Sam Gilbert.... you've lost me

jonesy wrote:100% for him to go and clear his name and explain the situation,but to show that much anger publically towards Gilbert was a disgrace. Ever heard of trying to keep things in house? He's the captain FFS...but he sold out today,Rewoildt first,good of the club second. Not suprising really

Understand this perspective.

But what might be the clincher for me was that Gilbert hadnt contacted him. And being piss weak when urve f***ed up is my pet hate. I hate hiders.

jonesy wrote:100% for him to go and clear his name and explain the situation,but to show that much anger publically towards Gilbert was a disgrace. Ever heard of trying to keep things in house? He's the captain FFS...but he sold out today,Rewoildt first,good of the club second. Not suprising really
im sorry but i disagree , i think Roo handle it well and i think it shows how much he has grown since the GT sacking (have a look back to the first reaction Roo gave back then and look at todays reaction Roo went easy on gilbo compaired to what he must of really been thinking

st_Trav_ofWA wrote:
im sorry but i disagree , i think Roo handle it well and i think it shows how much he has grown since the GT sacking (have a look back to the first reaction Roo gave back then and look at todays reaction Roo went easy on gilbo compaired to what he must of really been thinking
The link to Gilbert would have come out anyway, probably by some "journo" at the presser.

Better to get on the front foot in the circumstances.

I think you'll find it was Michael Nettlefold who first mentioned Sam Gilbert.

Bernard Shakey wrote:I think you'll find it was Michael Nettlefold who first mentioned Sam Gilbert.

He impressed me today. His language, his thoughts, his delivery.

Jumped in with the corporate talk but with a human touch.

Really impressed me.

Badlands

God only knows the emotions the man was going through and the kind of courage it takes to front the national press in a time like that, less than 24 hrs after the photo was circulated. I'm reminded of Stephanie Rice crumbling before the media after she'd had some days (from memory) to reflect on her stupid tweet. Personally, i thought it was an admirable performance from skip, and if he couldn't hide his fury that a "mate" was partly responsible for the leak by not heeding his calls to delete the photo, well so be it... the guy's human, and whatever part he played, he doesn't deserve all this. Nor does his family.

"I'm in the middle of a long conversation with my audience. It'll be a lifelong journey for both of us by the time we're done." - Bruce Springsteen.

Understand this perspective.

But what might be the clincher for me was that Gilbert hadnt contacted him. And being piss weak when urve f***ed up is my pet hate. I hate hiders.
Also think it was a smart move by the club, because they can hardly come out and totally let rip on a 17 year old girl! It's plain for most to see that she is the person in the wrong here - it doesn't need Nick to hammer it home. If he did that he would just come across as a bully.

Better to say what he did - implore her to stop and think, take some of the blame himself and give a mini-serve to Sammy G. Makes it look like they are taking responsibility for their part in this, whilst subtly pointing the moral blame in the girl's direction.

Bernard Shakey wrote:I think you'll find it was Michael Nettlefold who first mentioned Sam Gilbert.

He impressed me today. His language, his thoughts, his delivery.

Jumped in with the corporate talk but with a human touch.

Really impressed me.
+1 he is getting better, I agree.

(unfortunately the boys are giving him heaps of opportunity to perfect the whole club caught up in a scandal though)

saintnick12

I think you're right. Nick said "a team mate" at first.
Also ...they knew what he was going to say, he had notes for the first bit. They let him say it. They didn't try and cut him off.

I think he did an exceptionally good job, especially in the question and answer section where the questions were being fired at him from all over the place. Quite often in these situations they just make their statement and walk out. Took a lot of courage to take the questions.

I agree with one of the presenters on SEN this afternoon saying that while his reputation has taken a hit by the publication of the photos, the way he has handled it has enhanced his reputation. Very impressive.

There's no doubt he is very angry , hurt and upset with Sam. Anyone would be. That's their personal relationship. Maybe they were never close anyway. Their professional relationship is a different matter. I've no doubt they will be able to put it behind them (they may need some help). Nick is so driven....he will do anything he needs to do to help the club win that elusive flag. He will deal with it and move on in a professional sense. What we saw today was reasonable given it was within 24 hours of the images being posted.

Nick Dal Santo hasn't really made any comment other than through the club today. He is also going to have to deal with what has happened. The danger is the boys taking sides etc which may cause issues, but I'm sure the club will provide them with the help they need to deal with it

"At the end of the day, a coach and a fitness adviser doesn't make a good football team, they're not the only ones who got us to two Grand Finals." Lenny Hayes. 27/9/2011.

