Some wanted BJ as captain

Spat the dummy again tonight....

prob will be suspended.........

throws the toys out the cot type....

lacked leadership and gets frustrated too easily......

dissapointing thought he was a little better than that.

Re: Some wanted BJ as captain

What did he do? Who did he hit? !!

Better than Nick apparently.....

Maybe we should give it to a 32yo, perhaps to treacle slow ineffective 23yo ruckmen???

Here's a thought, leave it where it is for now...

Yep.

Absolutely do.

ralphsmith

He throated some north player, that north player looked like he was choking , coud have been really bad.
Goddard will definitely be suspended for that.

iT was disgraceful from him and he deserves to sit on sidelines for a couple.

What is dead may never die, but rises again harder and stronger.

Never was and never will be captain material. Still want to keep him badly though

After watching him tonight I get the feeling that he is just biding time till he leaves. Sad as it sounds but just doesn't seem to be putting in the 100% in matches.

I admit, I was wrong.

He kicks those goals, and it would of been a good game.

andrewg

I was wrong also BJ is overrated and not at all a leader, rooeys body language and yelling at his own team mates isn't any better though. Lenny is my choice every day of the week.

SainterK wrote:Yep.

Absolutely do.

Still?

Surely not.

wallbanger

Lenny by a country mile.

People can want all they like. BJ won't ever be the captain in my opinion - is too focussed on himself, shows poor leadership and I know that his attitude around the club to the younger players is not what would be expected of a leader or captain.

Please...let's win a Premiership before GEELONG!!!! (O.k., so we've missed that opportunity...maybe let's win the next one before Geelong????)
Mrs_Seaford_Saint

wallbanger wrote:Lenny by a country mile.

People can want all they like. BJ won't ever be the captain in my opinion - is too focussed on himself, shows poor leadership and I know that his attitude around the club to the younger players is not what would be expected of a leader or captain.

- I once heard someone say " In order to lead you need to learn how to follow" - BJ is far too self obsessed to help lead the next young bunch - personally I felt last night his dummy spits and rants were a disgrace he seems to think his s*** doesn't stink - sorry BJ you're not that good!

Absolutely do.

Still?

Surely not.
Yep.

Would probably help his temper, and we'd get even more out of him.

Absolutely do.

Still?

Surely not.
Yep.

Confusing.

Captaincy isnt given to help a player. Its a label that that player can help others.

SainterK wrote:He kicks those goals, and it would of been a good game.
Would have penciled them in 2 years ago K. He's not the same player any more. I think he's lost all confidence and is down on himself. He is always hard on his team mates, but even harder on himself. Just needs a break out game. I know that sounds silly as he is a seasoned professional, but he's too good a player to be putting in performances like yesterday. There has been too many like that in the past 2 seasons. Hope he signs soon and gets some of the pressure taken off himself. He doesn't look like he is enjoying his footy ATM.

He's a gun, and will come good. Hopefully it's with us.

Let's get 2 draft picks for him

Let's get 2 draft picks for him.
Start the rebuild now

chook23 wrote:Spat the dummy again tonight....

IF you were GWS is that what youd really want surrounded by kids and losing each week? hed belt a team mate up there.....think hes off to a melb club on rise IMO.

See I completely disagree.

Nick was not captain material before he got the gig.

66 Saints

chook23 wrote:Spat the dummy again tonight....

From the Matthew Lloyd school of captaincy?

i think gwilt will be our next captain

Yep.

Confusing.

Captaincy isnt given to help a player. Its a label that that player can help others.
[/quote]

Agreed, to give someone a leadership role in hope that they'll grow up is wishful thinking and bad management.

Leaders should be selected on the basis that they've shown they can be a leader.

That being said, the captain seems to be selected by the players these days.

TJMcCarthy

Captain reappointment? Huh? We do not need to speculate. Mighty Saint Nick is perfect. We are so lucky to have NR. He's so good he puts the issue way off into the future. Don't even need to think about it. Roo can skipper til retirement as far as I'm concerned.

Strength Through Unity - CAR'N THE SAINTS!
felix

The robbo from afl 360 says he was talking to silvagni from GWS whom said Goddard ain't going anywhere he's staying at the Saints ....that was last night ...?? Just maybe the saints are playing hardball with Brendan , seeing what they can get for him he may be feeling a bit put out hence the form drop off ...!