Liam Stocker

groupie1

Liam Stocker

Exactly what is the knock on this kid?
Why would Carlton have let him go?
I know he's not quick, but he's a great kick and a beast at the contest.

I don't quite understand.

Gordon Fode couldda been Plugga

Re: Liam Stocker

Stocker has been solid. Nothing brilliant. He is a tough cookie

Nick Coffield's best footy is probably a step above Stocker, but I don't think Coff can defend 1-1 as well as Stocker

I think Nick Coffield will need to show outstanding form at Sandringham to break back into this team.

groupie1

I was actually thinking Stocker replaces Paton when/if Coffield returns.

Gordon Fode couldda been Plugga

groupie1 wrote: Mon 24 Apr 2023 5:18am I was actually thinking Stocker replaces Paton when/if Coffield returns.
Agree. Paton along with Byrnes are liabilities with the ball.

I thought Paton was good yesterday.

CURLY wrote: Mon 24 Apr 2023 8:28am
groupie1 wrote: Mon 24 Apr 2023 5:18am I was actually thinking Stocker replaces Paton when/if Coffield returns.
Novel perspective.

If we had a fully-fit team, there would be quite a struggle for three backline places among five players: Webster, Paton, Coffield, Stocker and NWM (Howard, Wilkie, Battle and Sinclair are of course all sacrosanct).

To my way of thinking, Webster and NWM are ahead of the rest by a fair margin. So that leaves one spot available for one of Coffield, Paton and Stocker.

For me, Coffield has yet to prove that he's a first team player. He might very well be one, but - largely through circumstances beyond his control - he has never had the opportunity to demonstrate this, and I find it strange that so many posters seem to believe he will walk straight into the team when he is fit. I predict a prolonged spell at the Zebras to give him the opportunity to show what he can do.

Paton is a good player, but I'd rate Stocker ahead of him at the moment, and would suspect that the coaching staff would do the same. So that means that Stocker will probably be guaranteed a spot in the team unless and until we have all our backline players available and Coffield has shown himself to be the genius that so many posters seem to believe him to be. And I'm happy about that: Stocker is a solid performer. The Blues were crazy to let him go.

The player for whom I feel sorry is Highmore. Like Bytel, he is an AFL-quality player, but there is no room for him in the first 23. But that's a good sign for us: top teams usually have a number of AFL-quality players in reserve.

Any player that finishes top 5 in your best and fairest surely deserves some recognition that he's got talent. Especially when it was a year we made finals and especially because he's young as far as games played.

Next you'll be telling us the jury is still out on Hunter Clark

https://www.saints.com.au/news/825201/s ... rker-award

From memory, the knock on Stocker was a perceived inability to build his tank. I think Carlton wanted to build him up as a midfielder and by all accounts Liam was doing the work but apparently he can’t build up the tank required for a permanent mid role…

Something like that

Certainly no knocks here so far. Kid has been outstanding

Scollop wrote: Mon 24 Apr 2023 9:47am Any player that finishes top 5 in your best and fairest surely deserves some recognition that he's got talent. Especially when it was a year we made finals and especially because he's young as far as games played.

Yep, jury’s still out on both IMO. I must be too harsh a judge, but I was very surprised by how Coffield went in that B and F.

Clark is going ok IMO but there are dozens of better mids playing AFL.

Having him in the side allows us to move Sinclair and Clark into the midfield rotation. Very important player.

meher baba wrote: Mon 24 Apr 2023 10:33am
Scollop wrote: Mon 24 Apr 2023 9:47am Any player that finishes top 5 in your best and fairest surely deserves some recognition that he's got talent. Especially when it was a year we made finals and especially because he's young as far as games played.

Yep, jury’s still out on both IMO. I must be too harsh a judge, but I was very surprised by how Coffield went in that B and F.

Clark is going ok IMO but there are dozens of better mids playing AFL.
I think Coffield needs an injury-free run at it, much as Hunter Clark is having this season. They are both worthy top 10 picks on talent IMO.

Which isn’t a knock on Stocker, who has been quite good,

Killa

Coffield is all class

Injuries have got in the way

Automatic selection when fit

Ditto Clark

Scollop wrote: Mon 24 Apr 2023 5:04am Stocker has been solid. Nothing brilliant. He is a tough cookie

Nick Coffield's best footy is probably a step above Stocker, but I don't think Coff can defend 1-1 as well as Stocker

I think Nick Coffield will need to show outstanding form at Sandringham to break back into this team.
Coffield could eventually play Mason Woods' role I reckon, as long as his legs can hold him up.

It wasn’t that long ago that Clark was considered a better player than Sinclair.

Sinclair is arguably now the Saint’s best player.

