Doc tributes to be sent to the club

A legend within the game of Australian Rules Football.

A legend within the state of Tasmania.

And a legend of a bloke.

RIP.

SainterK wrote:RIP Doc

If people like, I can compile these tributes and send them to the club to forward to his family?

Similar to the Max tribute book SS put together?

If people think it's a goer, maybe we could get the mods to sticky it?
Terrific idea SainterK

backit

RIP to a true legend on and off the field. A Saint through and through.

Condolences to his family.

http://www.sportal.com.au/afl-news-disp ... way-110304
AFL chief executive Andrew Demetriou also paid tribute to Baldock.

"Australian Football is tonight mouning the loss of one of its Legends, a man in Darrel Baldock, who numbered among just 23 individuals recognised for service to the game, on the field, above all others who have played, coached, administered, umpired and simply loved our game." Demetriou said.

"Baldock's on-field achievements feature an honour roll that only the select few can match, and none can better. Baldock was the player who the greats of our game through the 1960s admired, and who the stars of the 1970s grew up wanting to be."

"A champion on the field, Baldock served and love the game all his life, continuing to be involved after his playing days as a coach, administrator and a constant support to young players and the next generation of our game's stars."

"Beyond his wonderful skills and his courage, Baldock was a man apart for his grace and his wonderful humility, and football was privileged that Baldock gave himself to our game."

The country has lost one of it's true gentlemen.
Bloody sad news.
RIP.

Oldtimer

RIP Doc. You were the one who took us to that one and only Flag.

I saw that first game you played in 1962 at Vic Park vs the Pies, a win.

I was there in 1966

SainterK wrote:RIP Doc

If people like, I can compile these tributes and send them to the club to forward to his family?

Similar to the Max tribute book SS put together?

If people think it's a goer, maybe we could get the mods to sticky it?
Fantastic Idea - thanks

krabb

Such terribly sad news.

RIP Doc...you were a true champion of the St. Kilda Football Club.

R.I.P. Doc

Certainly the best I've seen in my time, and I'll never forget the words of the old Sainter sitting behind me in the old STKCC Stand as a young schoolboy

...."Wow! He's a wizard this Baldock bloke", after the Doc side stepped the man on his mark a yard in from the HFF boundary in front of us, ran onto his left foot and slotted it through on the run...... the bloke on the mark just stood there and scratched his head .....I'd never seen anything as brilliant to that stage and will never ever forget it.

Nor will I ever forget the cheers and roar from the crowd he got at Moorabbin that day Round 18 when (against the Hawks for memory) he came on injured but selected as 20th man during the last quarter....... then proceeded to win us that last game of the year pretty much off his own off his own boot and secure us a final four birth !!

A Wizard without doubt, a Champion of Champions and a True Saint who for mine was our Greatest!!
Last edited by starsign on Wed 02 Feb 2011 10:12pm, edited 1 time in total.

Scoop

Was lucky enough to see him play during his career at the saints.

He was an absolute marvel - playing CHF at 5'9"!! The understanding he and Stewie had was amazing and a thing of beauty to watch.

RIP Doc.

Extra! Extra! Read all about it......no I don't want to read about it anymore!!!
I Love Peter Kiel

ralphsmith wrote:RIP legend. Well before my time, but i have seen footage. I have seen the immense grit and enthusiasm with which you played the game.

How rare is that these days?

You led this club to its only premiership.

:cry:

He did not die wondering. You will all be old men one day, dying in your beds. Life is short, and its especially short when you're young and playing footy at the highest level.

Why throw that away ZAC DAWSON.
I'm sure the Doc knew the boys gave their all the last couple of years.

He'll watch from football heaven!
Last edited by I Love Peter Kiel on Wed 02 Feb 2011 10:20pm, edited 1 time in total.

In honour of those who went before, in the dark and desperate years.
SaintDebi

Love your idea of a tribute book SainterK.

Shattered dreams are just opportunities for improvement. Live and learn, fail and try harder. 2011 beckons.
I Love Peter Kiel

Not ashamed to say I've shed more than a few tears since hearing the news.

