Kosi.

Location: Kicked out of the Coffee Shop, Settlement Pub, Cranbourne

Kosi.

Before the Game.

Going to speak to people about playing on next year....... but basically he's cooked!

Wonderful interview.

Australia...... Live it like we stole it....... Because we did.

Re: Kosi.

Did not see the show but surely can not be serious about going on in 2014.

The club would have to delist him

Location: Kicked out of the Coffee Shop, Settlement Pub, Cranbourne

I should have put that second line in inverted commas. :wink:

Australia...... Live it like we stole it....... Because we did.

You know what...if the list condition is such that his spot doesn't necessarily rob a spot for a genuine new player-prospect and he is fit enough to play a similar role as he did this season which was obviously a backup type, and he can also help out with player development, then why not. As has been discussed before he apparently is very good at mentoring the younger blokes and has some smarts when it comes to how forward lines should work. IMO Kosi's value goes way beyond his output on the field.

Before The Game‏@beforethegame

Quote of the year from @JustinKosi23: "yeah, I'm probably cooked!" Let's get him to 200!

Justin Koschitzke @JustinKosi23 sums up @BrendonGoddard9's post game tears: "He's just realised he's lost all his mates."

Quote of the year from @JustinKosi23: "yeah, I'm probably cooked!" Let's get him to 200!

Justin Koschitzke @JustinKosi23 sums up @BrendonGoddard9's post game tears: "He's just realised he's lost all his mates."
What game was BJ's comments in reference to?

they showed Bj's tears after playing us early in the year...
after showing vision of Ball playing on BJ the other week and asking how Kos felt- " as I also heard Joey say the other week' They chose to leave their mates' they then showed the BJ tears and then Kos responded.

Raph Clarke‏@raphc8
@StevenMotlop32 @beforethegame @justinkosi23 most honest bloke going around big mud dog #gethimto200

Retweeted by Alicia Koschitzke

Refreshingly honest until the end.

I'll morph myself into a bowling ball and hit packs for him in his last game if I have to.

To borrow a line #whateverittakes ;)

Have been pretty critical of a rose coloured glasses view of Kosi taken by plenty on here over the years, but agree that he deserves to play one more game before season's end. Doesn't 200 games give a bloke life membership of the AFL? And given we're 3 - 16 and quite likely to finish on 3 - 19, I can't see a reason to not honour his contribution with a 200th game. Unless of course he's injured and physically can't do it.

st.byron wrote:Have been pretty critical of a rose coloured glasses view of Kosi taken by plenty on here over the years, but agree that he deserves to play one more game before season's end. Doesn't 200 games give a bloke life membership of the AFL? And given we're 3 - 16 and quite likely to finish on 3 - 19, I can't see a reason to not honour his contribution with a 200th game. Unless of course he's injured and physically can't do it.
AFL Life Membership

AFL Life Membership is extended to players who have played 300 senior games overall with the league, including pre-season games, state representative games, and International rules games counted. Coaches and umpires are also extended AFL Life Membership for involvement in 300 or more games
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_VF ... _300_games

I can't see Kosi clogging the list next year, there comes a time for all Saints players to move on and Kosi's time has arrived.

I'm sure he has had a career that has added value to the team more often than not.

http://www.couriermail.com.au/sport/afl ... 6694551230
Even at the peak of the Saints powers under Ross Lyon in 2008-10, Koschitzke, 30, said he didn’t enjoy competing at the top level.

Watters, talking to SEN the day after his side's 46-point loss to Hawthorn, said he was "sad" to hear the veteran's thoughts on football but believed the pressure of being a high draft pick had worn down the Saint.

"It was sad to hear and I have had those conversations with Kosi," Watters said on SEN on Saturday.

"He's worn the pressure of being a No.2 draft pick for many, many years and obviously his form has gone up and down over a long, long time and pressure can take its toll."

In a claim that will raise fears about players’ mental wellbeing, Koschitzke spoke of the growing demands on players in today's game.

“I can’t remember the last time I ran out and enjoyed playing a game of footy,” Koschitzke said on Triple M on Friday night.

“It’s just the effort that it takes to prepare. The two hours that you see out there is two per cent of what goes on in the footy life.
apart from the physical stresses Kos has had

Maybe the ' defensive pressure' game were also a factor in cruelling his career.. as mental stresses can be linked to physical stresses..

Actually feel that Kosi can be part of our next generation of coaches and mentors. Not from a skilled point of view, but a player-welfare perspective.

He probably needs a few years up in the bush to relax, enjoy and contemplate, but I'd like to see him come back after that and work with players who are struggling to achieve a work-life balance. Footy is a spectacular but painful industry.

When he gets some time away, I reckon Kosi will be able to frame his career in perspective and speak to the younger players about managing expectation, getting the best from yourself and picking yourself up when times are tough. I think he'll have learned a full gamut of emotions and experiences to dwell on - and learn from.

But he genuinely loves the Saints. That is something that's really important. He will give a lot to this club in the future, above and beyond his playing days.

Granted, he hasn't met expectations in recent years, but that's life.

Let's get him to 200 games, give him the farewell he deserves, and then welcome into the fold when he's looking to continue his next stage of football evolution. I think he'll bring some unique skill-sets.

Well said evertonfc :)

I think they should let the poor bugger rack up his 200th. I felt a little sorry for him up in the stands watching the boys get pummeled. Wouldn't have made any difference if he had. We'd have been playing for a milestone, rather than a bit of pride. There have been times Kosi really set the standard, but consistency was always an issue.

St. Luke wrote:I think they should let the poor bugger rack up his 200th. I felt a little sorry for him up in the stands watching the boys get pummeled. Wouldn't have made any difference if he had. We'd have been playing for a milestone, rather than a bit of pride. There have been times Kosi really set the standard, but consistency was always an issue.

as he said himself though- he has only rejoined the main squad for training this week after the quad injury..

has to atleast be able to move..

St. Luke wrote:I think they should let the poor bugger rack up his 200th. I felt a little sorry for him up in the stands watching the boys get pummeled. Wouldn't have made any difference if he had. We'd have been playing for a milestone, rather than a bit of pride. There have been times Kosi really set the standard, but consistency was always an issue.

as he said himself though- he has only rejoined the main squad for training this week after the quad injury..

has to atleast be able to move..
I thought he had a calf injury, did he have a calf and quad ailment...

Lot of time for Kosi - I too like his honesty and down to earth approach.

Sure, never reached the heights of those expectations but has been a good contributor.

Love his honesty.
He hasn't enjoyed the game for ten years, which was evident to anyone who's ever seen him train.
If he was fair dinkum he should have quit five years ago at least.

Fail to see how he would a good role model and mentor to kids coming up.

Cairnsman wrote:You know what...if the list condition is such that his spot doesn't necessarily rob a spot for a genuine new player-prospect and he is fit enough to play a similar role as he did this season which was obviously a backup type, and he can also help out with player development, then why not. As has been discussed before he apparently is very good at mentoring the younger blokes and has some smarts when it comes to how forward lines should work. IMO Kosi's value goes way beyond his output on the field.

I don't mean to be rude but are you taking the p!ss?

Cairnsman wrote:You know what...if the list condition is such that his spot doesn't necessarily rob a spot for a genuine new player-prospect and he is fit enough to play a similar role as he did this season which was obviously a backup type, and he can also help out with player development, then why not. As has been discussed before he apparently is very good at mentoring the younger blokes and has some smarts when it comes to how forward lines should work. IMO Kosi's value goes way beyond his output on the field.

I don't mean to be rude but are you taking the p!ss?
he has ben here awhile, he has learnt from experts, and yes, I think he is taking the yellow river

Teflon wrote:Lot of time for Kosi - I too like his honesty and down to earth approach.

Sure, never reached the heights of those expectations but has been a good contributor.
I think he did at stages...just the head clashes he took really took a toll... i feel he was robbed in a way... <Edited by MODS> hiit luck with bad. injury.. still remember when he fainted in that interview bloody shocking.. got a lot of love for the Kos manu

hes a country kid has always been one and I think spending some time away from AFL glare will be good for Kosi and as someone else sais it will help him frame his career which when he looks back it should be with pride..........Id kill to say I played 200 games at St Kilda, wore 23 famously handed to me by Loewe (never forget that night and those times.....we were "up and coming side" then...)

I do also think having Kosi at times benefited Riewoldt enormously and people forget that...

ShanghaiSaint wrote:
Teflon wrote:Lot of time for Kosi - I too like his honesty and down to earth approach.

I think he did at stages...just the head clashes he took really took a toll... i feel he was robbed in a way... shiit luck with bad. injury.. still remember when he fainted in that interview bloody shocking.. got a lot of love for the Kos man
I'm a bit torn here.
Huge fan of GT Kosi and Luke Ball.
Many posters on here suggest careers of Ball & Kosi were damaged by misuse(playing injured) during GT's watch.
Don't really know the truth, but would give my left and right for another 2004-2005!