Who do we want in the draft?

This is a very deep draft and by the look of it there are some really good players already drifting out.

I'm really excited about potentially picking up some KPPs and Jaksche and Stringer are the 2 i like for our first pick but Tom Lee or similar wouldn't hurt either.

second round Calquhoun or Rodda

Here is Knightmares from bigfooty with a list that goes a bit different from most punters based on his rating of talent. He's got Hrovat who is top 5 in some peoples right down there in the 30s

*Reserved for power rankings, mini draft 2011+2012 and zone selections.

Power rankings 2012 (This represents where I rate players in this draft rather than where I expect them to land):
------------------Potential A-Graders--------------------
(Don’t be surprised if O’Meara and Whitfield don’t all things said and done develop into the best of this group. More even than advertised)
1. Joe Daniher (Ess – F/S)
2. Jaeger O’Meara (GC – 17 Y/O)
3. Lachlan Whitfield
4. Brad Crouch (Adel – 17 Y/O)
5. Jackson Macrae
6. Brodie Grundy
7. Jack Viney (Melb – F/S)
8. Jimmy Toumpas
9. Oliver Wines
10. Lachlan Plowman
11. Jake Stringer
12. Nick Vlastuin
13. Jonothan O’Rourke
14. Sam Mayes
15. Dayle Garlett
------------------Potentially high level AFL players--------------------
16. Tim Membrey
17. Jed Anderson (GWS – likely NT Zone)
18. Taylor Garner
19. Kristian Jaksch
20. Tom Clurey
21.Mason Shaw
22. Jesse Lonergan
23. Lachie Hunter (WBD - F/S)
24. Adam Carter
25. Troy Menzel
----------------Potential AFL Quality-----------------
26. Nick Graham
27. Tom Langdon
28. Jacob Ballard
29. James Stewart (Coll – F/S)
30. Jason Pongracic
31. Rory Atkins
32. Ben Kennedy
33. Brodie Murdoch
34. Harley Montgomery
35. Nathan Hrovat
36. Patrick Wilson
37. Cameron Banfield
38. Matthew McDonough
39. Tom Lee
40. Tim Broomhead
41. Mason Wood
42. Dean Towers
43. Leigh Osborne
44. Paul Marschall
45. Liam McBean
46. Tanner Smith
47. Josh Simpson
48. Kyle Martin
49. Sam Colquhoun
50. Shannon Taylor
51. Tom Temay
52. Craig Moller (Freo – NSW/ACT)
53. Marco Paparone
54. Sam Lowrie
55. Cameron Symonds
56. Sean Lynch
57. Nathan Wright
58. Matthew Haynes
59. Harry Marsh
60. Louis Herbert

#1GILL

Re: Who do we want in the draft?

Just to clarify for those who are unaware, that list is NOT how he thinks they'll be drafted. Rather it is how good he thinks they'll end up.

His actual Phantom Draft is quite different to his Power Rankings.

Personally, I really like Nick Graham and I hope he slides to our 2nd rounder

#1GILL wrote:Just to clarify for those who are unaware, that list is NOT how he thinks they'll be drafted. Rather it is how good he thinks they'll end up.

he looks like a 17 year old Grammy and comes from Gippsland though.

#1GILL

#1GILL wrote:Just to clarify for those who are unaware, that list is NOT how he thinks they'll be drafted. Rather it is how good he thinks they'll end up.

he looks like a 17 year old Grammy and comes from Gippsland though.
Haha definitely does look like him with that hair do. He's a lot tougher than Gram though. His TAC Cup GF was outstanding I thought. His spread from the contest really stood out, he was linking up really well. Not only this but he's a manic tackler and he wins clearances. He also kicked a few (3 maybe, not sure) sausages. It was an outstanding game from him.

#1GILL

Knighta's description of Graham:

#31 Richmond- Nicholas Graham (VIC – Util)
Height: 182cm, Weight: 76kg, DOB: 12/06/1994
Recruited from: Gippsland Power
Style:
Player comparison:
Range: 20-50
Profile: Have been impressed with his game. Graham has above average pace but what really stands out is his ability to attack the ball and I really like his tackling game and his tackling energy has been a real highlight with the pressure he provides. Marking ability also solid for a player of his size. Uses it well by both hand and foot. Decision making ability good. Also an above average stoppage player and has a really natural inside awareness as well as the ability to read ruck taps.

I think stringer as our Roo replacement would be a fantastic prospect. If not available then best mid, hope we get a slider as good as Macrae... I don't really know much about this group but I don't want Garlett...