Doc, not only did you lead us to (so far) our only Premiership but you answered the call in the dark days of the '80s and led the club from the wilderness.

I heard Holmesby on SEN say that you really shouldn't have coached in '88 after the stroke but you did....those three years may have shortened your life.

You have no idea how much you lifted Saints supporters.

Doc, I hope you enjoy this season sitting up there with Trevor (and now Jack) Barker and your old team mate Travis Payze.

The boys will win it for you this year!

I Love Peter Kiel

I know that when the boys are running their victory lap this year...for those at the ground and those watching on TV there'll be some sort of vision, a trick of the eye....

Behind Riewoldt, Kozi, BJ, Joey and the boys will appear flickering, ghostly figures in black-and-white...Baldock, Payze and the boys of '66. Young and alive once more, sharing in the unbridled joy of every Saints supporter on the planet.

Everyone who sees it will know what they saw....but there'll be no official explanation. Who can explain Divine Grace?

Born in Moorabbin

I was so privileged to see him play. Yes Maxstar, he was heaps better than the footage shows - I remember seeing him almost buried with opposing players around him everywhere, and he would still come out with the ball. Not just a one-off - he would just do that all the time, game after game. Slippery as an eel, and almost like he had radar in his head. You would just breathe a sigh of relief every time Baldock got the ball, because you just knew it was safe with him.

I sometimes hear old-timers say they once saw Don Bradman bat - to have seen Darrel Baldock with the footy was just as thrilling.

Allwewantisaflag

Absolutely heartbreaking news.

To think that he could have presented that 2009 team with the premiership cup if they had of held on in the last 5 minutes. It just doesn't seem fair :cry:

Unfortunately, I wasn't lucky enough to witness him play but there's always the '66 GF and highlights reels like this around to reflect on over his outstanding skills as a player.

I'll never forget the day at Moorabbin when he got his first win as coach against Brisbane. He paid tribute to the fans after game shaking peoples hands and thanking them. He really seemed like one of the most BS free and sincere football personalities to have ever lived.

R.I.P. Doc

Verdun66

Very sad news indeed. RIP Doc.

I saw him in his heyday, and what a player he was. Also a fantastic man, given all his all-round achievements in life.

I realise I was spoilt, in that he was absolutely at the top of his game when I started watching the Saints as a young fella.

My Dad was a rugby man from NSW but thought Doc would be the best five-eighth in world rugby at the time, such were all his all round skills and toughness.

I will remember him as he was in those glory days.

esaint66

Not only a noted legend of the St Kilda Football Club, but recognized bas a legend of the AFL/VFL.You are left with no successor as Premiership captain, but you leave anyone close to the club the stories, spirit and courage you displayed over 119 games.

Now re-united with your son.

2011 is yours.
Last edited by esaint66 on Thu 03 Feb 2011 12:17am, edited 2 times in total.

avid

He'll always be my favourite Saint.

Number 4.
Mr Magic.

You were like no other in so many ways.

Your skills were incomparable.
Your courage was phenomenal.
Your humility was incredible.

You leave us as a one and only. Mr. Magic. The Doc.

Our captain.

RIP

Jezza25

A Carlton supporter, I would like to express my sadness at his passing.

He was definitely one of the very best players I have ever seen and a credit to your club.

Heartfelt condolences to his family and friends.

At least he won't have to suffer through any more strokes.

Not a troll
markinUSA

I am very sorry to hear this news.
He was a kind and generous man on a personal level, as well as a great footballer. Always had time for Saints fans.
He's up there with the football Gods.
He will always be Saints royalty.
My thoughts and prayers are with his family and friends at this time.

"Don't give up, never give up" - Robert Harvey.
GoTheTorp

So sad to hear of the passing of the legend.

I wore his number 4 on my back as a kid, you were the best Doc. I used to walk from St Kilda to Moorabbin to go see the Saints as a 10yo, you could wait in the carpark and Doc would head straight for us kids to say hi.

Fondly remembered

jk23

R.I.P. A true saint :cry: