The Fluxacious Report: Ro$$y and his saynta(s) win again! Yes it was fugly, but last year under the retreaded cho ach we

AeonFlux

The Fluxacious Report: Ro$$y and his saynta(s) win again! Yes it was fugly, but last year under the retreaded cho ach we

The Fluxacious Report: Ro$$y and his saynta(s) win again! Yes it was fugly, but last year under the retreaded cho ach we'd have dropped that game.

(Not sure what the heading means? Just consult The Urban Dic', or Saynt Nosher. :wink: )

This rubbish is once again proudly sponsored by Saynt Nosher and............

Guaranteed to work against Daughters of Beaches key forwards! :lol:

And /or (but not 'nor', right Nosh? :wink: ),

For when life just sucks.

As used and recommended by Scotty from Marketing, and saynt Nosher after watching the World Cup penalty shoot out. :mrgreen:

And /or (but not 'nor', right Nosh? :wink: ),

Match Review:

Yes is was fugly. But, most importantly, despite desertnowcoastalsaint Image picking us in his work tipping contest, when the final siren sounded, we were in front! :D

Beno88 wrote: Mon 08 May 2023 9:09amSome will look at the result and say we only won by 30 points and didn't play well, but defensively we were excellent.

34 is the lowest score conceded since Round 17 last year, by any team.

We kept North goalless for a half, their first goalless opening half in over 40 years.

It was the 4th lowest score by an Alistair Clarkson coached team.

We had 24 scoring shots, we've only had more twice in our last 20 matches.

We conceded 14 scores, we've conceded less just once in our last 37 matches.

We had 76 tackles. Our most since Round 20 last year and well above our 2023 average.

We won all four quarters for the first time since Round 11 last year.
Great assessment!

The theme continues.

Great system. Everything is working well, but.........

Still lacking tall marking forward options. Still having The Butler and Missy trying to compete in the air against taller blokes... and generally getting out marked. A marking option of our own would mean that we'd either be marking or bringing to the ground most of those contests....... instead of us ending up turning the footy over.

Pou Power! That speccy could be just what he needs to start holding some of those marks he gets his hands on. (Even though, reckon he pretty clearly dropped it.) As said before, can see what he's trying to do. It'll click soon. But in the meantime he continues to extract some hard ball from the clinches (which goes largely unnoticed). And his tackling/defensive work is improving out of sight.

Bybes (with a f******g 's', ffs :roll: :roll: :roll: ) continues to get plenty of it. But he simply lacks polish/class/poise. Never-ever looks like hurting the enemy when he gets it. And unlike as with Pou Power, it's certainly not a case of 'you can see what he's trying to do, and that it'll soon click'. He still gets a game for mine, but he's one we'd really like to be able to upgrade on. Would have Hill, Wood, N-W-Aeon-M and MacKenzie as the wing rotations.

And not forgetting.................. we'd probably have only just fallen over the line if this was 2022 with the retreaded Alfred E Neuman still the cho ach.

Big.Marmot wrote: Mon 08 May 2023 11:51pmAbsolutely

All great teams have 3 dangerous small forwards

Gresham can play at stoppage

Higgins is very good in the air

Butler an excellent crumber and good with defensive pressure

I would absolutely pick all 3

Whilst the Flummoxed report has concerns over The Butler, in that he's the one most likely to go missing, hard to disagree with the great furry one here.

But hey Saintsational people. Over a third of the way into the season and....... we're third baby! ✨
(And........ we're only that Bytel end of game miss shy from being second.) Not sure anyone would have tipped that.

And, we've done so with nearly a third of the team... unavailable.

But.

Over the next few rounds we start getting key blokes back.

Look out competition! 💪

This week's selection table meeting will be interesting.
Ae-ins: The Hammer, Windy, Jimmy the Cat, Joe King.

Out-skis: Paton, Members, Bytel, Bybes (with a f******g 's', ffs!).

Sandy Match Report:
Did they play???? :roll:

Post Flux Editorial Rant(s):
saynt Nosher Powell wrote: Wed 03 May 2023 10:34amFrom the age.com.au

"Hawthorn loom as a strong contender if St Kilda’s restricted free agent Jade Gresham chooses to explore his options at season’s end.

Gresham’s management is yet to start contract talks with Saints list boss Stephen Silvagni, but plans to do so soon, according to a source familiar with the situation who spoke on the condition of anonymity.
Jade Gresham could be on the radar of Hawthorn’s recruiters.

