Match Thread Round 14 2023 V Richmond

Re: Match Thread Round 14 2023 V Richmond

Into the 3rd set, Ratts v Ross, 2 sets all, 30 all, Ross serving with soft balls. Hard to pick a winner at this stage.

Devilhead wrote: Sat 17 Jun 2023 11:45pm Coughing up goals in the last min of quarters just kills us
We had our chances no doubt in the last
But gifting at least 3 goals when the game was in the balance hurt
Gee be nice to have a running goal kicking mid who could roost from 55 …

Who was there running mid?

whiskers3614 wrote: Sat 17 Jun 2023 11:28pm
Teflon wrote: Sat 17 Jun 2023 11:12pm
B.M wrote: Sat 17 Jun 2023 11:10pm Atrocious in the box tonight

Failed to

Adjust style of play to conditions - allowing them to have a spare in the second quarter and half - not getting Sincs around the footy (it wasn’t a rebounding game!

Players adjusted by halfway through the third - too late
Lol
Here we go
Coaches don’t matter …but we’re atrocious and cost us the game ??
How about the C grade midfield in Q2 or Benny Hill full back gifting goals…
Yeah…you can coach for that shyte effort on field
Not.
So if it’s a year of exploration why run a hobbled Steele into the ground, instead of resting him and seeing what our young potential mids can do in the middle?
Same reason he had Crouch and Seb playing every single game. Interstate travel and a 6 day break...no worries. They get named every week

They play 2-3 average or poor games...no worries

Jack Steele gets a broken collarbone. Bring him back after 3-4 weeks...

Despite Bytel getting 40 at Sandringham

Despite Windy getting 35 and kicking 3 as a mid at Sandringham

Clark gets injured. We saw the impact he had when he went into the middle. Instead of Bytel coming in for an opportunity...we have the same mids

Crouch/Ross/Sinclair/Gresh/Steele...Why? Where's the fcn exploration?

We have a kid who is 18 and he has played every single game. Is that straight out of the development book of how to burn a young player? I don't know...but is that fair on Pou and (more importantly) is it giving the team the best opportunity to have a young bloke freshen up or play at his absolute best?

Same sh!t with Cordy.

It takes 4-5 weeks of stubbornness...and then he changes. Too reactive. Not in the best interests of the whole list. Plays favourites

Same now with Windy finally getting games. It took 4-5 weeks of stubbornness to bring him back in and just let him play... whether as a tagger or whatever

B.M wrote: Sat 17 Jun 2023 11:48pm Who was there running mid?
Was I talking about Richmond?
You wouldn’t like a running mid who can kick 55?
Do tell

Teflon wrote: Sat 17 Jun 2023 11:42pm
SaintPav wrote: Sat 17 Jun 2023 11:36pm
Teflon wrote: Sat 17 Jun 2023 11:30pm
SaintPav wrote: Sat 17 Jun 2023 11:20pm Thought it was a finals like game.

Tells you how we’d go if we made it to September.

As an aside, Trent Crotchin is such an unlikeable bloke.
I tbink we’ve known since Rd 6 our midfield isn’t up to it
Don’t think you need a final’s pressure game to find that out
What it tells me is we are just making up numbers if we get there
We might get lucky…we might get pantsed …we’re flaky …
One tiny good sign…they didn’t give up …that’s useful going forward
Are you some kind of stalker?

There’s no need to keep responding to my posts, particularly after your recent behaviour.

Weird.
Oh my goodness ….
The temerity for responding to one of the sites sages post and actually daring to talk footy
I don’t think I said anything other than note that this didn’t show us anything we didn’t know???? 😳
And who are you the behaviour police??
Spare us all Drama queen….
Oh PS: I’ll respond to whatever post I like (like you do) - when talking footy on a footy fan site
Don’t like? Off you go
No probs, Stalker.

👍

Scollop wrote: Sat 17 Jun 2023 11:48pm

Failed to

Adjust style of play to conditions - allowing them to have a spare in the second quarter and half - not getting Sincs around the footy (it wasn’t a rebounding game!

Lol
Here we go
Not.
So if it’s a year of exploration why run a hobbled Steele into the ground, instead of resting him and seeing what our young potential mids can do in the middle?
Same reason he had Crouch and Seb playing every single game. Interstate travel and a 6 day break...no worries. They get named every week

Clark gets injured. We saw the impact he had when he went into the middle. Instead of Bytel coming in for an opportunity...we have the same mids

We have a kid who is 18 and he has played every single game. Is that straight out of the development book of how to burn a young player? I don't know...but is that fair on Pou and (more importantly) is it giving the team the best opportunity to have a young bloke freshen up or play at his absolute best?

Same sh!t with Cordy.

