Sadly

Re: Sadly

BigMart wrote:
I think StNick is possibly the only #1 to end up the best player?
Any better than Goddard from 2002? or Cooney from 2003?

Regardless of who becomes the best player long term, I'd rather have the first choice than hope that the best player slips to pick 6 or 10.

BigMart wrote:Natinui-Watts
Cotchin-Kruzer
Haselby-Fraser
Half the draft pool-Scully

Then there's the other top 10ers who outshone the 1s
Judd, Selwood, Griffen, Franklin, etc....

I think StNick is possibly the only #1 to end up the best player?
Bj
He would've been helpful tonight. It was a shame we couldn't afford to keep him. Oh wait ...

Wingard 6
Kade Kolodjashnij 5

Point is we need several top 20s. You cant put all your eggs into some hero at pick 1.

BadRossco

Pick 1 would be great, we could trade it to Westcoast for Mitch Brown and pick 26

BadRossco wrote:Pick 1 would be great, we could trade it to Westcoast for Mitch Brown and pick 26
I like that trade... Maybe we could get Mitch Clark off the dees too?

We have a lot of good players to come back from injury. I hope they hurry up. Cant bear to watch Jones and co run around like headless chooks week after week.

BigMart wrote:Our best four player in the B&F

Riewoldt 32
Hayes 34
Dempster 30
Montagna 31
How old is Roo?
How hold is Joey
aged them a year have we?

If Dempster is in the top 10 I would be shocked

ctqs

To my knowledge, since 1986 when the draft began, there have only been three number one draft picks to have played in a premiership. Drew Banfield, Des Headland, and Luke Hodge.

Still waiting for closure ... if you get my drift.

BigMart wrote:We are IMO over the last 6 weeks the worst team by quite some margin!

Deservedly last if that's the case!!

Love to know our % (indicator of competitiveness) since our last win?!
Easily the worst. In fact this is just about the worst Saint team since I have been living in Melbourne since 1988.

Worse even than Timmid and the Blight era.

At full strength we may be about 15th ATM. Currently we are a very poor 18th

Yes no Hickey, no StKilda....................

saintsRrising wrote:Yes no Hickey, no StKilda....................
Unfortunately our problems run far deeper than Hickey.

Our team is severely lacking in natural football talent.

FQF wrote:
saintsRrising wrote:Yes no Hickey, no StKilda....................
Unfortunately our problems run far deeper than Hickey.

Our team is severely lacking in natural football talent.
Yes I agree. I was being a bit tongue in cheek on Hickey though his departure has coincided with a form reversal.

We lack overall talent, and star talent in particular.

Our more experienced players apart from Roo and Lenny seem to have all fallen over a forma cliff.

Unfortunately the whole team is playing in panic mode at present rushing their disposals, and too often chasing the ball rather than sticking to team play.

With a shallow list our injuries bite hard. But with so many inexperienced players this is what happens. Look at GWS with a list full of young talent.

There is no quick fix for this.....

We need to really nail our early draft picks for the next several seasons....otherwise it will be Jack Steven vs the opposition.

Happy with our drafting this year...but we are along way short of top-end talent.

For all our infamous reputation as the wooden spooner specialists we have 'won' just one! One solitary Woden spoon in the AFL. Carlton have won three.
I don't want another. 17th and I'll be happy. 18th? Rather peed off.

desertsaint wrote:For all our infamous reputation as the wooden spooner specialists we have 'won' just one! One solitary Woden spoon in the AFL. Carlton have won three.
Love stats. Why bother with the other 92 years of VFL history!

As you were saying, we've won zero AFL flags whilst Carlton have won one.

The St Kilda Footy Club we support now, is an AFL club that has been operating since 1987.

If you choose to include the VFL clubs' record when talking about the AFL, I think you're being silly. It's like a bloke at a pub talking about his feats as a junior footballer in conversations about senior footy. Irrelevant.

The VFL was a comp played under totally different rules and conditions. Some clubs thrived in the VFL, some didn't.

Some clubs have thrived in the AFL, some haven't.