Sick Nal Danto

Stringer is a bit short to be CHF

Is more of a Jack Darling size

Was in the best groups in both the set shot kicking and field kicking test at the draft combine

This may have risen his stocks a bit, but he may still be too risky for a top 10 pick

I reckon clubs will avoid Stringer and Menzel cos of their injury concerns however both have potential to be the best of the lot. If we miss out on Caddy I'd like to see us take a punt on one of them, preferably Stringer cos he addresses our needs more.

The other player I like is Mayes cos of his elite skills. I could see him in the Pelican's sights.

I'll let you know who we should pick.....

........in 2 years time :P

Sick Nal Danto wrote:Stringer is a bit short to be CHF

Was in the best groups in both the set shot kicking and field kicking test at the draft combine

This may have risen his stocks a bit, but he may still be too risky for a top 10 pick
Stringer was the best of the lot prior to breaking his leg and would likely have gone no. 1 this year. The talk was that Geelong were going to pick him in the mini draft up until his injury.

Stringer has fantastic endurance for a big guy, I see him being more of a large midfielder like Watson and Kennedy however he has the ability to take a contested mark and play forward. He's been compared to Pavlich.

You're right though, cos of his injury and his so-so year in 2012 I could see him sliding out of the top 10.

Old Mate wrote:I reckon clubs will avoid Stringer and Menzel cos of their injury concerns however both have potential to be the best of the lot. If we miss out on Caddy I'd like to see us take a punt on one of them, preferably Stringer cos he addresses our needs more.

The other player I like is Mayes cos of his elite skills. I could see him in the Pelican's sights.
Strewth OM, that's twice in one morning I'm in furious agreement with you. Stringer and Mayes would be ideal for us. Forget about Stringer's injury concerns. He has made a strong recovery and will only improve further. Versatile and has been compared to the young Pavlich. Mayes is another one who suits our purposes. Quick, skilful and a good size already. Both may be gone by our first pick, but I hope not. I'd prefer either of them to Caddy, TBH. (BTW I'm not stalking you, nor am I infatuated. Just happen to agree with a number of your posts)

Stringer - no question

Sick Nal Danto wrote:Stringer is a bit short to be CHF

he is jack Darling sized but i saw Fev at the show the other day and always thought he was tall- I'm 6'2" and thought he'd be roo sized but looks maybe my height or just taller. His height as a elite FF was never an issue. Stringer looks like your Jack Riewoldt type classic goal kicking forward that could possibly have some Pav qualities but looks to me like that guy at a country footyclub that just dominates from the forward line.

evo

Tom Lee. Would be a good second round pick if he lasts that long.
http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/ ... fault.aspx

For first pick, Stringer or one of the better mids if he is gone. Plowman sounds good, but at 191cm seems a bit short for us at fullback, although our best ever fullback, Verdon Howell, was only about 178/180cm, and so was our best CHF, Doc Darrell.

Later on in the draft I would like to see us pick up Darcy Fort, a 203cm ruckman who looks likely, and maybe Dom Barry from N.T. or Brian Coleman-Broom from Qld for a bit of pace.

gringo wrote:40. Tim Broomhead
:lol: :lol: :lol:

Sainternist wrote:

he can play a bit the broomhead.

Stringer will go top 5 now. Has tested very well & comparisons with Pavlich & Darling will scare clubs into taking him early.

The good news is one of the highly regarded mids will now drop.

Animal Enclosure wrote:Stringer will go top 5 now. Has tested very well & comparisons with Pavlich & Darling will scare clubs into taking him early.

The good news is one of the highly regarded mids will now drop.

Hopefully Ollie Wines, Vastuin, Mc Rae or Garlett all are real potential guns. The TAC futurestars fantasy draft had us into Mc Rae and we apparently have ben keen on Mayes.

Sainternist wrote:

he can play a bit the broomhead.
No doubt.

I would have a good chuckle if we ended up picking him.

Also, a shame Sydney isn't disputing F/S rights over Joe Daniher. After all, his old man did start his career at the Swans.

Seems Essenscum are all the good deals this off-season :twisted:

Sainternist wrote:
gringo wrote:he can play a bit the broomhead.
No doubt.

Does he play a bit of a sweeper role across back? :P

|Andy|

Sainternist wrote:Also, a shame Sydney isn't disputing F/S rights over Joe Daniher. After all, his old man did start his career at the Swans.

Seems Essenscum are all the good deals this off-season :twisted:
I believe Joe Daniher was the one who chose who to accept for the F/S pick, and he chose Essendon because they've "looked after" not only his father but many of his other family members.

We should take the ones that turn into good quality AFL players and leave the ones who were the best at U 18 level but who won't cut it at AFL level to
the rest of the comp....especially the filth and the bummers....

Sainternist wrote:
gringo wrote:he can play a bit the broomhead.
No doubt.

Does he play a bit of a sweeper role across back? :P

He's pretty good he might clean up a few awards in his career.