Jade Gresham could be on the radar of Hawthorn’s recruiters.Credit: AFL Photos

The Hawks have a mountain of salary cap space that would enable them to outbid any other suitor for the 25-year-old, with industry sources believing he will be in high demand if he does not agree to a new deal with St Kilda."

These users also thanked the author Nosher for the post:
Ryan Bybes (with a 's')
Not sure what to make of this(?) :?

Am a Gresh fan. However, acknowledge that his kicking in an issue.

All his kicks are up and over. Doesn't seem able to kick anything resembling a bullet. But worse, like The Butler, his kicking lacks depth. On many occasions this year I've seen him take a snap shot at the goals from well inside 50, and not even go close to making the distance. The competition's elite small forwards would be making the distance. In other words, his kicking will IMHO always hold Gresh back c/f those other elite small forwards.

If the Skid Marks have the cap space to make that unmatchable offer, that'd mean we get a damn good compensation pick in a touted super daft. Gresh is 25 and in his prime, and would be looking for a significant contract. So we'd also be freeing up some pretty decent cap space. If we're ever to let him go for maximum return, then it's probably now or never.

Another point is that the Dawks won't be any good any time soon. So it's not as if we'd be helping to strengthen one of our flag competitors.

This whole (possible) scenario would have been made even more interesting if Hotton to Trottin' had not been injured. Word is, the club has high hopes for him. If we'd been able to have a look at him at AFL level, that may well have helped sway the thinking of the powers-that-be on all this.

Tassie:

So, they have a team. The Giant Tasmanian Freshwater Crayfish. (Snappy name. :mrgreen: )

Tassie seems to have gotten its act together.

Now that means an uneven number of teams again.

We'd be bringing in an ACT team. Aussie rules used to be the dominant code there, but the rugger bugger has usurped the greatest game in the known universe. 😡

So.

20 teams.

19 H&A rounds.

Everyone plays everyone once.

If you played away against a team last time, next time you meet them it'll be your home game.

A mid season bye in the form of playing the relevant round over two weekends.

Can keep the week off before the finals start.

So that gives a season that covers 25 weeks.

(Could even play two split rounds, giving everyone another bye, and a season that covers 26 weeks. Half the year. That'd be a nice figure. :D )

The Wogans should have been an ACT team.

On the off-chance a new ACT undermines the Wogans, then disband 'em, and give the Territory a team.

Post of the Week:
samoht wrote: Fri 05 May 2023 10:42amI'll break it down/summarise it for you .... at the risk of repeating myself (you can call it spamming, but at least you've responded to what I've been saying/hypothesising - you're the first to do that ... so, thanks).

Our list went 8-3 last year ... it's not a bad list. Who said it was shite?

I don't think RL has a plan B, but his inflexible and very demanding plan A is working really well with our current list, so that's fine. And it may continue to work with the right recruiting (with endurance in mind), going forward?

Why is this a bad thing?

His game plan might deliver sustained and sustainable success, with the right recruiting.
If we recruit according to the demanding game plan ... which is a constant, we should be right. It should help focus our recruiting, and simplify it ... there'd be less room for error and recruiting willy-nilly. There'd be purpose to our recruiting.

Posts of the Week:
Big.Marmot wrote: Tue 02 May 2023 12:54amDon’t think I’ve ever played a game where I’ve got 1 touch?!

Awwwwww. You're way humble oh great furry one. :D

The Linton Street Flash wrote: Fri 05 May 2023 12:14pm
Big.Marmot wrote: Thu 04 May 2023 11:32pmNo creativity in those selections

Just going with same

Is Zaine Cordy sucking Ross off

Blind Freddy can see Matteas needs a rest

Campbell, Windhager, Bytel all being mis managed

If there was ever any doubt on the dubious character of this BM twit, this is the post to dispel it.

What a moronic thing to say.

How he doesn’t cop a lengthy ban from these pages after this post is beyond me?
Ha. Ha. :lol:

But no. Please Flash, at the Fluxed Report we love everyone's favourite furry poster. (And don't forget the retired suburban sporting legend bit. :idea: ) Yes he has 'form'. Just ask Sainter K. :cry: However, without the likes of P666, Ted, Jafflebuoy, Winners Only, and not forgetting the great Rodger <swoon>...... this place needs Big.Marmot. So we don't want to see the big furry one copping a holiday.

PS: Vortemort (the poster whose name firey dares not speak) tries hard, and his work really is most entertaining. But, with all due respect, he's simply no Ted.
Big.Marmot wrote: Wed 10 May 2023 8:34pm Lengthy bans are overrated.

skeptic wrote: Sat 06 May 2023 6:57pmIt’s a ridiculous view. The last two years have categorically proven that his base line out outside his B&F years could have been so much better than it was.

