Friday - I think I'll watch the Golf or Cricket, NRL, EPL or

Re: Friday - I think I'll watch the Golf or Cricket, NRL, EP

Same Good Friday debate, just another year.
Being a beleiver, I too would have no problem with a friday night Good Friday match that was tied in with the RCH Good Friday appeal.
Actually think it would be great PR for the AFL etc, especially if they raised $100+ grand from it.
As for everyone bagging the religion, and those who do believe, would you make as much fun of Native Australian spiritual beliefs? or Islam, Judaism etc.
Don't criticise people's beliefs on what for them is an important day of their beliefs.
The only organisation that is choosing not to play Good Friday Football is the AFL.
By the way, for those who don't know but Good Friday/ Easter also coincides with Passover as all the events of Good Friday and easter happened during Passover.
Don't seem to remember too many people criticising, or mocking Joe Gutnick because he wouldn't attend games on a Saturday due to Saturday's being the Jewish Sabbath.

3rd generation saint wrote:As for everyone bagging the religion, and those who do believe, would you make as much fun of Native Australian spiritual beliefs? or Islam, Judaism etc.
Absolutely as they are nonsense also. But as I said, I've got no problems with what people want to believe ... just don't inflict it on the rest of us.

It's only a matter of time anyway... It's inevitable that footy will be played on Good Friday...

Wouldn't surprise me to have a Swans v GWS in Blacktown next year in order to raise some interest in that 'rivalry'..

The AFL just need a reason to play on Good Friday, and a waning new team that is resting on AD's head is the perfect excuse...

3rd generation saint wrote:As for everyone bagging the religion, and those who do believe, would you make as much fun of Native Australian spiritual beliefs? or Islam, Judaism etc.
Absolutely as they are nonsense also. But as I said, I've got no problems with what people want to believe ... just don't inflict it on the rest of us.

Clearly don't celebrate Christmas then?

St.Roly

3rd generation saint wrote:By the way, for those who don't know but Good Friday/ Easter also coincides with Passover as all the events of Good Friday and easter happened during Passover.
What a "coincidence" that the [purported] events of Easter are reported as occuring during Passover. Just as Passover is determined by the timing of the vernal (spring) equinox, so was the pagan festival of Eostre which celebrated the re-birth of life after the harsh northern hemisphere winter. Re-birth, resurrection - sound familiar? It is part of the traditional cross-pollination of mythology/religion. As for Christmas...

Sobraz wrote:It's only a matter of time anyway... It's inevitable that footy will be played on Good Friday...

Wouldn't surprise me to have a Swans v GWS in Blacktown next year in order to raise some interest in that 'rivalry'..

The AFL just need a reason to play on Good Friday, and a waning new team that is resting on AD's head is the perfect excuse...
AD would only agree to the Harbour Town battle if he thought it could dent the NRL on Telly.

Spinner wrote:You want to have a whinge about no sport. Do it. Dont attack a religion in the process.
But the reason there is no AFL on Good Friday is because of religion.

St.Roly wrote:...What a "coincidence" that the [purported] events of Easter are reported as occuring during Passover. Just as Passover is determined by the timing of the vernal (spring) equinox, so was the pagan festival of Eostre which celebrated the re-birth of life after the harsh northern hemisphere winter. Re-birth, resurrection - sound familiar? It is part of the traditional cross-pollination of mythology/religion. As for Christmas...
Nice to see that someone on here is educated. Christmas I think was similar but a solstice thing, once again with relevance to the northern hemisphere.

As to there being no footy, I don't mind. I quite like the idea that families make there own amusement. As far as the kids are concerned, anything that they do with their mum and dad is good, even if it is just going to the park. Strangely, when I was a boy, the ritual was a visit to the cemetery to tidy the graves of my grandparents, whom I never knew. I still thought that it was important.

St Igmata

Just go to work on that day and stop your whinging!!!

And dont ask for loading!!!

What a bunch of pathetic complaining no hopers.

No football... WAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA WAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA WAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA

what are we gunna do with ourselves????

Please someone... enetrtain us... were boredddddddddddddddddddddd :roll: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Seriously.. tuck into your McDonalds.. and rest up on your easy boy armchairs and just recline back and watch "The biggest loser"

Absolutey pathetic thread!!!...

Enrico... go play marbles.. do something.. bt dont demand someone else works to entertain you on you HOLIDAY!!.. its just so selfish and thin

And yes were getting history lessons here too.. look Easter means more to more people in this country than football supporters on a sports forum...

And yes one day it might disappear and be replaced by a mother Earth day and you can go into the back yard carbon credit hunting chocllate carbons or something instead.

But spare us the whining year in year out...

It really is tiny of you!!

Its more a window into your life and psyche.. when you complain about not being entertained n a day where traditonally its about uniterruped time with family and ffriends.. regardless of your religion!!!

Ill be sitting in front of the TV, watching what i hope is a good, close game.

St Igmata. Now go off to church and pray that this thread doesn't exist and you are in the minority.

St Igmata

saintspremiers wrote:St Igmata. Now go off to church and pray that this thread doesn't exist and you are in the minority.
Saintsforpremiers.
How do you know that i even celebrate??/

See that is what a moron you are.
you come in like the absolute dummy that you are assuming.
And just for your other idiotic remark

"Christianity is the largest religion listed by Australians in the national census. In the 2006 Census, 63.9% of Australians were listed as Christian. Australia has no official state religion and the Australian Constitution protects freedom of religion. The presence of Christianity in Australia began with the arrival of the First Fleet of British convicts in 1788. The religion grew to account for 96.1% of the national population at the time of the Federation of Australia in 1901. The Anglican Church of Australia (formerly known as the Church of England in Australia) remained the largest denomination until 1986, when it was surpassed by the Roman Catholic Church in Australia. Post-war multiculturalism and a decline in religious observance among some sections of the population have diversified the demographics of religion in Australia.?

Im sure that 5 years didnt change everything.

63% in 2006 identified themselves as Christians.

Im not sure what schol you went.. or what grade you went to.. but 63.9 % is not minority...!!
so stick that in your pipe and light it... :lol:

Anything else ?

Cairnsman wrote:
Cairnsman wrote:It doesn't matter to me what is on TV on Good Friday because I will be making my anual attendance at the "Festival of the Cow". All the meat you can eat washed down with buckets of beer.

Thats great.

Not sure what relevance it has here other than to attempt to taunt a specific group of people...

There are plenty of groups of people that dont eat meat all year round. Hindu people, vegans, vegetarians. You could declare your intentions all year round to attend this festival... Oh but you dont...you only mention it now in an effort to taunt.
Mate if a "specific group" is taunted by that then they need to lighten up because hell knows I'm not taunted by any rituals held by other "specific groups". Sheez! this is how wars start.

I said your post was an effort to taunt. Which it is.

Enrico_Misso wrote:
Spinner wrote:You want to have a whinge about no sport. Do it. Dont attack a religion in the process.

Not hard to make an argument to play football on Good Friday without criticizing and offending the beliefs and religion of others.
Last edited by Spinner on Wed 04 Apr 2012 8:09pm, edited 1 time in total.

3rd generation saint wrote:Same Good Friday debate, just another year.
Being a beleiver, I too would have no problem with a friday night Good Friday match that was tied in with the RCH Good Friday appeal.
Actually think it would be great PR for the AFL etc, especially if they raised $100+ grand from it.
As for everyone bagging the religion, and those who do believe, would you make as much fun of Native Australian spiritual beliefs? or Islam, Judaism etc.
Don't criticise people's beliefs on what for them is an important day of their beliefs.
The only organisation that is choosing not to play Good Friday Football is the AFL.
By the way, for those who don't know but Good Friday/ Easter also coincides with Passover as all the events of Good Friday and easter happened during Passover.
Don't seem to remember too many people criticising, or mocking Joe Gutnick because he wouldn't attend games on a Saturday due to Saturday's being the Jewish Sabbath.

Exactly.

St Igmata

Enrico_Misso wrote:

Not hard to make an argument to play football on Good Friday without criticizing and offending the beliefs and religion of others?
He actually doesnt even understand that Good friday is a religious holiday in the first place.

He would be at work if not for the religious holiday.

Thats the lunacy of the argument they use.

St Igmata/Jesus/The Pope whatever you are, just because 60 odd percent of Aussies are Christians doesn't mean they care about Good Friday or that it should be sacrosanct.

Easter for most people is about a 4 day holiday and a chance to go away.

I feel sorry for you if you can't understand that.

Most Aussies aren't religious. That's what's so good about this country and why many different religions coexist so well here.

St Igmata

saintspremiers wrote:St Igmata/Jesus/The Pope whatever you are, just because 60 odd percent of Aussies are Christians doesn't mean they care about Good Friday or that it should be sacrosanct.

Easter for most people is about a 4 day holiday and a chance to go away.

I feel sorry for you if you can't understand that.

Most Aussies aren't religious. That's what's so good about this country and why many different religions coexist so well here.
Oh its not 60% chump its 64%

and youre putting words into their mouths...

They never told you they didnt care..... tehy never even told you they all wanna watch footy...

Youre imagining things again....

Sitting in a circle among mates on bean bags bonging on all day and night does that.

The fact is...

Listening? ... 64% of Australians identify themselves to being Christians (Undisputed)
Good Friday is a religious Christian holiday for those 64% of Christians who identigy themselves to being that.
But never have 64% of Australians identified themselves as being pro Goof Friday football wanters.

Look around.. check with your buddy Mr Google.

You are imagining.. that all of Australia.. half of which dont give a toss about AFL.. actually think we need footy on Good friday .. or their lives as they know it will come to and end.

A percentage of those other Australians.. probably also wouldnt give a fupp about football... !!!

Following all that???

Hate to break it to you buddy... but most Australians dont care for footy.

You know ony 2.5 million or something watched the GF live.. thats actually less than MAster Chef final.

Still keeping up bud???

go change your bong water.. and have a think.

St Igmata

Oh and bongboy?
Of course people can go away camping and its a weekend for that.
Noone says they cant.

But its abit thick and rich to demand we make people work cos were bored.
And its abit silly to suggest EASTER and GOOD FRIDAY isnt a religious holiday.

Cos by definition its what Easter is.A religious holiday.

Till it gets changed suck it up and grow up.

I dont mind if Australia decides to close Easter down as a holiday and we work and become a more productive nation.

Then we can make the footy players and pie boys work for us again also.

In the meantime.. youre just being mean spirited for the heck of it.

Blaming people who use Easter for what it is by definition.
Just makes you sound silly.

Now im just helping you get abit smarter ok?

Now get that tent out of the garage.. posse that family together.. and dont forget the spade and toiler paper ok?
You can do it...!!!

We have footy.. on Thursday night.. sorry about friday... but we have saturday day saturday night.. sunday day.. sunday night.. mondsay and tuesday if im not mistaken.

You and Enrico can go camping for a day..just to get away from this good friday footy thing... if you dont have a family take each other camping?

Majority

The simple answer to this debate is,
stop ALL public holidays.
Increase annual leave from 20 days, to 27 days.
Some people will want to use their annual leave on days that are relevant to their religion.
Others will use it when they want to do other things, or it can be used if they run out of sick pay and cannot work.

WIN WIN

Majority wrote:The simple answer to this debate is,
stop ALL public holidays.
Increase annual leave from 20 days, to 27 days.
Some people will want to use their annual leave on days that are relevant to their religion.
Others will use it when they want to do other things, or it can be used if they run out of sick pay and cannot work.

WIN WIN
Brilliant idea, but too sensible to happen.

I believe Passover pre dates those other celebrations by at least 1,000 years.
However attached is some information refering to the Paschal Moon which determines the dates of Easter and Passover.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Paschal_Full_Moon

The Easter Egg is borrowed from other festivals representing new life, as for Christmas, yes it was put there as a cionvenience by the church as no one really had a clue as to when Jesus was born, but some believe it was most likely is March, April.

Actually, I have an even more important reason for no football, you would end up with a supposedly marque game eg Anzac Day, and you would end up putting up with the same teams year after year after year and you can bet the AFL wouldn't even consider us for such a game.

So like Anzac Day, you may end up not watching any football anyway because you couldn't be less interested with the teams that are playing.

St Igmata, how many of that 63.9% Christians have ever been in a church, especially on Good Friday?
I reckon about 10%. The overwhelming majority of Australians couldn't care less about Good Friday, or Holy Thursday, or Easter Saturday, or Easter Sunday. They do love Easter Monday and state public servants used to love Easter Tuesday.

I acknowledge your passion for your religion, but why should everyone have to adhere to your beliefs? Australia is a secular state and we acknowledge people of all faiths. It is ludicrous to say that Christianity here goes back to the First Fleet and is therefore something special. The First Fleet was a few boatloads of criminals, who didn't much care for religion, or any laws in general.

If you don't like sport on Good Friday, Christmas Day, Pentecost Sunday, All Saints Day, whatever, just don't go or don't watch tele (except for the RCH Appeal of course).

"In astronomy, the meridian is a north-south line passing exactly overhead that divides the sky in half. Meridian literally means midday.
The sun reaches its high point as it passes over the meridian.
Time before that 'passover' is called ante meridiem, a.m., or before midday, and afterward it is post meridiem, p.m., or after midday"

yup
thats right...astronomy.
stars and sons..
opps, suns

my bad

believe, mehh your choice
dont believe, mehh your choice

no footy on good friday...not fussed
theres plenty of movies that can be watched, books to be read or other things to be done.

its not like someone died or anything
opps

thats my bad again

St Igmata

Bernard Shakey wrote:St Igmata, how many of that 63.9% Christians have ever been in a church, especially on Good Friday?
I reckon about 10%. The overwhelming majority of Australians couldn't care less about Good Friday, or Holy Thursday, or Easter Saturday, or Easter Sunday. They do love Easter Monday and state public servants used to love Easter Tuesday.

I acknowledge your passion for your religion, but why should everyone have to adhere to your beliefs? Australia is a secular state and we acknowledge people of all faiths. It is ludicrous to say that Christianity here goes back to the First Fleet and is therefore something special. The First Fleet was a few boatloads of criminals, who didn't much care for religion, or any laws in general.

If you don't like sport on Good Friday, Christmas Day, Pentecost Sunday, All Saints Day, whatever, just don't go or don't watch tele (except for the RCH Appeal of course).
I dont know you ask them.
I know 64% say theyre Christians.

Second.. if i dont like sport on tv dont go near a tv.?
We talking footy?
There is no footy.
So its you with the absurd argument again.

Sso youre saying first fleeters were Christians?

Where do you get this stuff from ?
lol

You guys please read over your arguments then think them through before clicking send.

Why should i get over watching footy on telly on good friday when its not even on???
Why do you want a religious holiday to not have a religious core? (Its a religious holiday) dont like it.. drum up support to get rid of it and go back to work!
64% of Australian (undisputed consider themselves Christian) Which is a religion .. but youre saying they dont.!!!... But theyre still identifying themselves as Christians.. which is different to the cow eater in here. Of course he can eat a cow and drink beer on Good Friday.
And lastly.. most people in Australia do not gve a toss about footy.. they would rather a nice movie on telly.

(If were taking numbers unsubstantiated) like some of you do!