Billings will be our best player by 2016

Double post.

Re: Billings will be our best player by 2016

So on 6 games both Jack and Luke have made it... And are assured top liners

I've heard the same crap about others, who fell by the wayside... And know people reckon will be delisted

Both have showed talent, yes.... Are both quality afl players ATM.... Of course not... Yet..
Most likely will be going forward on the limited evidence... But they have not even developed yet, too early to claim anything

Heard the same crap about Arryn Siposs posted in 2011

The fact they are integral to us... Is why we have lost 4 games by a total of 300 points this year... We are not any good.

And yes,
Nick Natinui is the most overrated player, not just ATM but in my 28 year memory
1 mark in 5 games, for a 201cm footballer... My assessment of him, would make my criticism of Hickey seem tame. He doesn't even get a kick.

Shame he's not good enough to win a Rising Star :evil:

Teflon wrote:Now just imagine how good we can be if we can snare another 3 good ones this year!!

Drink well Sainters, load up in Billings and hit top 4 hard in a few years

Forget mediocrity and "trying hard to finish 9th"
Who ever said they wanted to finish 9th?

I hope Billings decides he wants to stay at a club that wins about 5 games a year.

BigMart wrote:So on 6 games both Jack and Luke have made it... And are assured top liners

I've heard the same crap about others, who fell by the wayside... And know people reckon will be delisted

Both have showed talent, yes.... Are both quality afl players ATM.... Of course not... Yet..
Most likely will be going forward on the limited evidence... But they have not even developed yet, too early to claim anything

The fact they are integral to us... Is why we have lost 4 games by a total of 300 points this year... We are not any good.

And yes,
Nick Natinui is the most overrated player, not just ATM but in my 28 year memory
1 mark in 5 games, for a 201cm footballer... My assessment of him, would make my criticism of Hickey seem tame. He doesn't even get a kick.

Well your majesty, your obvious vast knowledge of football aside, I think you better have a word to Adam Schneider, because in a a post game interview on Monday (Saints website) he declared Billings, and I quote, "a jet" who will "play a lot of games for us", so maybe you better straighten out poor old Scheids on the topic of Billings. After all, what would he know, he's only running around playing next to the kid. Doesn't really stack up .......<Edited by Mods.....Poster elsewhere warned for behaviour in this thread>.....

Sometimes you just know a player is gonna make it. I certainly put Billings in the category of certainty to make it. Not trying to put pressure on the lad thats just my opinion based on my observations.

http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_p ... 1=O&fid2=O

(Jack has played one game as sub as well).

BigMart wrote:So on 6 games both Jack and Luke have made it... And are assured top liners

And yes,

Way to let down our tyres dude. Reality is a very restrictive environment to operate in. They might not be anything but right now they are the only thing to look forward to. If these guys flop we are kind of f%$#ed. I remember thinking Xavier was going to be a jet so everything was going to be okay. I didn't see Joey becoming elite and Xav and Goose playing in very average Brissy teams let go for nothing. These guys represent hope- shooting that down is criminal.

Old Mate wrote:Sometimes you just know a player is gonna make it. I certainly put Billings in the category of certainty to make it. Not trying to put pressure on the lad thats just my opinion based on my observations.
Agree, though injuries are always a nasty possibility. From what I've seen so far he will be a complete gun.

Good stats up against Wingard of 2012.

saint-stu

I don't know that anyone was ever sure about Sipposs, but certainly hopeful. We still are.

Billings is completely different. He doesn't just show glimpses, he does it again and again. I was convinced when I saw him kick 5 goals against Frankston. He has so much talent and is just a kid.

1ac46a38

I don't think there's any doubt that he is our most naturally talented draftee for a decade. Whether that translates into an elite career is still to be seen, and any number of things can go wrong. But on the 5 games of evidence so far, it is looking increasingly likely.

Don't get me wrong

I have not once suggested any of Jack, Luke or Blake won't make.... If I had to make a limited knowledge guess?! Which is silly, but
Luke.... 200 plus games, very solid player, probably captain. Very Stephen Powell like
Blake.... Anywhere from c grade to elite
Billings.... A grade, with elite skills.

Btw
True believer.... I am sure Adam could make a very good judgement. He has trained with Jack for 5 months. But at the same time, I am sure he is always going to be very complimentary on camera... It's called being nice and selling our future.
Your smart arse replying to me is a bit pathetic... I think you should grow up.

Don't be so offended by my opinion, that you need to resort to nasty replies.

BigMart wrote:Don't get me wrong

I have not once suggested any of Jack, Luke or Blake won't make.... If I had to make a limited knowledge guess?! Which is silly, but
Luke.... 200 plus games, very solid player, probably captain. Very Stephen Powell like

Btw
True believer.... I am sure Adam could make a very good judgement. He has trained with Jack for 5 months. But at the same time, I am sure he is always going to be very complimentary on camera... It's called being nice and selling our future.

And if you want some pleasant responses <..warning issued for abuse.>. I am yet to see you post anything complimentary, or even remotely positive, about our club or any of our players, and I've been on here for a decade, so there was plenty of opportunity. The discussion is about what is looking like the best player we may have drafted in a decade, and you come up with "I hope Jack ends up a quality AFL player" !!! Really that's the best you can manage is it. Have to piddle on everyone's parade yet again because yet another AFL player doesn't yet meet your high standards. Tell us all, .........<edited by mods for playing the man and not the ball. Poster already warned for this behaviour in thread>>.........Please share the details with us all.

Andreous

What about the two recent rookie pick ups. I can see a long term future for Weller and Eli! While not necessarily in the elite level, both could be strong contributors for the next 10 years!

Andreous wrote:What about the two recent rookie pick ups. I can see a long term future for Weller and Eli! While not necessarily in the elite level, both could be strong contributors for the next 10 years!
Too soon to tell for mine. Templeton could be Gilbert McAdam or he could be Allan Murray, we'll know in a couple of years. Welles hasn't done much at the highest level so I'm not sure he's even earned a permanent senior list spot yet. Hopefully by the end of the year he will have cemented promotion.

Pleasing

I get the cautious realism some of us posting on this topic but while we are down the bottom speculating on the future superstar status of our latest batch of draftees is pretty much all we have to get excited about right now.

So IMO:

Billings for me looks like a potential match winner on very limited viewing he appears to be a player who's touches count more than most. In my opintion at a minimum he will be a class half forward like Mercuri Gia Nathan Brown if he can make the transition to the midfield over time he could be our version of Pendlebury or Cotchin

Dunstan looks a ready made certainty to play midfield for many years to come shows signs not just of ability to win the ball but his vision and decision making look good as well. IMO at minimum becomes a consistent high possession inside midfielder like Armitage Sewell Boyd - If he can build his outside game and become our key in the middle maybe he can hit the heights of Lenny Sam Mitchell or Jobe Watson.

Acres seems to be a one touch player who reads the play and has the height and athletisism to be that swing man and play midfield back or forward. Had much more limited view of him and he hasn't settled into a role or the pace of the game yet so harder to judge at this stage. But looks to have the tools to be at minimum like Farren Ray Grant Birchill type half back wing - If he can develop an inside game maybe he could be our Nat Fyfe

All in all they along with Jimmy Webster, Nathan Wright and Eli are the main reasons to keep the dream alive. Whether they and our future draftees of 2014-15 develop as well as the 2000 - 2003 group did will be fun to watch. So glass half full we may as well focus on the upside.

Let me in

Andreous wrote:What about the two recent rookie pick ups. I can see a long term future for Weller and Eli! While not necessarily in the elite level, both could be strong contributors for the next 10 years!
Too soon to tell for mine. Templeton could be Gilbert McAdam or he could be Allan Murray, we'll know in a couple of years. Welles hasn't done much at the highest level so I'm not sure he's even earned a permanent senior list spot yet. Hopefully by the end of the year he will have cemented promotion.
He's more Bob Marley than Murray/McAdam.

Pleasing wrote:I get the cautious realism some of us posting on this topic but while we are down the bottom speculating on the future superstar status of our latest batch of draftees is pretty much all we have to get excited about right now.

So IMO:

Billings for me looks like a potential match winner on very limited viewing he appears to be a player who's touches count more than most. In my opintion at a minimum he will be a class half forward like Mercuri Gia Nathan Brown if he can make the transition to the midfield over time he could be our version of Pendlebury or Cotchin

Dunstan looks a ready made certainty to play midfield for many years to come shows signs not just of ability to win the ball but his vision and decision making look good as well. IMO at minimum becomes a consistent high possession inside midfielder like Armitage Sewell Boyd - If he can build his outside game and become our key in the middle maybe he can hit the heights of Lenny Sam Mitchell or Jobe Watson.

Acres seems to be a one touch player who reads the play and has the height and athletisism to be that swing man and play midfield back or forward. Had much more limited view of him and he hasn't settled into a role or the pace of the game yet so harder to judge at this stage. But looks to have the tools to be at minimum like Farren Ray Grant Birchill type half back wing - If he can develop an inside game maybe he could be our Nat Fyfe

All in all they along with Jimmy Webster, Nathan Wright and Eli are the main reasons to keep the dream alive. Whether they and our future draftees of 2014-15 develop as well as the 2000 - 2003 group did will be fun to watch. So glass half full we may as well focus on the upside.
Newnes, longer and Saunders could go in with Wright and Webster too.

Pleasing wrote:I get the cautious realism some of us posting on this topic but while we are down the bottom speculating on the future superstar status of our latest batch of draftees is pretty much all we have to get excited about right now.

So IMO:

Newnes, longer and Saunders could go in with Wright and Webster too.
I think we've got a nice little group of A and B graders just need them to continue to develop and add to the stocks over the next few drafts and trade periods.

Middo

BigMart wrote:Don't get me wrong

Btw

Just because we lost one flog for a month doesn't mean we need another ...Do you actually think before you post ..? :!:

Jack Newnes happy to be a Saint !!!! PS and to hit a target !!!

I like Pleasing's ranges that he's set.

Billing
Gia — Pendles

Dunstan
Sewell — Jobe

Acres
Farren — Fyfe

Looks good

Billings is currently stomping on Wingard's first year stats in comparison (2012) so it's a great start for Billings who is very very similar to Wingard IMO.

Saints94 wrote:Billings is currently stomping on Wingard's first year stats in comparison (2012) so it's a great start for Billings who is very very similar to Wingard IMO.
Yes, it's encouraged some of us to hope he may make the grade in AFL.......

True Believer wrote:
Saints94 wrote:Billings is currently stomping on Wingard's first year stats in comparison (2012) so it's a great start for Billings who is very very similar to Wingard IMO.
Yes, it's encouraged some of us to hope he may make the grade in AFL.......
+1. Signed, sealed, delivered.

Billings has too much going for him not to become a star. He's obviously very talented. Can kick it well, mark it, smart around goal, can win his own footy, good positioning on the outside to get the ball and very mature and professional. Being injured a lot last year his family hired him a personal trainer to make up ground. Will be a star IMO.