Not sure Coffield has the athleticism of Wood to become a good wingman?
You need a mix of power, speed and endurance to do that role

Byrnes, Hill, DMac, Wood are top 5 runners at the club
All sub 9:30 3k runners which is elite

Why wouldn’t his legs hold up???
He’s had a reco - like numerous other players - which he’s rehabilitated-

Saintmike65

meher baba wrote: Mon 24 Apr 2023 9:18am If we had a fully-fit team, there would be quite a struggle for three backline places among five players: Webster, Paton, Coffield, Stocker and NWM (Howard, Wilkie, Battle and Sinclair are of course all sacrosanct).

To my way of thinking, Webster and NWM are ahead of the rest by a fair margin. So that leaves one spot available for one of Coffield, Paton and Stocker.

For me, Coffield has yet to prove that he's a first team player. He might very well be one, but - largely through circumstances beyond his control - he has never had the opportunity to demonstrate this, and I find it strange that so many posters seem to believe he will walk straight into the team when he is fit. I predict a prolonged spell at the Zebras to give him the opportunity to show what he can do.

Paton is a good player, but I'd rate Stocker ahead of him at the moment, and would suspect that the coaching staff would do the same. So that means that Stocker will probably be guaranteed a spot in the team unless and until we have all our backline players available and Coffield has shown himself to be the genius that so many posters seem to believe him to be. And I'm happy about that: Stocker is a solid performer. The Blues were crazy to let him go.

The player for whom I feel sorry is Highmore. Like Bytel, he is an AFL-quality player, but there is no room for him in the first 23. But that's a good sign for us: top teams usually have a number of AFL-quality players in reserve.
Webster is an automatic in when fit..Stocker & Nas are locks.
Coffield has missed a lot of footy so may run out of time this year.

Curly, your record has a bad scratch and the needle can't get out of the groove. Chuck it in the bin mate!

B.M wrote: Mon 24 Apr 2023 5:49pm Not sure Coffield has the athleticism of Wood to become a good wingman?
You need a mix of power, speed and endurance to do that role

Byrnes, Hill, DMac, Wood are top 5 runners at the club
All sub 9:30 3k runners which is elite

Why wouldn’t his legs hold up???
He’s had a reco - like numerous other players - which he’s rehabilitated-
He hasn't played in 20 months BM. He has been injured 2 times since, without playing a game. You work it out.

Work what out?

He’s had a reco - it’s been rehabbed - happen to loads of players - whom almost all of which come back from

He’s done a hammy - unrelated
Even more players do those

He’s 23yo and will come back fine, he’s not 32

Trev from the Bush wrote: Mon 24 Apr 2023 7:35pm
Curly, your record has a bad scratch and the needle can't get out of the groove. Chuck it in the bin mate!

Both are poor with the ball let’s not kid ourselves.

Not as bad as Gresham

Neither are Darren Jarman, nor are they Jack Danyels

Byrnes
Kicking is not bad, lacks a bit of penetration
His strength is running and ball winning

Paton is a bit slow with ball in hand
His strength is ability to shut down

B.M wrote: Mon 24 Apr 2023 8:00pm Work what out?

He’s had a reco - it’s been rehabbed - happen to loads of players - whom almost all of which come back from

He’s done a hammy - unrelated
Even more players do those

He’s 23yo and will come back fine, he’s not 32
I'm not sure what your saying BM.

Could he play wing?
Could he emulate the skills and attributes Wood does, well that Wood has suddenly done, after years of niggling injuries.
Can he run 14 k in 100 minutes?
I reckon 4 injuries ago he was headed that way.
Could he rebuild himself, could Sharman, could Wood.

Oh yeah.
The hamstring, the calf and the acl are intrinsically linked BM.
The calf is the muscle that puts strain on the acl.
He is 23 not 32. Reinjury in the next 2 years is a 50/50. Return to peak performance and elite competition is not expected but not impossible.

This kid has had a massive build up to a carer that hasnt taken off yet. And his preseasons haven't been good.

Shows a lot of promise in 2019, dislocated shoulder 2019.
Has a fantastic second season.
Beefs up between 20-21.
2021 Hamstrings play up mid season. Fails to meet standards of previous year. Seems to be struggling, has 2 'good games'.
2022 Injures ACL, does rehab,
2023 joins group, strains calf.

Dislocated shoulder, hamstring strains, ACL, and a 6 week calf strain.

If his legs hold him up, wasn't a random thought, he has history, but I'm not suggesting doom, no need to jump to conclusions.
Im hopeful he will recover, otherwise, why would I be suggesting, he could play the wing role.

Shows Carlton are dopy. Seriously how could they delist him. Fisher, Hollands, those ineffective small forwards, even Acres. Dopy but our good fortune.

One thing that Stocker has is that he like Webster he plays with a hard edge.

Stockers does everything well, and has good disposal.

There is a lot to like.