The Flux Retort: Ro$$y and his saynta(s) win again! Four more points, and the Blues bagged.

AeonFlux

The Flux Retort: Ro$$y and his saynta(s) win again! Four more points, and the Blues bagged.

is proudly sponsored by............

Guaranteed to work against Daughters of Beaches key forwards! :lol:

And /or (but not 'nor', right Nosh? :wink: ),

For when life just sucks.

As used and recommended by Scotty from Marketing, and saynt Nosher after watching the World Cup penalty shoot out. :mrgreen:

And /or (but not 'nor', right Nosh? :wink: ),

Match Review:

To half time...
Two issues...
- As per all year, we need another marking forward option. Such a shame The Hammer was done over. 🤬 The Sharmanator instead of Cordy would also have made a big difference.
- Cordy (still) giving next to nothing. Sub him out for Windy. Windy to lockdown on either Cripps or Walsh... we win.
Another possibility to consider...
- Cordy to a key defensive possie'.
- Battle or Doogie forward as a marking threat.

And if that doesn't work... Windy on for Cordy.
If it does work... Windy on for Paton.

Also..... repeat what we've said previously about Paton's kicking. 😮

The Butler and The Gresh look they've heard about Billings' game at Poo Park.

3/4 quarter time:
Great third quarter!
Turns out Ro$$y gets to keep his powder dry......... again. :idea:

The wash up:
Seb and Sinkers have actually always been very good kicks.
The problem has been their lack of care with their disposal.
Fixing this issue has transformed both their playing careers.
And thanks to the input of Capt CQ of the Seven Seas and Six Hens Image Bybes is on track to do similar.
Lowering the eyes...... is helping transform our team.

Paton, however... :oops:

Next week...
Billings has to come in. He replaces Paton.
Windy and Bytel deserve to come in. Cordy is the most vulnerable on form, however, given Ro$$y's love of 'structure', he may well be safe.

So that's probably...

Ae-ins: Billings, Bytel.
Ae-outski: Paton, Windy (only because after two weeks of being the BS sub, he needs actual game time).

Yet another interesting selection night looms...
saynta Nosher Powell wrote: Sun 23 Apr 2023 5:32pmLove your posts mate

These users also thanked the author Nosher for the post:
Ryan Bybes (with a 's')

Sandy Match (one quarter) Report:
Paperbaggers 9.17:71, Sandy 10.8:68. https://www.afl.com.au/vfl/matches/5138#summary

Only watched the last quarter:
- Billings and Bytel should play for the Saints next week. (The likes of The Butler will need to put in a big performance later this arvo'.)
- Paddy Keeler played deep nearly the whole quarter and had very few opportunities. Probably still needs to build fitness before he can be given (a much needed) run up the ground.
- Unlike the seniors, Sandy's defending very very lax.
- Van Es and Adams really (still) showing very little.
- Connolly still not getting enough of the footy to be considered as a senior mid. Don't know what's going wrong there(?) He has all the tools. He's tough, evasive, fast, and... a brilliant two-sided kick.
- Campbell dominated the hitouts 45-13... Sandy lost the clearances 33-30. (Yet more proof of how totally irrelevant 'pure' hitouts are.) And as a 'general footballer' Campbell's skills around the ground are... very limited.

Flux Editorial/Soapbox:
In one of the ultimate insults to clubs' footballing irrelevance :roll: , The Teddies and Club Roadkill played an AFL for-points game at Mt Barker's tiny country footy ground. (Where mum was from, btw. :D )

The official crowd at Summit Sports Ground - 7329. (No doubt that count included freebies and chooks.)

And that necessitated bringing in some temporary grandstand style seating.
They also played on the 165*110m Norwood Oval which only holds 10,000 people.
And last weekend we had barely 10,000 punters watching the two fugliest jumpers in world sport go at it.

So the point is pretty obvious..... we should damn well be playing selected boutique home games at Moorabbin! :idea:

Post of the Week:
saynt Nosher Powell wrote: Sun 23 Apr 2023 8:02pmThis team is full of fighters. They don't give up or drop their heads when things don't go their way. They fight back and are confident in their own abilities.

In previous years missed easy goals would be a downer and getting screwed over by the maggots would have seen them give up. Not this year or this team.

These users also thanked the author Nosher for the post:
Ryan Bybes (with a 's')

Posts of the Week:
Trev from the Boat wrote: Sun 23 Apr 2023 7:45pmNever turn out winning racehorses, footballers are no different. An easier week on the track, I'd suggest.

evertonfc wrote: Sun 23 Apr 2023 8:05pmThere's people out there who reckon coaching doesn't matter very much. That it's all down to the players...

