Question

The collingwood football club need to deflate the ego's a bit. In the past week they have not presented themselves very well at all and if these actions were carried out by the Coach , Captain, President of any other club they would have been ripped apart for their behaviour and rightly so.

How eddie can try and make a hero out of himself over this is an absolute joke.

You cannot use Racism to excuse a person for their poor character. If you are a bad character then you cannot be excused from doing bad things just because you are aboriginal, chinese, indian, etc.
for instance the indian who raped young women because of the way they were dressed, he was not used to this as it didnt occur in his country. This was his defence.

Let us remember why racism laws have been introduced. To protect people from being vilified just because of their race. This is a good thing. Unfortunately some believe it is a get out of jail free card for everything bad that they do.

Eddie is now clutching at very small straws to forgive his behaviour based on racism claims. Please eddie explain the racism in "kick him while he is down". Not a nice thing to say if a player is down injured I am sure but hardly racist.

SaintDebi

mullet wrote: get out of jail free card

....better not let Eddie hear you say that. Apparently that was the first comment he took offence at.

(also not a racist comment, I might add)

Shattered dreams are just opportunities for improvement. Live and learn, fail and try harder. 2011 beckons.

How do people know exactly what was said?

"Borderline racial abuse" means Eddie overreacted and arced up. If the guy was bagging his criminal past fair game. Eddie is a grand hypocrite, his role on the footy show was to encourage Sam to make "borderline racial slurs" and then guffaw while chastising him with a lettuce leaf.

plugger66 wrote:How do people know exactly what was said?
Because this is what Eddie is saying was said. I would love to hear from the guy in question as well.

SaintDebi

Have to admit plugger66, that I only know what I'm reading. But that's all any of us can know if we weren't there. Has Eddie actually stated exactly what he is supposed to have heard?
But the point remains: if Eddie is going to accuse somebody of something as serious as racism he needs to be very sure of himself. Was it racist, or wasn't it? What is "borderline" racism?

Shattered dreams are just opportunities for improvement. Live and learn, fail and try harder. 2011 beckons.

Just watching eddie justifying himself on tv. Now he is stepping away from it being borderline racism. "but it was heading down that road". Admitted that the guy didnt say anything racist but if eddie didnt put him back in his place it would of. FFS what a hero you are eddie. You now know what people are going to do next. Eddie also said the guy told him to go listen to what his cheer squad were calling milney. And eddie said this is what we are trying to stamp out . Massive back pedal, from borderline racism to unsavoury. Even the guy interviewing him asked "so it wasnt a racist slur then"

SaintDebi wrote:
mullet wrote: get out of jail free card

....better not let Eddie hear you say that. Apparently that was the first comment he took offence at.

(also not a racist comment, I might add)
Yeah I wondered on my choice of words too. :roll: :roll:

Waiting for Eddie to knock on my door :lol:

Eddie the racist!

If the supporter had a crack at Andrew's criminal record and Eddie infers that that is borderline racism isn't Eddie, by definition, saying that Aboriginal's are criminals???

Jimmy did a wonderful parenting job eye :roll:

NoMore

Exact words were
"if it had have been a head you would have kicked it"
And then later
"glib you should have kicked him while he was down, he'd do it to you"
I was sitting right near it

NoMore wrote:Exact words were
"if it had have been a head you would have kicked it"
And then later
"glib you should have kicked him while he was down, he'd do it to you"
I was sitting right near it
Ok so can someone explain the racism in this??????

Have heard a hell of a lot worse at the footy than that.

BTW in the footage when eddie is having a go, is it not a mcc worker that walks past eddie and just keeps walking? And the 2 bimbos behind the glass were laughing

NoMore

No racism at all
In fact Eddie is the one who is showing racism by bringing up the fact cracker is aboriginal

saint tash

plugger66 wrote:Wish I knew who our president was.
Hooray for some rationality. As much as most on here consistently bad and deride McGuire at least he has guided that club to the ultimate prize and built a rock solid foundation to move forward whereas Westaway is more like a Castaway.

Out of sight, out of mind. He needs to get on the front foot more.

I'd like to know if the Eddie hatred is more jealousy then envious related.

Oh when the saints go charging in!

woops wrong thread
Last edited by Munga on Sun 05 Jun 2011 1:36pm, edited 1 time in total.

HardSaint

'I was outraged'' McGuire said. ''I hadn't heard anything like that for a while. .
How long since you've been in the outer Ed?

saint tash

HardSaint wrote:
'I was outraged'' McGuire said. ''I hadn't heard anything like that for a while. .
How long since you've been in the outer Ed?
Ask the same re: Westaway and I'd say the answer would be a monty.

Oh when the saints go charging in!

By the sounds of the complaint the guy wasn't being racist at all, he was vilifying Krakour's criminal record.
If Eddie was so hot about that, maybe he should have a good look at his own supporters and officials at what they have said to opposition players.

SaintTom

I was sitting a few metres from Eddie and the guy who said it. I heard it all.

SaintTom wrote:
So was it racial vilification?

SaintTom

SaintTom wrote:
So was it racial vilification?
No. All about his criminal record and kicking people in the head etc. Not one mention of race.

SaintTom wrote:
So was it racial villification?
No. All about his criminal record and kicking people in the head etc. Not one mention of race.
So who raised it as a racial villification issue?

I laugh at Eddie, I suppose he is practically turned his club into the untouchables. So from my pov, there's a bit of jealousy there. I don't mind listening to his radio show in cricket season, but as soon as the footy starts, I can't stand the man.

On a day when Majak was actually racially vilified, the H-Sun has a photo of Eddie on the front cover...

:shock:
Last edited by Furphy on Sun 05 Jun 2011 3:05pm, edited 2 times in total.

saint tash wrote:
plugger66 wrote:Wish I knew who our president was.
Hooray for some rationality. As much as most on here consistently bad and deride McGuire at least he has guided that club to the ultimate prize and built a rock solid foundation to move forward whereas Westaway is more like a Castaway.

Out of sight, out of mind. He needs to get on the front foot more.

I'd like to know if the Eddie hatred is more jealousy then envious related.

Not at all. I actually really like Ed's breakfast Show, and like what he has to say - most of the time. I also really admire what he has done for the pies. If he's not the best pres in the AFL then I'd like to know who's better.

HOWEVER - what a complete wanker for attacking a bloke for having a crack at Krakours crim history. This sort of stuff get's yelled out all the time (rightly or wrongly) To then insinuate that the man was being racist is a disgrace. So every time an Aboriginal footballer is bagged, the person is being racist? PLenty of ppl yell out at Milne, plenty of ppl also yell out at Didak - 'you've got blood on your hands Didak' is a common taunt I've heard. All Eddie has done is shown ppl that he's not living in the real world by his carry on.

Does he honestly believe that if the saints (or any club for that matter) had recruited a player just out of gaol, that EVERYONE is going to stand and applaud him for showing character by getting his life back on track?

Maybe it's typical of the MCC - I sat there once before, and won't ever again. Bunch of stuck up toffs.

SaintTom

SaintTom wrote:
So was it racial villification?
So who raised it as a racial villification issue?
Eddie, calling it 'boarderline racism' and then it was picked up by the media. This morning on the footy show he changed his tune a bit, not going as far as actually saying there was anything to do with race, just saying that 'I can't remember what he said, I just remember it jarring at the time' or something.