McCartin

Re: McCartin

thejiggingsaint wrote: Tue 16 Apr 2019 8:34pm I'm more than prepared to let the Medical staff take as long as it needs to, in order to (A) get this young man on the road to full health (diabetes notwithstanding) (B) If humanly possible, get him back out on the paddock..... but priority A remains my choice.
Jig,

we have done (A) the last two times (at least) and then (B) and then (C) occurred every time. Ergo X.

Sad but true.

mightysainters

He’s done.. let’s be realistic

barneyboyz

To the top wrote: Mon 15 Apr 2019 5:51pm Disagree.

Easily in our best 22 - both Bruce and Membrey had very little impact because we needed that 2nd KPP forward.

That said we had a couple of "small forwards" off the pace as well.

Marshall pushing forward late confirmed to me how much McCartin and the structure he gives us is being missed.

Hopefully he is soon pushing to resume his AFL career.

Medical matters are a separate issue - as we see with Roberton who remains on our List, Carlisle's surgery, Hannebury, Jack, King and Bytel.
I agree to a degree :) That balance would / could have been Battle (forward) had Carlisle been fit. The medical matters are significant as he got that concussion in a practice game. I feel for the bloke, but if he was my son I'd be having a real difficult conversation with him, as I expect has been happening

St. Kilda Football Club. Going strong, since 1960 :wink:
twirlyhair

I feel for the guy, and I used to be a big believer in him, but the way he plays the game, with his propensity to put himself in very dangerous positions, I just can't see how he can go on. Too much of a personal risk for his health IMO.

Rocket

It seems like the club has gone into shutdown mode about Paddy. Which probably tells us the enviable is around the corner.....

The Craw

Rocket wrote: Thu 18 Apr 2019 1:18pm It seems like the club has gone into shutdown mode about Paddy. Which probably tells us the enviable is around the corner.....

........ or have engaged the services of Brereton to help improve his technique to protect his body in contested play situations as one last crack.

Not Craw, CRAW!
aaron82

Paddy was allegedly out practising his goal kicking yesterday with a specialist coach.

If that is the case, I don't think he will be announcing his retirement anytime soon and will at some point attempt to come back.

and that's the bottom line

The Craw wrote: Thu 18 Apr 2019 1:36pm
Rocket wrote: Thu 18 Apr 2019 1:18pm It seems like the club has gone into shutdown mode about Paddy. Which probably tells us the enviable is around the corner.....

........ or have engaged the services of Brereton to help improve his technique to protect his body in contested play situations as one last crack.
This...

I'm inclined to believe Paddy will be back for one more crack. Pardon the pun. If not, with Wilkie and co. doing OK down back, and seasoned backs in the seconds, I think we might see Carlisle come back as a power forward late season, in the role Paddy might have carried. Hopefully, Paddy can still make it.
Imagine that forward line! Lonie Carlisle Parker. Membrey, Bruce, Gresham

I feel for the kid. I think he is done, though.

The club cannot continue to put him at risk for legal reasons. Duty of care etc, which puts the club at risk of future lawsuits regardless of any waiver.

Secondly, him being unable - through no fault of his own - to stay on the park, is way too disruptive to structure, morale and the business of winning football matches.

If, by some miracle he does get back for one last crack at it, he needs a solid run of VFL matches - 10 at least, I would suggest - before being considered for selection.

And then he should be selected only if his form warrants it.

Sounds harsh, I know, as it’s something he cannot control, but you have to put the player’s health and the club as a whole first.

The Craw

bigcarl wrote: Thu 18 Apr 2019 3:49pm Secondly, him being unable - through no fault of his own - to stay on the park, is way too disruptive to structure, morale and the business of winning football matches.
I disagree ...... I would say that Paddy wanting to get out and give it another go sends a great message to the team.

It will be saying ..... hey guys, I like what I am seeing. I want to be a part of this .... I am going to do whatever it takes to try and contribute.

A big positive for mine.

Not Craw, CRAW!

I have decided to go with very low expectations on the matter of whether McCartin can or can't return. Of course, I hope that he can.

GilsAuPair

Do we even need him?

De Goey (same draft year) has already knocked up 100 career goals. So Paddy is coming from a mile behind.

We have Bruce going well. Membrey going well. Marshall can go fwd. We have King coming up.

The team selection this year seems to be to go small and mobile. Working so far.

In light of the way the team is playing, and the drafting of King, along with the concussion injuries could McCartin play a role like McGovern (WC) does ? He reads the game exceptionally well and leads to the rights spots as a forward.
The ability to come over the top of a pack you would think would also lessen the likelihood of being crunched at the front of a pack , reducing risk pf concussion ( be it slight reduction).
With Roberton a huge question mark and Carlisle back being another? perhaps 3-4 weeks at Sandy playing that role ?

just an idea?

The Craw wrote: Thu 18 Apr 2019 5:28pm
bigcarl wrote: Thu 18 Apr 2019 3:49pm Secondly, him being unable - through no fault of his own - to stay on the park, is way too disruptive to structure, morale and the business of winning football matches.
I disagree ...... I would say that Paddy wanting to get out and give it another go sends a great message to the team.

It will be saying ..... hey guys, I like what I am seeing. I want to be a part of this .... I am going to do whatever it takes to try and contribute.

A big positive for mine.
Good point, but there'd be a different perspective from the playing list and what the players are feeling to what the discussions are in the boardroom at St Kilda and also in the boardrooms at AFL house.

While we are a chance to play finals I reckon they should just leave the decision until late in the year. When a guy like Lynden Dunn initially went down with another acl, I thought maybe Collingwood would have a chat with him about a possible retirement. I seriously cannot see him playing on in 2020 (with Moore and Roughhead more versatile and agile and Scharenberg also due to return) but apparently he is much loved and it looks like the club doesn't want to create any ill feeling in the playng group.

In the end, the interests of the game and the industry as a whole are going to far outweigh the interests of the individual.

An honest club would admit to their mistake in drafting him in the first place.
Protect his health by cutting him from the list ahead of the mid season draft.

A couple of glimpses up forward in four years. The only thing I’ve seen is an excellent field kick, but too immobile for defence. Poor awareness, never got fit enough, and clumsy. Couldn’t see him forge a career even without the concussion issues, but with them makes it an easy decision. Very poor draft choice.
Feel for the fellow but most draftees don’t make it.

twirlyhair

ace wrote: Fri 19 Apr 2019 4:17pm An honest club would admit to their mistake in drafting him in the first place.
Harsh. The entire football community had him at number 2 behind Petracca. We drafted a forward as we needed one with Roo leaving.

Not sure if it’s be said already somewhere else but Richo mentioned on the footy show that Dermott has been working with King and will be working with Paddy when he comes back.

So sounds like they’re planning on giving him another go. Very interesting.

Crossy66

The_Dud wrote: Mon 22 Apr 2019 10:17am Not sure if it’s be said already somewhere else but Richo mentioned on the footy show that Dermott has been working with King and will be working with Paddy when he comes back.

I suppose at this stage you would have to say Paddy is included until you are told otherwise.

Crossy66 wrote: Mon 22 Apr 2019 10:55am
The_Dud wrote: Mon 22 Apr 2019 10:17am Not sure if it’s be said already somewhere else but Richo mentioned on the footy show that Dermott has been working with King and will be working with Paddy when he comes back.

I suppose at this stage you would have to say Paddy is included until you are told otherwise.
12 million in debt to the AFL and they are wasting precious resources coaching a type 1 diabetic who will never be fit or safe from further concussions.
It must be the AFL's doing.
They would insist on a player who lost both legs in a car accident being coached so as to have an opportunity to play again.
Supporting the disabled is AFL political policy.

Crossy66 wrote: Mon 22 Apr 2019 10:55am

It was more the fact he said anything, as it was a bit of a throwaway comment after talking about King. It was if he wanted to emphasise the fact that Paddy is coming back.

ace wrote: Fri 19 Apr 2019 4:17pm An honest club would admit to their mistake in drafting him in the first place.
So every club that's taken a No.1 pick should admit their mistake, that'd be most of them. We're one of the few Clubs that's taken a No.1 that's turned out to be a gun, Riewoldt & Goddard. Then there were Hodge (Hawthorn's recruiter was sacked for taking him ahead of Judd) & Cooney. Whitfield probably will be a gun and every other Club to an extent stuffed up their No.1.

Linton Lodger wrote: Mon 22 Apr 2019 11:54am
So every club that's taken a No.1 pick should admit their mistake, that'd be most of them. We're one of the few Clubs that's taken a No.1 that's turned out to be a gun, Riewoldt & Goddard. Then there were Hodge (Hawthorn's recruiter was sacked for taking him ahead of Judd) & Cooney. Whitfield probably will be a gun and every other Club to an extent stuffed up their No.1.
Few have stuffed it up as badly as we have with Paddy. Let's face it, he was gifted games because of his number 1 selection so his tally of games looks generous to his actual output at the level. I recall when we drafted him that I was staggered at how small he was in height. He's the height or thereof of a 3rd tall, not a key position. He was very slow but the worst thing was his agility. I couldn't believe that any of the recruiters could be seduced by a kid who could could clunk a contested mark at underage level but have precious few other talents. His fitness, agility, speed, body dimensions were all below par for AFL. Even his kicking for goal was disappointing.

The best we've seen of Paddy over 4 years is tiny glimpses of what he could be. A pack mark here, a goal there. If he was a 3rd round selection I am certain he would have been cut by now and definitely we wouldn't be looking at trying to bring him back after 8 concussions in 5 years. It's downright negligent by the club in my opinion.

I'm sure he's a ripper guy as has often been said. Plenty who don't make it are. Really that shouldn't come into it.

Moods wrote: Mon 22 Apr 2019 12:18pm
Linton Lodger wrote: Mon 22 Apr 2019 11:54am
Few have stuffed it up as badly as we have with Paddy. Let's face it, he was gifted games because of his number 1 selection so his tally of games looks generous to his actual output at the level. I recall when we drafted him that I was staggered at how small he was in height. He's the height or thereof of a 3rd tall, not a key position. He was very slow but the worst thing was his agility. I couldn't believe that any of the recruiters could be seduced by a kid who could could clunk a contested mark at underage level but have precious few other talents. His fitness, agility, speed, body dimensions were all below par for AFL. Even his kicking for goal was disappointing.

The best we've seen of Paddy over 4 years is tiny glimpses of what he could be. A pack mark here, a goal there. If he was a 3rd round selection I am certain he would have been cut by now and definitely we wouldn't be looking at trying to bring him back after 8 concussions in 5 years. It's downright negligent by the club in my opinion.

I'm sure he's a ripper guy as has often been said. Plenty who don't make it are. Really that shouldn't come into it.
Have to disagree, the kid can play. He's quick over the first few metres, actually has a quick brain. Although we haven't seen it consistently, he was an elite kick for goal, a dead eye at U18s level and he is a beautiful field kick. He's the sort of player who occasionally does things that make you think "how do he do that?". The only thing stopping him from becoming a gun key forward is his health.