But we can't seriously be comparing the two? It's like comparing apples and oranges.

So in closing, we will win our 3rd wooden spoon this year (probably our 4th the year after!).

Sadly if we do win the wooden spoon this year we will another 3 or 4 wooden spoons in a row. 75% of our list should not be playing AFL football or won't make it.. and that is the truth. I turned the game off with about 5 minutes to go in the last quarter. Its so hard to support/watch a team when so many players are just not good enough or play dumb football. Montagna seems to not exist anymore, only gets the handball receives which inflates his possessions.

As a poster noted about how many spoons we have, in terms of premierships, since we won our first and only, we haven't been that bad in terms of other teams (Collingwood, Essendon, Richmond, NM, Geelong, Melbourne, Bulldogs) winning them.

Plugger66 and BigMart agreeing with each other! What next? Dogs and cats living together, the dead rising from the grave, fire and brimstone raining down from the sky! It's the Apocalypse!!

due to us having the hardest draw in the afl now due to fixturing, who do you honestly see us beating? we play Geelong at Geelong, Sydney at the SCG, North in Tasmania, Adelaide in Adelaide, Richmond at the MCG, Gold Coast in QLD. Can't see any wins amongst that lot. And reckon Geelong, Sydney, Adelaide and North could conceivably beat us by 100 plus points based on evidence so far.
The next tier of games are those we should at least be competitive for a while in; Freo and Richmond at Etihad.
So the three games in which we are some chance are West Coast at Etihad, Footscray at Etihad, and Richmond at Etihad. If we win teo of those three we will avoid the spoon, but due to the fact that despite finishing third last last year and playing return fixtures against the other bottom four clubs, we are up against it I would argue.

samuraisaint wrote:due to us having the hardest draw in the afl now due to fixturing, who do you honestly see us beating? we play Geelong at Geelong, Sydney at the SCG, North in Tasmania, Adelaide in Adelaide, Richmond at the MCG, Gold Coast in QLD. Can't see any wins amongst that lot. And reckon Geelong, Sydney, Adelaide and North could conceivably beat us by 100 plus points based on evidence so far.
The next tier of games are those we should at least be competitive for a while in; Freo and Richmond at Etihad.
So the three games in which we are some chance are West Coast at Etihad, Footscray at Etihad, and Richmond at Etihad. If we win teo of those three we will avoid the spoon, but due to the fact that despite finishing third last last year and playing return fixtures against the other bottom four clubs, we are up against it I would argue.

Before the year started I think our draw was seen as a middle of the road draw. Brisbane was seen as clearly the hardest. Im sure someone can find a link to that story. Anyway the fixture isnt the issue because we would lose to any side at the moment and probably by a fair margin. We need some experience back and some patience. A lot actually.

desertsaint wrote:For all our infamous reputation as the wooden spooner specialists we have 'won' just one! One solitary Woden spoon in the AFL. Carlton have won three.

Not sure if that is meant sarcastically it not, but I'll take it on face value.

Why would you include VFL history when talking about the current clubs?

Do we include a WAFL players stats when they debut in the AFL? Of course not. It's a different comp with different opposition and different conditions. They're still facts and history won't forget them, but they're irrelevant when talking about the player's achievements in the AFL.

Same with clubs.

It's like a junior footballer kicking 10 every week then we he gets in to the seniors can't use his size and intimidation anymore and can't get a kick. Or vice versa when a skilful young kid struggles as a junior then blooms as he matures.

Once you hit the seniors, your stats as a junior don't mean s***.

The VFL was a junior comp compared to the AFL where rich clubs could simply buy players and ultimately success, and they only competed against 11 other clubs.

The rules are different now. It's the big national comp now where you're up against 17 other clubs, and play by the same rules as everyone else (to a degree). You might have been a big shot under the old system, but that doesn't mean jack.

What you did as a kid, has no relevance to today.

Johnny Member wrote:

Why would you include VFL history when talking the current clubs?

Do we include a WAFL players stats when they debut in the AFL? Of course not. It's a different comp with different opposition and different conditions. They're still facts and history won't forget them, but they're irrelevant when talking about the layers achievements in the AFL.

Same with clubs.

It's like a junior footballer kicking 10 every week then we he gets in to the seniors can't use his size and intimidation anymore and can't get a kick. Or vice versa when a skilful young struggles as a kid then blooms as he matures.

Once you hit the seniors, your stars as a junior don't mean s***.

The VFL was a junior comp compared to the AFL where rich clubs could simply buy players and ultimately success, and they only competed against 11 other clubs.

The rules are different now. It's the big national comp now where you're up against 17 other clubs, and play by the same rules as everyone else (to a degree).

So do you only start when we had 18 clubs because it was only 14 at the start. Seems a bit of a shame that Coleman's records dont count or that players who played in both comps only count games and goals in the second comp. The WAFL isnt counted because no AFL club played in it. The VFL had all teams in the AFL.

bergholt wrote:Plugger66 and BigMart agreeing with each other! What next? Dogs and cats living together, the dead rising from the grave, fire and brimstone raining down from the sky! It's the Apocalypse!!

dogs and cats live quite happily together in my house..all curl up together on our bed in fact.......no room room for us..... :oops: :cry:

sainter#4

I honestly think some of you blokes need to relax..

Coming into this year did anyone think we would be doing any better then we are? Our best 26 players when eligible to be picked got us over the line against Melbourne, GWS and the bummers - Whilst some people who think they have apparent football knowledge didn't have us getting a single win.

This year WAS ALWAYS ABOUT getting games, games and more games into kids. Was billings meant to have played as many games as he has at the moment? Did we plan to lose a third of what is considered our best 22 at any one time? Yes we lack competitiveness over 4 quarters against hardened individuals. Yes as supporters this hurts watching this...

But it will get better, the players we have will improve and I've seen enough in quite a number of them to think they will have a future with us. We will add another 2 top 20 picks this year, best available and hope we have done the work scouting them to ensure we hit another home run....

Infact the only hope i have is that the afl awards us a priority pick in the next 18 months - because yes we are a fair bit off but another pre season in the gym and on the track and all of a sudden you see the 1-2 quarter effort turn into 2-3 and so on. You see a list that many feel has not got the quality get rejuvenated. You start targeting home sick GWS or Gold coast boys and you add another 3-4 quality youngsters on top of the ones we draft.

Its a slow process but i think its the right track and in 12 months you will be sitting here seeing the light! Patience boys

The only bright spot for is that when we lost that last Grand Final, Port were as much of a rabble as we are now, maybe even worse.
But I think there is more discomfort to come before we start getting our hopes up.
The Bulldogs have gone backwards, GWS haven't gone forward, Richmond have returned to the rabble, the Bummers aren't going to win one for a long time, neither are North. The Weagles had a one season flash in the pan and are back with the rabble, they have won as many games as we have since we met them.
Again, our hopes and our clubs hopes are more in the hands of the recruiters and administrators, because it is there decisions that are going to determine how bad this down time is.
Let's just hope we have a great trade period and pinch one of those big forwards from GWS or Gold Coast plus draft smartly.
With free agency, good honest players is what we want now, I don't want to get a superstar that takes up our salary cap like a Chris Judd, unless of course we put them on a ridiculous 10 year deal that sees them playing to the same age as Dustin Fletcher.

Johnny Member wrote:

Why would you include VFL history when talking about the current clubs?

Do we include a WAFL players stats when they debut in the AFL? Of course not. It's a different comp with different opposition and different conditions. They're still facts and history won't forget them, but they're irrelevant when talking about the player's achievements in the AFL.

Same with clubs.

It's like a junior footballer kicking 10 every week then we he gets in to the seniors can't use his size and intimidation anymore and can't get a kick. Or vice versa when a skilful young kid struggles as a junior then blooms as he matures.

Once you hit the seniors, your stats as a junior don't mean s***.

The rules are different now. It's the big national comp now where you're up against 17 other clubs, and play by the same rules as everyone else (to a degree). You might have been a big shot under the old system, but that doesn't mean jack.

Oh man - possibly the worst thing I've read on this forum.