Stop giving up. 2016 isnt mathematically over!

SMS

Stop giving up. 2016 isnt mathematically over!

Highly annoying people are saying thats it 2016 is over, north have made 8 its mathematically over for port and saints ... UMMM NO!!

In capitals is the winner ...

coll v KANGAS
stk v DOGS
PORT v gws
10th - 3 behind north, 1 behind port

STK v kangas
PORT v lions in brissie
10th - 2 behind north, 1 behind port

DOGS v kangas
SYD V port
STK v blues
9th - 1 behind north, equal w port

Kangas v HAWKS
SYD v saints
PORT v melb
10th - 1 behind port and north

kangas v SYD
port v CROWS
SAINTS V tigers
EQUAL w port and north

North v GWS
GCS v port in gold coast
SAINTS v lions @ ES
8th by 4 points. OR 9th/10th by %

A win tonight and we are very much in this ... But as you can see even a loss and its still possible although a long shot. Just stop with the pessimistic outlook and look at the facts.
Sure hope internally they dont give up.

SMS

Re: Stop giving up. 2016 isnt mathematically over!

We can beat kangas they werent great last night. We'll run over em if we turn up.
Next week is the game obviously. All im saying is a good show tonight but a loss is still ok ... dont drop our heads as season NOT OVER!

SMS

Even the experts dont research this stuff.
I bet commentators tonight say all night that even a win for saints Does not matter as
its all too late. Amazing. Does my head IN!!!

We somehow win tonight ... Imo we wont but if we do ... Finals bound i reckon.

North looked tired and werent great last night Pies shouldve won had they not had such a crap start.

Realistically we just need to play well show we can be consistent and then beat north next week.
But oh no a loss tonight and every so called expert says mathmatically over ... Idiots!

A lot of media types are fairly dumb and do little research it seems. Dasher is a big exception to the rule.

I don't care much about the eight vs not making the eight issue, I'm more interested in how we play and becoming more consistent. At least the next two weeks are against reasonable opposition. I can handle two losses in a row provided we are competitive. Shame we don't have another interstate game this year to test us properly and prove a point

SMS

Saintsforpremiers
I agree. I am not concerned with making the 8.
Just being competitive and consistent and not getting smashed by north, dogs or sydney would be massive for us. Really want to beat the tigers blues and lions. Would prove we are in for a massive 2017 and give youngsters huge confidence. Our trading since 2012 has been phenemenol when you look at it. Bargains on bargains and great balance of positional players. We have half back and forward specialists as well as midfielders and prper key forwards and key backs. Look at melbourne they dont have that balance.

Re finals as a fan its exciting to be in the race no matter how small, so why let that fun die early I say.

As soon as supporters start saying "mathematically" you know you have no hope.

SMS

This isnt just mathematical. The probability with form and fixture suggests we are right in this.
North have horrific fixture especially with our form coming good
Port have travel, crows, gws and sydney
We have all games at mcg or es and play lions blues and tigers

Comes down to next week against north and after watching last night we should take them
Comfortably IF the good saints show up.

As I said finishing the year with consistency and good footy matters most. But stay excited for finals people !! At least til next week ffs!!

I think we might win the flag.

8856brother wrote:I think we might win the flag.
Make finals and its possible. ;)

Who knows ... Over the bye break hodge danger franklin mitchell cyril stringer kennedys priddis bont all go down with season ending injuries / issues ... Boom saints flag

Always gotta take every small chance. Dont throw away even the slightest chance.

SMS wrote:This isnt just mathematical. The probability with form and fixture suggests we are right in this.

Comes down to next week against north and after watching last night we should take them

As I said finishing the year with consistency and good footy matters most. But stay excited for finals people !! At least til next week ffs!!
:D :)

SMS wrote:This isnt just mathematical. The probability with form and fixture suggests we are right in this.

Agree with everything you said but I'm not sure why you used the word mathematically in the title.

I said last week that we could be three games and percentage behind North after this weekend but still a realistic chance. Nothing's changed since then.

8856brother wrote:I think we might win the flag.
better odds than leceister!