I think like many players over that period, he fell into the trap of being comfortable, doing those dinky helicopter kicks, having too many patches with not enough touches and not being overly accountable to his opponent.

And that’s what drew the criticism on this forum.

In the last last season and a half, he’s completely pulled his finger out and become close to our consistently best player and surprise surprise… all the criticism has stopped dead in its tracks.

Remember when he played onDangerfield and let him go up and take an uncontested mark to win Geenog the match… and BM along with others said… well that’s not his role despite preaching for years and years that you follow your man and when it’s your time you go.

How about the patches of time when he was on the other side of the ground away from play for 20min and “doing his role” getting 15 touches a game.

All that BS has stopped, the excuses have stopped and there’s no need for justification.

Personally… I like his last season and a half more than his BF years… may not be getting as much ball but is consistently playing good to great things, and is heavily involved in the big moments and turning games.

If we’d seen more of this… he’d go down as an all time great
This!!! Bloody this!!!

The reason Seb has copped so much on here is that (some) people realise what the bloke is actually capable of as a footballer. Expecting more of a bloke/ riding him hard (think Brassarse re Fat Rat's Clacker)........... is actually a compliment to his abilities as a footballer. :idea: Whereas, accepting mediocrity is a comment on one rates the bloke footballing ability. :idea:

Think we all know the posters who are the ones who actually don't rate Seb as highly as the rest of us....... hint, hint. :idea:

Btw, the same thing applies to Sinkers also. And he also pulled the finger out and started caring about what he did when he got hold of the footy. And just look at that bloke now. :idea:

So yeah. Keep feeling free to continue accepting mediocrity....... from blokes who can do better......... much bloody better............ and you'll be doing your bit to perpetuate the 'good work' of the likes of previous cho aches Richo and the retreaded Alfred E Neuman. And our club will continue to play finals....... once in a bloody decade, even when the rest of the competition aren't very strong.

Choose your own adventure...........

B.M wrote: Sat 06 May 2023 6:58pmEmbarrassingly so.

Playing finals is overrated.

Trev from the Boat wrote: Sat 06 May 2023 5:06pmThe huge, polka-dot elephant in the room seems to have been conveniently overlooked by the media. Everyone seems to be wearing rose coloured glasses, overlooking the dramatic drop in football participation in recent decades.

Many VFL / AFL players were recruited from the Tasmanian Football League, the Northern Tasmanian Football League (Association from 1996) and the North West Football Union. All three were regarded as equals and players considered good enough could pretty well get a game with a VFL club.

Today, there is just one premier league with only 7 clubs, Hobart cubs North Hobart, Clarence, Glenorchy, Lauderdale, Kingborough and Launceston based North Launceston and Launceston. Great clubs like Sandy Bay, New Norfolk and South Launceston (City-South merged with East Launceston) and others could not compete with the demands of the new State League that replaced the three major leagues and either wound up or moved to lesser leagues.

The North West Football League comprises 7 senior clubs; Devonport, Burnie, Wynyard, Latrobe, Ulverstone, Penguin and Circular Head.

The State League concept proved beyond reasonable doubt that Tassie did not have the population and financial resources to support the clubs at this level. This effect has flooded down through minor leagues and junior ranks. And, as we have experienced elsewhere, direct TV coverage of AFL games has delivered a devastating effect on attendances and income for community clubs.

The cruncher, as always, will be the ability of Northern and Southern Tasmanians to look each other in the eyes and accept the have been gifted, not earnt, an AFL licence and a brand new stadium built in the middle of Hobart, not Launceston, and that Cascade and Boags are equally fine drops. And accept that pettiness has cost Tasmanian footy deals in the past and cannot continue into the future.
This! Bloody this! Well said Trev!

Question of/to the Weak:
Templar wrote: Sat 06 May 2023 2:46amAre you still gunna faark off when they come in?
Well? Oh great furry one. As per the question re/to The Gresh....... are you staying or going?
Big.Marmot wrote: Sat 06 May 2023 1:21pmLoyalty is overrated.

Where are they what are they doing?