Can I just clarify exactly what Riewoldt is protecting?

His honour?
His name?
The fact he has a slug?
His reputation?

The more this 'issue' goes on, the more I get confused as to what the 'issue' actually is.

:shock:

matrix wrote::shock:
Any ideas Matrix?

Initially it was a 'sex scandal'.

Then the issue is that photos of a guys worm had been published.

Now it's sort of morphed into an issue that he's shiitty with another player over it.

So I'm trying to piece it all together.

Gilbert takes photos in a hotel room and nude guys. Doesn't delete them, and is careless about there whereabouts and security.
So Roo holds a press conference to flame him publicly for it?
Is that the issue?

Or is it still a 'school girl sex scandal'?

Or is Roo embarrassed about his todger being seen by everyone? If that's just the case, why a press conference??

Or is he worried that his 'image' has been tarnished? If that's the case, surely his anger/defence would be directed at those who now think less of him due to seeing the photos.
If that's the case, why the public slapping of a team mate?

I can't see for the life of me, why the club just wouldn't release an electronic statement to keep the dickheads and nannas at bay, saying that the photos weren't taken by the girl, there was no sex involved, and they're disappointed they were made public, blah blah blah.

If Roo is so upset about being seen nude, then take that up via your manager and leave the club and team out of it.

I think the club has created an 'issue', out of what is a complete non issue.

It looks as though the bubble has burst.

The bubble stayed well and truly in tact last year through far worse than this.
The only difference is that poor Nick's image wasn't tarnished by anything last year.

dude im still waiting for you to clarify :?

When I watched the Rooey press conference, I thought he protected himself over the team.

The club should have had him showing a united front while signing a major sponsor.

Wasn't ideal but maybe just stop taking this so seriously no one got injured, no one died.

It says more about Kim than anything else.

Lets just hope that this doesn't destabilise us and we have a great season.

Badlands

rodgerfox wrote:
matrix wrote::shock:
Any ideas Matrix?

Initially it was a 'sex scandal'.

Then the issue is that photos of a guys worm had been published.

Now it's sort of morphed into an issue that he's shiitty with another player over it.

So I'm trying to piece it all together.

Gilbert takes photos in a hotel room and nude guys. Doesn't delete them, and is careless about there whereabouts and security.
So Roo holds a press conference to flame him publicly for it?
Is that the issue?

Or is it still a 'school girl sex scandal'?

Or is Roo embarrassed about his todger being seen by everyone? If that's just the case, why a press conference??

Or is he worried that his 'image' has been tarnished? If that's the case, surely his anger/defence would be directed at those who now think less of him due to seeing the photos.
If that's the case, why the public slapping of a team mate?

I can't see for the life of me, why the club just wouldn't release an electronic statement to keep the dickheads and nannas at bay, saying that the photos weren't taken by the girl, there was no sex involved, and they're disappointed they were made public, blah blah blah.

If Roo is so upset about being seen nude, then take that up via your manager and leave the club and team out of it.

I think the club has created an 'issue', out of what is a complete non issue.

It looks as though the bubble has burst.

The bubble stayed well and truly in tact last year through far worse than this.
The only difference is that poor Nick's image wasn't tarnished by anything last year.
Rodger,

I think the aim of the press conference was to address the innuendo and rumours re: that the girl may have been in the room and taken the photo.
Had this been the case, I think most would agree this would be a very different ballgame.

"I'm in the middle of a long conversation with my audience. It'll be a lifelong journey for both of us by the time we're done." - Bruce Springsteen.

gee you just talk rubbish rodgerfox

Saints we aints - new slogan suggestion for 2011. :wink:

strange post gringo
bit of everything there!

I'm stil trying to work why FB lets these sorts of pics be posted? Don't they have filters or anything?

Might as well get a chat room going in Youporn...not that I've ever been to that site....

gringo wrote:When I watched the Rooey press conference, I thought he protected himself over the team.
So do I.

This, in addition to last year's GF performances (on and off field), I reckon he's close to being a prick in my book.

:shock:

rodgerfox wrote:
gringo wrote:When I watched the Rooey press conference, I thought he protected himself over the team.
So do I.

This, in addition to last year's GF performances (on and off field), I reckon he's close to being a prick in my book.
further sign of rubbish.... rodger

anything but homosexual

Why shocked, Matrix?