SMS

Yeah fair point ... just highlighting were still in it .. Shouldve said 'were still very much in finals race even if we lose to the dogs, YES EVEN THEN!!!'

Not interested in making the eight for the sake of it.

Our modern era first week knock-out record in finals is crap: 1991, 1998 (got a 2nd chance), 2006 and 2011.

Won in 1992. That's it.

Finals are great but what is really great is winning premierships. Let's focus on that.

Port mighn't beat GWS tomorrow so add that in

How does not making the finals help us to win a premiership?

citywest

If we win tonight we will make the finals!!!

Bruce G McAbee

I'll be honest, I don't want to make the finals this year, because we will just scrape in and probably end up playing interstate and get smashed.
We're not quite ready yet. On saying that, we have laid the foundations for another assault, I'd rather build on that with more good draft picks and trading this year.

Think of me long enough to make a memory.

citywest wrote:If we win tonight we will make the finals!!!

Steady down peanut

evertonfc wrote:Not interested in making the eight for the sake of it.

Our modern era first week knock-out record in finals is crap: 1991, 1998 (got a 2nd chance), 2006 and 2011.

Won in 1992. That's it.

Finals are great but what is really great is winning premierships. Let's focus on that.
Not many teams go from outside the 8 to winning premierships. Baby steps, win as many games as you can, if we make the 8 this year then thats a long way forward from last year and we build on that.

citywest wrote:If we win tonight we will make the finals!!!

Citywest, I have no idea who you are or what you are "on". Mostly, I disagree with your posts. So (deep breath)

For once - I AGREE WITH YOU!

I left Etihad last night not looking for a calculator or the AFL ladder. I had the knowledge that we had just beaten (monstered?) a genuine contender and face North (who were NOT impressive after 1/4 time Friday night) Carlton and Richmond to come in the next 3 weeks. Everybody was too ready to mark us down as the loser to the Bulldogs; I couldn't buy that proposition.

Anybody kidding themselves by saying they are "not interested in making finals" - I suggest a Melbourne or Richmond membership may cater best for supporters with those warped values.

GO THE MIGHTY SAINTS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

So if we win next week we are only 1 game behind North. However they have a percentage of 111,9 and we have 91.7.

Speaking of maths, I don't know s*** about %. Does someone know if that is catchable by the end of the year? Games against Brissy, Blues and Tigers give us a chance to hit the scoreboard big time. If not we would need to gain two wins on them in just 4 matches which gets damn tricky unless North continue their shocking run against the top teams. The maths is starting to get interesting.

The_Merchant

Bluthy wrote:So if we win next week we are only 1 game behind North. However they have a percentage of 111,9 and we have 91.7.

Speaking of maths, I don't know s*** about %. Does someone know if that is catchable by the end of the year? Games against Brissy, Blues and Tigers give us a chance to hit the scoreboard big time. If not we would need to gain two wins on them in just 4 matches which gets damn tricky unless North continue their shocking run against the top teams. The maths is starting to get interesting.
If we beat north next week, we are not going to need to worry about percentage. Roos won't win another game for the season. We will make the 8 by a game or two.

Extremely unlikely to catch that % difference, we'd have to kick 25 goals plus each week.

Keep it simple - just win more games (or equal plus a draw)

Rosco wrote:Extremely unlikely to catch that % difference, we'd have to kick 25 goals plus each week.

Keep it simple - just win more games (or equal plus a draw)
We are 326 points behind this target - so to catch up we would need to score an additional 326 per game as well as winning by 10% each week - is if North score 80 - we need 88 plus 65 points - so 153 points - a 73 point win. We would need to do this every week for the next 5 weeks. That is assuming that North keep winning and win by the 10% margin. Of course a win over them on Saturday will reduce their percentage.

So........

While we are 326 point behind their percentage - If we keep winning our percentage increases (even if we win by 1 point our percentage will increase) while Norths will fall every loss that they have. A win by 20 points on Saturday by us (100 - 80) will change the percentages to 93.3 and 109.8

We keep winning - North keep losing - we get into the Finals!!!