Dragstar is keeping the family entertained till the saynta(s) play again.
Onya Dragastar! 8-)

Vortemort (the poster whose name firey dares not speak) was missing for much of this week. He had to retrieve his banjo.
Onya Vortemort! 8-)
Vortemort (whose name firey dares not speak) wrote: Tue 09 May 2023 9:15pmReference points and sample sizes are important.
Harrym likes a Wankel.
Onya Harry! 8-)

Loris increases her fan base in Sweden.
Onya Loris! 8-)

Spelly's here to help :D :
HarryM wrote: Wed 10 May 2023 9:19pm
Spelly wrote: Wed 10 May 2023 9:19pm
saynt Nosher Powell wrote: Sat 06 May 2023 5:29pmI loved Saints Tassie Footballers of who there were many.
These users also thanked the author Nosher for the post:
Ryan Bybes (with a 's')
That'd be 'whom'. You should use 'whom' to refer to object of a verb or preposition.

Also, why were you drinking cold piss? Lost a bet? :lol:
Yes. Absolutely. Should be 'whom'. But don't worry dad, overall, you've 'shorely' been doing much better this week.. :D
Spelly wrote: Wed 10 May 2023 9:19pm
Teflon wrote: Thu 04 May 2023 12:10amI also like JoffaBurns he was a good fella. Spelly back in the day. Eastern. Ted.That surfer dude.….we had some great posters

But beige sadly nowadays I might be getting old
At least I'm back. :mrgreen:

Prez Fred Basset ITK wrote: Wed 10 May 2023 9:19pm
Dearest Aeon,

That's correct. We overcame the curse of the desertnowcoastal saint Image and won the game. This week, the Crones in Adelaide is a certainty. No way he'll be tipping us playing over there.

Looking forward to seeing you at the footy again honey.

Love and Fortius Quo Fidelius,

- Fred.

Yorkeys wrote: Mon 13 Mar 2023 6:39pmFred Bassett is fantastic
Vortemort - the poster whose name firey dares not speak wrote: Thu 01 Dec 2022 6:31amBassett is a genius.
HarryM wrote: Tue 18 Apr 2023 6:11pmAbsolutely. :shock: :D :shock:

Thoughts, Rodger? <swoon> ................. Image

Thoughts, Saintsationalists...?

- Aeon.

Tim Whitmarsh, the A G Leventis Professor of Greek Culture at the University of Cambridge wrote:
Aeon is where the world’s best best thinkers share their insights into issues of central importance to our times. It is reliably the best place to find content that is punchy, insightful, accessible and always unpredictable.

https://aeon.co/
A top read.

Well done Nosh. You keep finding Lizard Boy. :mrgreen:

Hammered. Nathan the lizard Murphy and his face plant.

He stayed down so long that Doc just had to ask the question..........

Last edited by AeonFlux on Mon 15 May 2023 9:14pm, edited 1 time in total.

ReMembering:
Image Image Image Image

----- Rodger ------- Nymeria ------- BakesFan ----------- Aaron
HarryM wrote: Nope never heard of them :roll:

Re: The Fluxacious Report: Ro$$y and his saynta(s) win again! Yes it was fugly, but last year under the retreaded cho ac

Great post Aeon,

Especially this bit…
skeptic wrote: Sat 06 May 2023 6:57pmIt’s a ridiculous view. The last two years have categorically proven that his base line out outside his B&F years could have been so much better than it was.

I think like many players over that period, he fell into the trap of being comfortable, doing those dinky helicopter kicks, having too many patches with not enough touches and not being overly accountable to his opponent.

And that’s what drew the criticism on this forum.

In the last last season and a half, he’s completely pulled his finger out and become close to our consistently best player and surprise surprise… all the criticism has stopped dead in its tracks.

Remember when he played onDangerfield and let him go up and take an uncontested mark to win Geenog the match… and BM along with others said… well that’s not his role despite preaching for years and years that you follow your man and when it’s your time you go.

How about the patches of time when he was on the other side of the ground away from play for 20min and “doing his role” getting 15 touches a game.

All that BS has stopped, the excuses have stopped and there’s no need for justification.

Personally… I like his last season and a half more than his BF years… may not be getting as much ball but is consistently playing good to great things, and is heavily involved in the big moments and turning games.

If we’d seen more of this… he’d go down as an all time great
I certainly couldn’t agree with me more on this one

Re: The Fluxacious Report: Ro$$y and his saynta(s) win again! Yes it was fugly, but last year under the retreaded cho ac

In terms of siren songs, I prefer Tim Buckley's effort.

https://www.bing.com/videos/search?q=so ... &FORM=VIRE

Also nicely covered here, although the original is better IMO.

https://www.bing.com/videos/search?q=th ... &FORM=VIRE