It takes 4-5 weeks of stubbornness...and then he changes. Too reactive. Not in the best interests of the whole list. Plays favourites

Same now with Windy finally getting games. It took 4-5 weeks of stubbornness to bring him back in and just let him play... whether as a tagger or whatever
WTF are you talking about????!
We win last week 1st time in Sydney since 2009 (last year we only kicked 2 goals in a half????????)
Are you suggesting he should’ve dropped half the side after last week???
Nostradamus be shaking in his boots with your foresight around…
Pou and Windhager were BOTH good tonight ??? What’s your problem ??
Or are just another doomsayer not happy untill the steels fall off?
Prefer 112 point smacking by Dogs under Brett is that it?
Bizarre

SaintPav wrote: Sat 17 Jun 2023 11:52pm
Teflon wrote: Sat 17 Jun 2023 11:42pm
SaintPav wrote: Sat 17 Jun 2023 11:36pm
Teflon wrote: Sat 17 Jun 2023 11:30pm
SaintPav wrote: Sat 17 Jun 2023 11:20pm Thought it was a finals like game.

Tells you how we’d go if we made it to September.

As an aside, Trent Crotchin is such an unlikeable bloke.
I tbink we’ve known since Rd 6 our midfield isn’t up to it
Don’t think you need a final’s pressure game to find that out
What it tells me is we are just making up numbers if we get there
We might get lucky…we might get pantsed …we’re flaky …
One tiny good sign…they didn’t give up …that’s useful going forward
Are you some kind of stalker?

There’s no need to keep responding to my posts, particularly after your recent behaviour.

Weird.
Oh my goodness ….
The temerity for responding to one of the sites sages post and actually daring to talk footy
I don’t think I said anything other than note that this didn’t show us anything we didn’t know???? 😳
And who are you the behaviour police??
Spare us all Drama queen….
Oh PS: I’ll respond to whatever post I like (like you do) - when talking footy on a footy fan site
Don’t like? Off you go
No probs, Stalker.

👍
Que?
You reply to me and now I’m a stalker
Settle down petal …sites not all about you ..

Teflon wrote: Sat 17 Jun 2023 11:45pm
Scollop wrote: Sat 17 Jun 2023 11:30pm What has Higgins brought to St Kilda?

Why do list managers and clubs go after a small forward when we already had Kent, Gresham, Billings and ....we had a gun small forward who we recruited to the Saints a year before Higgins arrived

Butler.

Compare Butler's game tonight to Higgins. Compare the run and carry by Butler and his workrate. 6 inside 50's from Butts. Only 2 from Snags
WTF 😳
You can’t be serious
Stating facts. That's what we had on the list

Ok. So he was an upgrade on Lonie and Kent...but so what? What has he brought? How does he generally perform in the pressure cooker games?

Here’s a little balance from BF…

They have two brownlow medalists a 700 time Coleman medalist, 50 all Aus jackets and they were a class above, in the wet.

I’m shocked…

Seriously, I applaud the effort, I hate losing but the effort was huge, I’m usually the most negative but it’s hard to mad at that loss.

Scollop wrote: Sat 17 Jun 2023 11:57pm
Teflon wrote: Sat 17 Jun 2023 11:45pm
Scollop wrote: Sat 17 Jun 2023 11:30pm What has Higgins brought to St Kilda?

Why do list managers and clubs go after a small forward when we already had Kent, Gresham, Billings and ....we had a gun small forward who we recruited to the Saints a year before Higgins arrived

Butler.

Compare Butler's game tonight to Higgins. Compare the run and carry by Butler and his workrate. 6 inside 50's from Butts. Only 2 from Snags
WTF 😳
You can’t be serious
Stating facts. That's what we had on the list

Ok. So he was an upgrade on Lonie and Kent...but so what? What has he brought? How does he generally perform in the pressure cooker games?
He’s an upgrade on Lonie and Kent
Nuff said.

Teflon wrote: Sat 17 Jun 2023 11:58pm Here’s a little balance from BF…

They have two brownlow medalists a 700 time Coleman medalist, 50 all Aus jackets and they were a class above, in the wet.

I’m shocked…

Seriously, I applaud the effort, I hate losing but the effort was huge, I’m usually the most negative but it’s hard to mad at that loss.
Yes and if you can't beat them when so much is in your favour and have a 4 goal lead it shows skill set is wanting. We had it, gave it away. The way Richmond marked when it was dry highlighted our butter fingers. Stage fright, then remembered the lines but dye was already cast.

Yorkeys wrote: Sun 18 Jun 2023 12:05am

I’m shocked…

Yes and if you can't beat them when so much is in your favour and have a 4 goal lead it shows skill set is wanting. We had it, gave it away. The way Richmond marked when it was dry highlighted our butter fingers. Stage fright, then remembered the lines but dye was already cast.
That’s what I was alluding to but apparently we should have known it back in round 6.

:roll: :lol:

Teflon wrote: Sat 17 Jun 2023 11:54pm

Failed to

Lol
Here we go
Not.

Same sh!t with Cordy.

We win last week 1st time in Sydney since 2009 (last year we only kicked 2 goals in a half????????)
Bizarre
You need to read properly and understand written text.
I'm not talking about match committee selections from last week's Sydney game onwards
I'm not talking about 1 week
I'm talking about the decisions made 8-10 weeks ago that come home to roost now

The Sydney win was against a depleted Sydney side who have been down in form. They were deplorable and we were lucky they didn't have Luke Parker

I couldn't give a stuff if we lose 10 games by over 100 pts if it means aiming for the long term.

If Ratten didn't play Windy and Owens and NWM as much as he did last year, do you think they'd have developed as fast as they did? Ratts had the balls to play the kids. It created a good path for the club and Ross Lyon to continue with that philosophy of 'rebuilding' and development of our youth.

Windy has shown that he can play at AFL level
He needed to be in the team before
It gives his teammates a chance to connect it gives everyone a chance for cohesion

Same with Sharman
Play the kid for several weeks instead of the Bulldogs reject
Same with Bytel. Should have been in the team many many weeks ago
Maybe explore Campbell with Bytel, Windy and Owens at centre bounces.

Too conservative and too safe with team selection

Teflon says we won last week so shouldn't make too many changes... problem with that logic is that when we were losing there were a few weeks where there was only 1-2 changed.

How the f is that exploration? How is that aiming for the ultimate and planning for the long term future of the football club? We can't keep promising and not delevering

SaintPav wrote: Sun 18 Jun 2023 12:08am
Yorkeys wrote: Sun 18 Jun 2023 12:05am

I’m shocked…

That’s what I was alluding to but apparently we should have known it back in round 6.

:roll: :lol:
Yep that’s exactly what you said…err….alluded to
It’s all good your opinions now validated we’ll done

Scollop wrote: Sun 18 Jun 2023 12:10am
Teflon wrote: Sat 17 Jun 2023 11:54pm

Failed to

Lol
Here we go
Not.

Same sh!t with Cordy.

Bizarre
You need to read properly and understand written text.
I'm not talking about match committee selections from last week's Sydney game onwards
I'm not talking about 1 week
I'm talking about the decisions made 8-10 weeks ago that come home to roost now

The Sydney win was against a depleted Sydney side who have been down in form. They were deplorable and we were lucky they didn't have Luke Parker

I couldn't give a stuff if we lose 10 games by over 100 pts if it means aiming for the long term.

If Ratten didn't play Windy and Owens and NWM as much as he did last year, do you think they'd have developed as fast as they did? Ratts had the balls to play the kids. It created a good path for the club and Ross Lyon to continue with that philosophy of 'rebuilding' and development of our youth.
And that’s what he’s doing ffs??? and you’re still whining ???
Geezus you whinge cause he played Pou 18 straight (who was good tonight) and then whine he’s somehow not developing kids?
Just odd.
You like Ratten and want him to still be coaching ? Is that it? Just say it then ffs

Scollop wrote: Sun 18 Jun 2023 12:19am Same with Sharman
Play the kid for several weeks instead of the Bulldogs reject
Same with Bytel. Should have been in the team many many weeks ago
Maybe explore Campbell with Bytel, Windy and Owens at centre bounces.

Too conservative and too safe with team selection

Teflon says we won last week so shouldn't make too many changes... problem with that logic is that when we were losing there were a few weeks where there was only 1-2 changed.

How the f is that exploration? How is that aiming for the ultimate and planning for the long term future of the football club? We can't keep promising and not delevering
Make up your mind
Your previous post said you weren’t talking about last week
Now you’re saying he should’ve made wholesale changes after a win?????
Who would you have dropped after winning last week????
Hindsight should help ya…

On a positive note Windhager 20 possession tagging Bolton who had 18 and not his usual influence.

Someone sounds unhinged.

saintkev

Winmore wrote: Sat 17 Jun 2023 11:11pm Their worst 10 players are way better than ours. We need midfield talent, another ruckman to help Roma and, dare I say it, a full back.
Fullback is a huge concern.

No Tef. Tell me this. What is the purpose of managing players? Isn't it to freshen them and get them playing close to their peak in as many games as possible?

The reverse is that you play Pou every week and he performs at 50-75% of what he's capable of and some weeks goes under 40% and once in a while may hit 80%. Same with Steele. Same with Seb and Crouch

Do you think a little psychology and a little rest from seniors wouldn't benefit a few players? It's also going to raise the bar as far as selection integrity is concerned

This is not about Ratten vs Lyon ffs

Get over your bias and your defence of every single criticism against Ross Lyon

saintkev

B.M wrote: Sat 17 Jun 2023 11:18pm A leader getting subbed out for a fringe medium is embarrassing for Howard

He was shocking!!!
He is a lazy waste of space.

Teflon wrote: Sun 18 Jun 2023 12:26am On a positive note Windhager 20 possession tagging Bolton who had 18 and not his usual influence.
Windy seemed to pick up whichever of Bolton or Martin was in the centre square. Ironically our mids were getting lit up by Cotchin who decided to wind the clock back.

Bolton & Martin, Bolton in particular, were able to lose / confuse their opponents when they went forward. That's when they were dangerous.

That id also why Owens and Phillipou should spend some time in the midfield so they can lose / confuse their opponents when they drift forward.