Saints members shafted: replacement home game at G

Round 22 at MCG is our replacement home game for NZ.

Members won't be happy.

The Carlton game at Etihad would've been better

Re: Saints members shafted: replacement home game at G

Seems like a terrific replacement game to me.

Stuff them.

Can't complain about not being financially strong, fixturing and all and decide not to attend one of the best stadiums in the world.

Spinner wrote:Stuff them.

Can't complain about not being financially strong, fixturing and all and decide not to attend one of the best stadiums in the world.
Saints members and fans hate the G, except if it's a finals game when they suddenly all appear there.

Good rehearsal for the QF a fortnight later

stevie wrote:Good rehearsal for the QF a fortnight later
Well that's a welcome change from people hoping we'll get another top 3 pick next year. :D

kosifantutti wrote:
Well that's a welcome change from people hoping we'll get another top 3 pick next year. :D

I was hoping top 2!

kosifantutti wrote:

I was hoping top 2!
If we are hosting a Qualifying final, we are top two.

Is that what you meant?

saintspremiers wrote:Round 22 at MCG is our replacement home game for NZ.

Members won't be happy.

Very good game to get unless to are looking for bad.

saintspremiers wrote:Round 22 at MCG is our replacement home game for NZ.

Members won't be happy.

We need more games at the G, not less.

Yeah aren't we financially better off playing at the G?

Best ground in the world, why wouldn't we want to play there?

Cairnsman wrote:Yeah aren't we financially better off playing at the G?

Got nothing to do with that.

This is an away game wet ate talking about as compo game to make it up to 11 that members pay for.

Yep we dont make money but we at least get our fans hopefully to go to the ground. Its late in the season wo the weather should be ok. You need to stop finding fault with our club, the AFL and just about everything else.

Just looking for improvement. Saints fans need every incentive they can get.

I'm not a she'll be right person. Always looking for change and doing things better.

To be honest, I'm much more disappointed that it's a Sunday twilight game, than where it is. Hate those games, really enjoy settling in at home on a Sunday arvo before getting back to the real world come Monday.

I love seeing the Saints play at the 'G - we generally only play big games there, either finals, or H&A vs big opponents, so theres an extra sense of occasion when we roll up there.

On another note, where's our replacement game for the joke that is Monday night football. Dont mind the once-a-year concept, but stop making it a Saints home game every year. I will never go on a Monday night (becomes a really late night once you factor in getting away from Etihad, public transport etc.) so I feel for the last few years I've paid for a 10 game membership anyway....

St Chris wrote:To be honest, I'm much more disappointed that it's a Sunday twilight game, than where it is. Hate those games, really enjoy settling in at home on a Sunday arvo before getting back to the real world come Monday.

I love seeing the Saints play at the 'G - we generally only play big games there, either finals, or H&A vs big opponents, so theres an extra sense of occasion when we roll up there.

On another note, where's our replacement game for the joke that is Monday night football. Dont mind the once-a-year concept, but stop making it a Saints home game every year. I will never go on a Monday night (becomes a really late night once you factor in getting away from Etihad, public transport etc.) so I feel for the last few years I've paid for a 10 game membership anyway....
Although I am with you St Chris, Sunday twilight does not suit me one bit…

I think we need to keep an eye on the bigger picture…

• The club will make loads of money form the NZ venture, so I think we are fortunate to have a replacement game at all…

• The players will benefit from more MCG game experience, and the end of August should be decent weather for fans

• Monday night footy we are pioneering, we currently own the concept and usually get prime time TV coverage

St Chris wrote:To be honest, I'm much more disappointed that it's a Sunday twilight game, than where it is. Hate those games, really enjoy settling in at home on a Sunday arvo before getting back to the real world come Monday.

The Monday night game is away this year. It alternates each year. Really, for these locked in games revenue should be split each year ala the Anzac Day clash.

saintspremiers wrote: The Monday night game is away this year.
It's listed as our home game, same as the last couple.

OK - I've read the whole thread and still fail to see how Saitns fans are "shafted".

Fair Dinkum what a load of BS

There comes a point in every man's life when he has to say, "Enough is enough." For me, that time is now. I have been dealing with claims that I cheated and had an unfair advantage in <redacted>. Over the past three years, I have been subjected to a <redacted>investigation followed by <redacted> witch hunt. The toll this has taken on my family, and my work for <redacted>and on me leads me to where I am today – finished with this nonsense. (Oops just got a spontaneous errection <unredacted>)

damn

instead of not driving over to the dome i'll have to swap it for not driving over to the MCG

saintspremiers wrote: The Monday night game is away this year.
It's listed as our home game, same as the last couple.
whoops. July game is away vs Carlton, sorry.

That should be our replacement match IMO, which would better suit our fans as it's a Etihad. Fact.

matrix wrote:damn

instead of not driving over to the dome i'll have to swap it for not driving over to the MCG
You should not fly over instead… won't cost you any more.

joffaboy wrote:OK - I've read the whole thread and still fail to see how Saitns fans are "shafted".

Fair Dinkum what a load of BS
agree

One of the best stadiums in the world - arguably the best.
Tiger army out in force ( I much prefer tiger crowds than blues crowds)
5 minute walk to train
10 minute walk to dozens of quality pubs

Seriously what is there not to like?

Cracker of a match. Doesnt get any better. The only thing better is a final at the G.

I know humans love their routines - but ya gotta live a little!

Con Gorozidis wrote:One of the best stadiums in the world - arguably the best.
Tiger army out in force ( I much prefer tiger crowds than blues crowds)
5 minute walk to train
10 minute walk to dozens of quality pubs

Seriously what is there not to like?

Cracker of a match. Doesnt get any better. The only thing better is a final at the G.

I know humans love their routines - but ya gotta live a little!
And the best thing is Richmond will be like Freo in the last game last season, looking at bigger fish to fry.

We could even get a win to finish off our season :D

There comes a point in every man's life when he has to say, "Enough is enough." For me, that time is now. I have been dealing with claims that I cheated and had an unfair advantage in <redacted>. Over the past three years, I have been subjected to a <redacted>investigation followed by <redacted> witch hunt. The toll this has taken on my family, and my work for <redacted>and on me leads me to where I am today – finished with this nonsense. (Oops just got a spontaneous errection <unredacted>)