What is acceptable for this weekend

Bruce G McAbee

What is acceptable for this weekend

First of all, not new, I am 3rd Generation Saint, however, it appeared after I had some work done on my computer, I simply could not log in again, so new name.
Now to subject, what is acceptable for this weekend's match against Hawthorn. A competitive effort where we can actually push them a little and not get completely smashed would be acceptable for me.

Think of me long enough to make a memory.

Re: What is acceptable for this weekend

I would think anything inside 10 goals would be fair but as long as we aren't down by more than 5 or 6 at half time. They are obviously to strong for but a competitive effort would be great. Did people realise we are the highest pressuring side in the AFL. That is great coaching for young kids to be able to play like that. Its all on the up.

The Disch

Bruce G McAbee wrote:First of all, not new, I am 3rd Generation Saint, however, it appeared after I had some work done on my computer, I simply could not log in again, so new name.
Now to subject, what is acceptable for this weekend's match against Hawthorn. A competitive effort where we can actually push them a little and not get completely smashed would be acceptable for me.
No shame in being a " newbie ". The more the better.
The hawks are struggling [ for them ], i'd be disappointed in a loss more than 6 goals.
Quietly expecting a win though.

Bruce G McAbee

The Disch wrote:
Bruce G McAbee wrote:First of all, not new, I am 3rd Generation Saint, however, it appeared after I had some work done on my computer, I simply could not log in again, so new name.
The hawks are struggling [ for them ], i'd be disappointed in a loss more than 6 goals.
As I said not a newbie, I have been on this forum for around 7 years under the name of 3rd Generation Saint, unfortunately due to a completely forgotten password which I think I used once when I originally started, I wasn't able to get that name up and running again after I had some work done on my PC that erased all my passwords. I even ended up with 2 separate Youtube channels under the same name.
I am not the most computer literate person in the world and it shows.

Think of me long enough to make a memory.
The Disch

Bruce G McAbee wrote:
The Disch wrote:
As I said not a newbie, I have been on this forum for around 7 years under the name of 3rd Generation Saint, unfortunately due to a completely forgotten password which I think I used once when I originally started, I wasn't able to get that name up and running again after I had some work done on my PC that erased all my passwords. I even ended up with 2 separate Youtube channels under the same name.
I am not the most computer literate person in the world and it shows.
Sorry, i wasn't being disbelieving, just saying bring on new members.

St Loxton

We know what we are up against with the hawks. A very talented side that absolutely pounded us last year ( I was there) then won a flag in a canter.
I just want a pure 4qtr effort from all players. No excuses in not doing that.
We may well run out of steam considering last weeks game location and conditions. But I want us to fight all the way to the end.
Thats all I want. And oh yeah a win would be pleasing.

Saint wagga

Above else, I think we need to avoid a morale sapping blowout...thinking back to last year and how badly that 145 point loss affected us for the remainder of the season, I think that's priority one. I'd live yo see us bring real aggression and physicality led by Armo and our seasoned leaders, this is huge IMO. I'd live to see bruce, hickey and roo really stretch their defenders...but it all has to start in the middle. Attack on the footy and man from the first bounce are crucial.

I can't wait for the weekend. No better way to judge yourself than against the best...I hope we bring it!!

Anything under 10 goals would be nice....

Win - anything else is accepting mediocrity

G'day 3gen, sort of glad it was a computer issue and not that you were fed up with the place. Welcome back

Anything less than 10 goals would be great. Would love to be in the match at 3/4 time.

I think our last 3 or 4 have all been over 100 points. SO anything under 60 points would be a big improvement.

Bunk_Moreland wrote:Win - anything else is accepting mediocrity
Yep, and we don't accept mediocrity at St Kilda as GT used to say
Last edited by bigcarl on Tue 02 Jun 2015 11:48pm, edited 1 time in total.

If it bleeds....

I wish we had 8 million dollars to buy Dingley Village.

A 10 goal loss never looks good against any side. I'm hoping we can get within 5-6 goals and make them sweat it out. We have a different team to the one that faced them in the pre-season and last year. Quite frankly, the current Hawthorn crop is ripe for the picking. Can't see how causing an upset is beyond us completely.
Last edited by Sainternist on Wed 03 Jun 2015 12:06am, edited 1 time in total.

saint-stu

bigred wrote:If it bleeds....

I wish we had 8 million dollars to buy Dingley Village.
Interesting that they're going further out and we're coming back in. I haven't heard any complaints from Bombers or Demons either. Oh well, happy we're coming back.

1ac46a38
saint-stu

plugger66 wrote: Did people realise we are the highest pressuring side in the AFL. That is great coaching for young kids to be able to play like that. Its all on the up.
That is awesome news! And I agree we normally expect a young team to show glimpses and skills, but not necessarily the kind of (relatively) consistent effort in chasing and tackling.

The commentators were also calling the saints an "elite pressure team". Saints footy is back?

1ac46a38

Spot on!

A win by 10 goals is a must for me - anyone requiring anything less is no supporter and suffers a losers mentality......OR

Just maybe they are a little more grounded.... :idea:

bigballs

I just want to see the boys give a good four quarter effort. If we can manage to do that, then who knows, an upset victory could be on the cards.

bigballs wrote:I just want to see the boys give a good four quarter effort. If we can manage to do that, then who knows, an upset victory could be on the cards.
That's the spirit!

5 to 6 goal loss is acceptable

#gosaintas

I wanna be in the game in the 3rd - reckon that will give the players the belief they need that they can match it with anyone. If the hawks then skip away to a 6 goal win so be it.

A competitive effort for four quarters, as I am just about over the slow first quarters and then catch-up football..you don't catch up to teams like the Hawks when they get a sniff. If I was AR I would take the midfield aside and blast them before the game! Need hands on ball from the first bounce.

Spot on!

A win by 10 goals is a must for me - anyone requiring anything less is no supporter and suffers a losers mentality......OR

Just maybe they are a little more grounded.... :idea:
Did I say we had to have a ten goal win? I want the team to play to win, none of this accepting a ten goal loss stuff as "acceptable".

it is patently not acceptable.

I dont expect the team to win. I do expect them to play to win. 10 goal losses is a mediocre performance, hence accepting mediocrity

Bunk_Moreland wrote:I want the team to play to win, none of this accepting a ten goal loss stuff as "acceptable".
I'm with you Bunk. Nothing wrong with setting the bar high. Do I expect us to win this week? Hardly.

Do I expect us to play to win? Every time