Well, today you saw the difference between a sensational game plan with full player-buy in, plus terrific in-game coaching moves, and ratty game-plan which relies totally on individuals.

Ross Lyon is executing some extraordinary things with this group of players. We are blessed to have this leader in charge of our football club.

Big.Marmot wrote: Mon 24 Apr 2023 6:02pmStats can tell you how a game is played

Our team defence allows (in fact persuading) opposition to kick it around unopposed in their back half

Whilst the Team defence sets up through the middle and across our HB hoping for a turn over.

It’s why we allowed Daicos to get 40 and half of Carlton’s team to get 35+

Only Cripps in qtr2 was damaging

Kinky Friedman wrote: Mon 24 Apr 2023 6:02pmHow can you look at the Carlscum cho aching box and still believe in intelligent design?
Yes, there's a reason why 'voss' rhymes with 'Loss'. This one's for you mate. :mrgreen:

Where Have They Been What Are They Doing?

Seems that despite our team sitting on top of the AFL ladder, ZZ's favourite chess master sample sizing welcher (not 'Welsher', Nosh :wink: ) is still locked in his local pub...... alone. That's the way he likes it. (Apparently.)

But not young Loris. She is merciless. :lol:

And Spelly's still here to help:
Spelly wrote: Mon 24 Jun 2013 4:04pm
D.B.Cooper wrote: Sun 23 Apr 2023 5:32pm
saynt Nosher wrote:Sun 23 Apr 2023 3:52pmYou need my help?

Looks like no need. DB beat me to it.
Can't say get stuffed, but for the record I do know how to spell Josa. :roll: :roll:
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

I assume you mean you know how to spell ............. José?
HarryM wrote:Mon 24 Apr 2023 10:36pmI think you fluxed up again dad. Absolutely. :D

Prez Fred Basset ITK wrote: Mon 24 Apr 2023 9:42pm
Dearest Aeon,

Don't worry. We still haven't been beaten by anyone above us on the ladder. :mrgreen:

Looking forward to seeing you at the footy again honey. This week we'll be cooking up a storm for David Koch head. There's going to be Teal Turkey in the oven. :twisted:

Love and Fortius Quo Fidelius,

- Fred.

PS: Hey firey. Who'd we just defeat..? :mrgreen:

Yorkeys wrote: Mon 13 Mar 2023 6:39pmFred Bassett is fantastic
Vortemort - the poster whose name firey dares not speak wrote: Thu 01 Dec 2022 6:31amBassett is a genius.

HarryM wrote: Tue 18 Apr 2023 6:11pmAbsolutely. :shock: :D :shock:

Thoughts, Rodger? <swoon> Image

Thoughts, Saintsationalists...?

- Aeon.

Tim Whitmarsh, the A G Leventis Professor of Greek Culture at the University of Cambridge wrote:
Aeon is where the world’s best best thinkers share their insights into issues of central importance to our times. It is reliably the best place to find content that is punchy, insightful, accessible and always unpredictable.

https://aeon.co/
A top read.

dalboy wrote: Mon 24 Apr 2023 9:42pmThese reports aren't getting any better.

Well done Nosh. You found Lizard Boy. :mrgreen:

Flat out.

ReMembering:
Image Image Image Image

----- Rodger ------- Nymeria ------- BakesFan ----------- Aaron
HarryM wrote: Nope never heard of them :roll:

Re: The Flux Retort: Ro$$y and his saynta(s) win again! Four more points, and the Blues bagged.

Alexander Downer also comes from Mt Barker. Your mum is far more clever and I am sure looks better in fishnets. Downer is uncoachable, even for our panel. I think he barracks for Norwood and Melbourne. Apologies Killa.

Re: The Flux Retort: Ro$$y and his saynta(s) win again! Four more points, and the Blues bagged.

'Mt Barker's tiny footy oval' where your mum's from?
So your ma is from the tiny footy oval 🤣🤷🏼‍♂️🤯

Woulda been better to say 'the tiny footy oval in Mt Barker, where my mum is from, eh Aeon 🤺

AeonFlux

WellardSaint wrote: Tue 25 Apr 2023 1:02pmSo your ma is from the tiny footy oval 🤣🤷🏼‍♂️🤯
Mum was a child of the Great Depression. Times were tough then. :wink:

ReMembering:
Image Image Image Image

----- Rodger ------- Nymeria ------- BakesFan ----------- Aaron
HarryM wrote: Nope never heard of them :roll: