Will this re-awaken the real Ross Lyon?

nobhead

Re: Will this re-awaken the real Ross Lyon?

B.M wrote: Sat 03 Jun 2023 3:56pm In 2016-2017 we were more than competitive winning 23 out of 44

We weren’t a bottom 6 team as you are trying to allude to

Get a clue
Can we all just agree that we want to see this club win a premeirship while we are still alive. If thats ross or someone else i really don't give a flying f***.

nobhead wrote: Sat 03 Jun 2023 4:09pm
B.M wrote: Sat 03 Jun 2023 3:56pm In 2016-2017 we were more than competitive winning 23 out of 44

We weren’t a bottom 6 team as you are trying to allude to

Get a clue
Can we all just agree that we want to see this club win a premeirship while we are still alive. If thats ross or someone else i really don't give a flying f***.
Bang on!
Now what do you think we need to do to get there nob? (full respect in saying that btw)

Do you think winning an AFL club B&F isn’t a good thing?

Or doesn’t it suit your narrative?

B.M wrote: Sat 03 Jun 2023 4:15pm Do you think winning an AFL club B&F isn’t a good thing?

I think winning one in a poor side is not as big a deal as winning one in a top 4/2 team
Again, if the cog in the TEAM doesn’t take you to the top of the mountain
Get new cogs
You have still failed to tell anyone in this site your blueprint to improve this list so it’s genuinely top 4
We all agree it isn’t
What’s your plan????

nobhead

Haha,im no expert mate but been supporting this club for over 40 years .we now have some good young talent,we need more coming through via the draft and develop them into A graders .there is no short cuts as we have all seen.But at least we look well placed admin and footy department wise than we have for a long time.hopefully we keep tracking that way and bring the best people into the club to bring us the ultimate success.

B.M wrote: Sat 03 Jun 2023 4:15pm Do you think winning an AFL club B&F isn’t a good thing?

We are putting it perspective with the continuing argument. Which you refuse to follow. Try quotes, You talk in hexagons with a slight angle change once every one line question you post, until your argument returns to itself.

The TBA isn't a piece of silverware but I only come here to follow you down any rabbithole you wish to go down, so I don't have a narrative.

The 3 years Seb had, puts him in the close, but no big banana category, except among his peers, within his club, because we were average.

Soooooooo, Seb stood out in magnification, compared to those who take the next step and make the starting 18 of the AA.

ITS NOT HIS FAULT. I'm not saying that. He has given his all and deserves respect. I'm just not in agreement and frankly puzzled by your repeated defence of any criticism made of his actual performances. He does good things, he has relied on fitness, preparation and form. He was a standard setter for a bit. Then he got told to swim between his flags, isn't actually in the leadership group and has far more credit, than he can afford to repay.

I watched and followed him. As, a supporter, I owe him nothing. He did what he did and he should be proud.

nobhead wrote: Sat 03 Jun 2023 4:23pm Haha,im no expert mate but been supporting this club for over 40 years .we now have some good young talent,we need more coming through via the draft and develop them into A graders .there is no short cuts as we have all seen.But at least we look well placed admin and footy department wise than we have for a long time.hopefully we keep tracking that way and bring the best people into the club to bring us the ultimate success.
Bang on!
That has to be the plan
I’m sick of false dawns
Get the best talent we can lay our hands on at draft
I’m less confident bringing in recycled players
Pou has shown what good talent is like along with Owens etc
Most successful Saints teams have regenerated via draft
This should be no different

Rebuilding

Haha 😂

Ross coaching a bottom 4 club again - I’d love to see that

You’ve named Phillipou and Owens - who look to have potential

I’ll add Wanganeen who is probably playing better than them

What other young talent?

Windhager?
He has poor running patterns

B.M wrote: Sat 03 Jun 2023 4:41pm You’ve named Phillipou and Owens - who look to have potential

What other young talent?

Windhager?
Again silly cheap seats sniping
Did the coach not say Windhager has talent ??
Higgins is having one of his best seasons
Butler - actually scoring goals again
Caminiti -????
I’d argue Brad Hill is va k playing better football (and looks far fitter and not fat) like he did under Brett’s “choose your own pre season adventure”
We had NO standards ?!
I can’t believe we are still having this discussion
Rebuild?? Again, how are YOU going to get this list to top 4 ??????
You refuse to answer …
c**k on block time Martin - put up or shut up

nobhead

King
Owens
Nas
Phillipou
Windy
Sinclair
Marshall
Steele
Clark
Hopefully coffield gets his body right
There's plenty there to work with its not all bad.

I’ve already answered that… multiple times

I am not spelling it out again, are you dumb?

CQ
Were we a poor team in 2016/2017

Teflon - if you think Ross is getting rid of senior players and going to the draft for his final 4 years of coaching - you are in a fantasy land!

We will do exactly what I expect us to do

CQ

Seb is in the leadership group

And at one time was acting captain for a season - where we played and won a final!

B.M wrote: Sat 03 Jun 2023 4:41pm You’ve named Phillipou and Owens - who look to have potential

What other young talent?

Windhager?
Windhager has defensive running patterns. He learnt to play space, because he has always been able to track space and close quickly. He developed late physically, but rapidly, and bought a terrific fitness base to AFL football, it needs to be tweaked to less kilometres, higher pace.
The VFL, is the correct place to learn that for him atm. He is a contested ball player, he wants a contest, he needs to learn how to make a play, not dish out to Crouch and Ross because they are senior players and he is just an in under, competitive beast. He has proven he can stop em. Can they stop him, is the next question.

I’m obviously being sarcastic about that

It’s a jibe at the coaches

About a bulls*** excuse for making a poor call

B.M wrote: Sat 03 Jun 2023 4:56pm I’ve already answered that… multiple times

I am not spelling it out again, are you dumb?

CQ
Were we a poor team in 2016/2017
Whoooaa BM getting abusive??
Spell it out again bro we all missed your blueprint
How do we turn this list to top 4?
Who goes?
What do we need to bring in?
How do we do it?
Let’s have it cliched king !

I don’t do demands

As I said, I’ve already posted what should and will happen.

One thing that won’t happen
Delisting/trading out leaders and senior players

And putting all our eggs in the draft

You do that when you’re a bottom 4 team - and hope to get your picks right.

B.M wrote: Sun 04 Jun 2023 11:00am I don’t do demands

Feeling argumentative. We don't have leaders and senior players have proven they are taking us nowhere.
If Ross, Membrey, Butler, Crouch, Gresham, Battle, Howard left I suspect we would not be much worse in the short term and could improve significantly within two seasons.
Any ready made top player that wants to come to us would do it for a cosy career. We don't demand much.
We are a bottom 4 team because the available talent does not perform as a committed team. Individual efforts are spasmodic, enough to give the selectors enough to keep picking them hardly ever as a group.Ratts was reduced to begging them. Culture change needed. Burn a couple that think they are bullet proof.
Terrible if current crop of excellent youngsters get turned into journeymen. Does Ross have the cahones to call them out or is he just a real estate agent with a renovators dream to sell to the gullible.

Yorkeys wrote: Sun 04 Jun 2023 11:49am
B.M wrote: Sun 04 Jun 2023 11:00am I don’t do demands

Feeling argumentative. We don't have leaders and senior players have proven they are taking us nowhere.
If Ross, Membrey, Butler, Crouch, Gresham, Battle, Howard left I suspect we would not be much worse in the short term and could improve significantly within two seasons.
Any ready made top player that wants to come to us would do it for a cosy career. We don't demand much.
We are a bottom 4 team because the available talent does not perform as a committed team. Individual efforts are spasmodic, enough to give the selectors enough to keep picking them hardly ever as a group.Ratts was reduced to begging them. Culture change needed. Burn a couple that think they are bullet proof.
Terrible if current crop of excellent youngsters get turned into journeymen. Does Ross have the cahones to call them out or is he just a real estate agent with a renovators dream to sell to the gullible.
We’ll said
Reality is this: we know what this current experienced crop brings
I would argue our previous top- up strategy has failed
We have not since Riewoldt and co properly taken our whack and gotten the next talent from draft
We’ve stayed mid table and long term leaves us nowhere
Guys like Jones, Crouch (been good but..elite?) , Ryder, Howard, Cordy? (more of the same) even Hill …,nice player …cream on top type player…except we aren’t in the window (as Ratten sold to keep his job) and we are light on for cream
We need elite talent that is there and much more evident these days than in years gone by in the draft
Must try and land at least 3 top 20 picks - 1 of those as close to it inside 10 as we can get and go again next year
Last time we built a talent war chest we did it over multiple draft - forget 30 year old De Goeys as our saviour..
If we do this now in 2 years we will have enough core A grade talent to genuinely challenge and more importantly we’ll have extracted well from draft BEFORE Tassie come on board and these kids will give us 6,7,8 years of sustained output
Enough with the sugar fixes and pretending we are “on the cusp”
Talent wise blind Freddy knows we aren’t
IF Lyon tops up aka as per predecessors he’s failing
This is as much a test fir him as us
I’d say to him : no one thinks you can develop a side to challenge…here’s your chance to prove doubters wrong
Don’t be tempted by short cuts
That’s why we gave you 4 years ffs

Your talking rebuilding

Ain’t gonna happen

We will just rewire, restump, and evolve the list along the way

Part of building a team is trying to win every single minute, of every single quarter, of every single game. The winning team mentality is more powerful than any draft pick.

B.M wrote: Sun 04 Jun 2023 6:55pm Your talking rebuilding

Ain’t gonna happen

That means more of the same 8-14 finishes
No top end talent
No real attraction for quality FAs
We might a final we won’t be too 4 genuine threat
And when we finally realise we are s*** again…in comes a Tassie compromised draft
Your plan is more of the same and it’s got us where we are now

Otiman wrote: Sun 04 Jun 2023 7:20pm Part of building a team is trying to win every single minute, of every single quarter, of every single game. The winning team mentality is more powerful than any draft pick.
Winning games is an outcome
All teams try
You can still try while you develop a future talented side
It just means you’re in a phase of prioritising development over results and if that’s a short term proposition that’s ok

Teflon wrote: Sun 04 Jun 2023 11:43pm
B.M wrote: Sun 04 Jun 2023 6:55pm Your talking rebuilding

Ain’t gonna happen

That means more of the same 8-14 finishes
No top end talent
No real attraction for quality FAs
We might a final we won’t be too 4 genuine threat
And when we finally realise we are s*** again…in comes a Tassie compromised draft
Your plan is more of the same and it’s got us where we are now
If we descend to the cellar in search of eatly draft picks in this environment, we might end up becoming the Tassie team, or be amalgamated or even permanently put out of our misery.

Anyway, Lyon isn’t the right coach for a bottoming out rebuild. Ratten would have been a better option. Or Enright. Lyon’s the guy you bring in to make your existing team perform better than it is currently doing.