question

If we should win the first final..I assume we'll play the loser of one of the two Top 4 games

Anyone know which one?
Geelong or Hawks.

I'm pretty sure in the past Jihad finals games have been day games. I doubt the night/weather thing is a concern on September for the AFL.

so not looking at a trip west?

I heard then possibly Pies In Prelim?

1. Saints vs Swans must be on Sat because all 3 other games will be at the G.

2. Given that, the Sunday game will be Carlton vs Essendon, an Elimination final because if it were a Qualifying final then the loser would have a day less to prepare for the following week than the lower finished team on the ladder (winner of EF).

3. Given Carlton vs Ess on Sunday, the QF on Sat will be Collingwood vs West Coast because the loser plays the winner of C vs E and won't be allowed two extra days rest. The next week's QF will be on Sat night/early evening 17th Sept (likely West Coast vs Carlton at Subi) followed by the winners of that clash playing in the PF against the winner of Hawks/Cats on Sat 24th Sept.

4. Hence Fri 9th Sept QF will be Hawks vs Cats. (Loser faces Saints (once we beat Swans in EF) on Fri 16th Sept at the G - then we will play pies in PF on Fri 23rd.

------------

The question for the AFL is whether or not to schedule Saints vs Swans in the arvo - better for night time prime time tv numbers to have pies/WCE at night OR to have Etihad game at night - roof games preferred at night.

I reckon they'll have the pies game at night either way given the much better tv ratings they'll get for it over the Saints vs Swans.

I heard then possibly Pies In Prelim?
Or the Eagles in Perth.

Furtius Quo Rdelious
linz

It really isn't impossible.
All we have to do is win the next 5 games or the last 4 in reality to win a flag.

It seems every other side in the 8 is worried about internal politics (filth), form drop-off (cats), injuries (hawks), back line worries (carlton), tyranny of distance (weagles).

A good each way bet may just be the Saints or the Swans at attractive odds.

BOTH good honest injury free sides peaking at the same time.

I once spent a year in Adelaide, I think it was on a Sunday.

surely enough of sydney will tune in to a night game at etihad?
my guess is that if we host, or a sat arvo if sydney host.

Banger724

I reckon we'll be the Saturday night regardless of whether its in Melb or Syd on the presumption that Coll-WCE will be Sat arvo to enable WCE to fly back home that evening to receive a full & true 7 days break in the liklihood that they lose to Pies.

saintbrat wrote:If in Sydney- def ANZ and maybe daytime
If in Melbourne Etihad Sat night
Insert conspiracy theory here; the AFL and Mike won't want to miss out on the Sydney crowds, and publicity ahead of the 2012 season. I'm predicting Carlton win the free kicks 30-10, with 7 goals (including the winning kick after the siren) coming from dodgy 50m penalties to Carlton. Goodes will also snipe everyone within reach in their F50 and escape penalty.

Our destiny is in our hands.

If we beat Carlton we play our first final at etihad against the swans.

Win for us IMO.

and when they come to melbourne, we poison their tucker!

Hawkesbury Saint

I wonder if it really matters where.

After Saturday they will think they can take us down anywhere. After Saturday night we reckon we can take them down anywhere.

The trouble is they played Geelong at Skilled, and we played North at Etihad.

Time will soon tell who is right.

Saints Footy - Let all others follow.

Hawkesbury Saint wrote:I wonder if it really matters where.

After Saturday they will think they can take us down anywhere. After Saturday night we reckon we can take them down anywhere.

The trouble is they played Geelong at Skilled, and we played North at Etihad.

Time will soon tell who is right.
a win at skilled against the cat is a walk in the park compared to facing the saints saturday night at etihad!

Hawkesbury Saint

I love your confidence Desert Saint. Where you from? I spent five years in Palmerston myself. Love the Top End. :D

Saints Footy - Let all others follow.

Hawkesbury Saint wrote:I love your confidence Desert Saint. Where you from? I spent five years in Palmerston myself. Love the Top End. :D
gotta have confidence or we'd have given up in the 80s :wink:

fair bit further south of the berrimah line - in the green alice (altho she's getting a bit dry and dusty again). love the top end too - but prefer our cold winter nights just so i can wear tracky pants and ugg boots occassionally. :wink:

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/s ... 1jie0.html
AFL executive Gillon McLachlan said he was awaiting a response from the stadium that was contracted to give the rugby league fixture first preference, but also had a contract to host, where possible, all AFL Sydney finals.

While the AFL has denied any preference to schedule a Sydney home final at the SCG, football operations boss Adrian Anderson last night conceded the Homebush surface was "not perfect''.

"I've asked (ground operations manager) Sandra Thomas to liase with ANZ to do everything within their power to ensure the ground is in good condition," Anderson said.

"While the standard last weekend was within the acceptable playing standard it's not perfect." Anderson then added: "I'm not even sure if it's going to be available."

Despite its contracted responsibility to fixture finals at ANZ, the AFL still holds the right to dictate finals scheduling, which means that should the September elimination game be fixtured on a Friday night up against an NRL game, the AFL would have the right to switch the final to the SCG.

The prevailing view is that the AFL's preference would be to schedule the game on Friday night or Saturday at the SCG in a deliberate clash with an NRL game at ANZ, given the state of the Homebush surface, which had been further scarred when the Swans met the Saints in round-22 due to temporary structures being placed on the boundary lines overlapping onto the wings.

all easily solved Adrian
Saints Win this coming week and games in Melbourne.