What Ross Gives /Demands - article

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/r ... 6136196066
He is also man enough to admit to his mistakes at match committee.

When the Saints replaced gastro victims Justin Koschitzke and Zac Dawson with Tom Lynch and Steven Baker in Round 22 in Sydney, he was clearly filthy the coaching panel had not got the mix right.

Again on Saturday night he blamed himself and the match committee for failing to curtail the Swans' prime movers.

Under Lyon, St Kilda piles meetings up on meetings to perfect a game plan that players admit is hard to adhere to.

But the trust between Lyon and his players is unbreakable.

Most AFL players are prepared to let off steam about their coach's weaknesses in a private setting.

You will not hear one bad word about Lyon from his senior players because he trusts them, and they trust him. That word - trust - is vital because he has told his players he is in for the long haul.
Last edited by saintbrat on Wed 14 Sep 2011 12:26am, edited 1 time in total.

StGoddard18

In Ross We Trust :)

Skildir

ROSS THE BOSS!

Doesn't say he will stay...

Love how demanding he is. Love it!

That makes sense as I've heard the younger players are s#*t scared of him

And he is man enough to admit he makes poor decisions......even though flogs on here find that hard to fathom....

He is a football mastermind......who gets a lot more right than wrong...

StSteven

If I had ever Made a mistake I would have admitted it....! ;-)

BigMart wrote:And he is man enough to admit he makes poor decisions......even though flogs on here find that hard to fathom....

He is a football mastermind......who gets a lot more right than wrong...
You could take some lessons from him admitting being wrong.

But wait, you are in possession of your own facts aren't you?

And you have the temerity to call others flogs.

Wow - lack of self awareness or what????????

There comes a point in every man's life when he has to say, "Enough is enough." For me, that time is now. I have been dealing with claims that I cheated and had an unfair advantage in <redacted>. Over the past three years, I have been subjected to a <redacted>investigation followed by <redacted> witch hunt. The toll this has taken on my family, and my work for <redacted>and on me leads me to where I am today – finished with this nonsense. (Oops just got a spontaneous errection <unredacted>)

Robbo penned an article titled. Saints confident Lyon won't Dee-part. Or something like that.

Stats that RL told players won't be leaving.

Spinner wrote:Robbo penned an article titled. Saints confident Lyon won't Dee-part. Or something like that.

Stats that RL told players won't be leaving.
http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/s ... 6136200545

the players all last week were saying that- but no media wanted to believe them

And you never admit when im right..... And exacly how often do you make those admissions....cold day in hell i reckon before that happens

Pot, kettle, black.....mirror boy

And your one of those flogs...... Amongst other things...

All articles about Ross staying next year

http://www.theaustralian.com.au/news/sp ... 6136198735

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/b ... 1k7w5.html

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/l ... 1k7w8.html

Mostly about Ross, but this little grab at the end...

The Saints retired or delisted four players at the weekend as they began to recraft their list.

It is understood that they have a tight salary cap which is going to complicate that process of rebuilding the list and will make it difficult to hold all players.

Farren Ray, Ryan Gamble, Brett Peake and Dean Polo are all yet to re-sign.

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/a ... 6136199080

This one is quite funny, Adelaide is really a bit behind :wink:

hmm so is he signing a new contract or just completing the current one. will we be revisiting this topic in 12months?

noreason41

ST KILDA and coach Ross Lyon are to remain together for at least another season although negotiations over a contract extension, which seem certain to be framed by an increasingly difficult financial environment at the club, have been put off indefinitely

The Saints, poised to lose more than $1.5 million on the season, are also expected to lose two significant sponsors in the next six weeks, with Jeld-Wen and St George Bank poised to end their six-figure deals with the club.
REALLY???

Contract discussions on hold?

Pwoit

Griggsy wrote:hmm so is he signing a new contract or just completing the current one. will we be revisiting this topic in 12months?
If we won a flag next year I couldn't give a rats toss bag.

Great news that he doesn't have a new contract but will stay.

This is perfect!

We can't afford to throw around big bucks at the moment.

Clearly Ross loves the Saints and is hopeful of some good money in a new deal.

He must be confident about working with Pelchen's calls also.

Let's hope we see a better forward line next year and a bit more exciting footy!

Seaford_Saint

Something in my gut tells me that Ross has been working on a new game plan and whilst we didn't see much of that during the season look out in 2012.

I don't know why but this year had some rumblings of 08 and remember how 09 went.

And for what it's worth I think Ross has shown the players he is committed to the team and that filters down and brings them all together, considering all the off field drama of the last 18 months ( most not the fault of any players ) you have to say they have all stuck fat.

Bring on season 12'

Mrs Seaford_Saint

Failure cannot succeed in the face of persistence......
Moorabbin Man

StGoddard18 wrote:In Ross We Trust :)
HERE HERE

The commitment from Ross takes the heat off things and enables he, his management and the Club, to commence negotiations on what comes after next year. This will take some time to complete.

I think that Ross will naturally want to see commitment from the Club on increased Football Department support/spending and potential staffing issues. Also, his tenure (a 2 or 3 year extension), and other conditions, such as KPI's. The Club is known to be tight financially, which does not put it in a great negotiating position.

One step at a time now, rather than panic decisions - at least Ross is on board for next year.